We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Website's Special Offers, Especially if Last-Minute and Other Tips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Check Website's Special Offers, Especially if Last-Minute and Other Tips”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It saved us $100/night. We used www.spothero.com to reserve parking in advance, at a lower rate.

We'd give this hotel a 4.5* if available. There were some minor issues in room 809, like the shower and carpeting. When you pulled up the shower lever on the tub faucet, barely any water came out of the showerhead. You had to use one hand to hold down the tub faucet and really yank on the lever to get half of the water to come out the showerhead. Good thing the water pressure is excellent, as we took showers with half of the stream. The gold carpeting was showing a little wear/dirt, as there was a distinct path into the room. I loved the chaise lounge in the room and the beautiful heavy drapes. Decorating was a bit whimsical and included a green plant. Room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

I was surprised that few people took advantage of the wine hour. While the lobby seating area is only around 12' by 24', there were never more than 8 of us seated there at any one time. We were offered red wine, white wine, and sangria with fruit. During the morning, there was coffee and hot tea, and there was water and ice tea available at all times.

We did not try the restaurant, but it was a busy place. For breakfast, we exited the front door and took a right onto Washington. Two blocks down, after crossing Wabash, is the Pittsfield Building. We tried to go to the Pittsfield Cafe, but it was closed on Sundays. We ended up next door, at Toni Pattiserie and Cafe, which was very good. We also had breakfast at Wildberry Pancakes, which is at the north end of Millenium Park. It's the highest-rated restaurant here on tripadvisor, but be prepared for a wait. Don't miss Garrett's Popcorn, which is close by.

The Bank of America Theater is only a few blocks south of the hotel. Book of Mormon is showing there now. Two hours before each performance, they hold a drawing for $25 tickets (max of 2 per person) in the two front rows. Then they continue to draw names until they've filled every seat in the theater, so it's a great way to get cheap, last-minute seats. Of the 100 people in the lobby, only 10 of us failed to get tickets. Oh well!

Chicago Greeter offers free walking tours of the Loop and the Burnham lobby is on the tour. It's a great tour that you can sign up for in advance or else just show up at the old library building, which is just down the street, at the corner of Washington and Michigan. The entrance is off Randolph.

We normally stay in the NMA area, but this hotel is great if you want to be close to Millenium/Grant Parks, the theater district, or the gigantic Macy's store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tamaralea,

We loved your review. And Yes, we always offer discounts...Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    367
    70
    29
    22
See reviews for
253
578
121
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel in a terrific location! You can walk to great shopping (Macy's is across the street), entertainment, and sight seeing. The Atwood restaurant in the Burnham serves wonderful food and libations. Burnham has a "Happy Hour" every afternoon from 5 till 6pm where they serve complimentary red and white wine. The staff at the hotel is the greatest! Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: The room numbers ending with "10" are on the end and a little darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Vicki B,

Thank you for getting the word out about the hotel on Tripadvisor. We loved your review. The staff here at the hotel is exceptional. We are lucky to have them. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family just spent a week at this hotel and were grateful we chose this location. Staff were awesome, always greeting you with a smile from the people holding the doors welcoming you back, to the front desk asking how your day is and giving lots of suggestions. The cold lemonade and ice tea was much appreciated as were the loan of the phone charger as my son forgot his. Location was perfect for us, near a Target, Walgreens and all the shops needed, as well as great places to eat. Thanks to all for the great experience.

Room Tip: WE stayed on the 12th floor and had a corner suite. We did find it a little loud though as you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sandi C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We hope you had an opportunity to relax and enjoy all the shopping and restaurants in the surround area. We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Ps. Next visit we will get you on the top floor for the view and a little less noise.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is located in front of the Millenium park, we saw the fire works from our suit. The decor is grand, while not our taste its certainly beautiful and well designed and unique. The suite was big and spacious, the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: The suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Deanna L,

We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed one night in The Loop and the Burnham was the best pick I could have made. Very good location very close to all main attractions. Architecturally, the historical Reliance Building where the hotel was the first skyscraper to have large plate glass windows (amazing windows still for this time) and you can feel the modernist architecture in the aisles, lobby and rooms. I dislike, however, the sub-par work they made in the elevators. I understand the need to put into date the elevators according to the regulations, but placing a cardboard to cover the the opening in a highly artistic iron framed elevator is not acceptable for someone fond of classic architecture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Pablo A,

We loved your review. And we are so excited that you followed your first choice and stay with us at the Hotel Burnham. Just as a little added bonus, you actually stay in the first steel frame skyscraper in the midwest. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in just 100m. From Blue Line stop at Washington, so it is very easy to get there from O'Hare. Service here is always very good, rooms are bit small, but has everything you could need. Also restaurant Atwood cafe serves excellent meals, we dined there once and it was very good. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiSeppala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Samiseppala,

We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. Thank you for dining at the Atwood Cafe. They meals are amazing and service can not be beat. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review. We hope your next trip to Chicago will lead you to Hotel Burnham.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescent, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We picked this hotel based solely on it's location to Union Station. We were pleased to find we had walking access to shopping, theater, museums and Michigan Avenue.
Beautifully decorated rooms. Appreciated the history of the hotel as well.
A special thank you to Patrick in the Atwood Cafe.
A wonderful waiter who took time to chat with us. Very personable guy.
I would stay here again. The rest of the staff was wonderful as well.

Room Tip: we had a room across from Macy's. liked it.
See more room tips
Green Features: seemed to be good. there were little cards around the room explaining the environmental practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Regina C,

Wow! We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful r review of the Hotel Burnham. Patick is a gem and has been working at the Atwood Cafe for many years. We pride of ourselves for getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed once again with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing