We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, comfortable room, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, comfortable room, great service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our last night at this hotel following a short stay in Chicago (our first visit). I'm very pleased we chose this hotel as it was within easy walking distance of the Millennium Park for the Blues Festival and the water and river fronts and it couldn't be easier for the train to O'Hare airport.

We had a very comfortable bed with all the amenities you'd expect in a good hotel room. There wasn't a lot of space for all our luggage, but we've managed fine.

The service is very friendly and nothing appears to be too much trouble. We like a cup of tea in the morning and were very pleased that a water boiler and cups were provided on request (we had brought English tea bags with us). We enjoyed the wine in the lobby from 5pm and the coffee available in the mornings. We joined the hotel and benefited from the free wifi. All in all, it's been a pleasant experience and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Suffolk_Day_Tripper,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service. The Staff is Wonderful! The staff is always happy to do whatever it takes to make our guest feel like family. Make sure you stay with us the next time you are in Chicago. Thanks again and make sure to come back soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    367
    70
    29
    22
See reviews for
253
578
121
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by my stay here! I've always preferred to stay on Michigan Avenue, but I think the Burnham has converted me to the Loop! I'll definitely return.

The property is located right next door to a Walgreen's. It's in the middle of State Street shopping, a short walk to the theatres and extremely convenient to many major national business offices.

The staff was excellent - helpful with everything I needed from finding a yoga class to show tickets. Darnell was on shift for my entire stay and provided top notch service Liz had my hotel key waiting for me when I returned from my afternoon run. (BTW, the property still uses keys, not key cards) They were helpful in obtaining a last minute town car to the airport.

While the rooms were not mansions, it was sufficient for a solo business traveler. It would have been ok for two travelers, without large luggage. There was ample counter space in the bathroom and a functional work desk with multiple outlets. Free wifi only for loyalty club members!

Breakfast at the restaurant was quick, generous and didn't break the bank. Probably the best oatmeal I've had in a long time.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear La808,

Aloha! From the Windy City... Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear the you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Burnham. We are so happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family, we want to wow them also. We are looking to refresh the guest room in late December; I hope you can return after all is completed. Thanks again for the great feedback.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For the first time in all my travels, I arrived at my hotel on the wrong day! My booking for Hotel Burnham was actually for the day before my arrival, and I had not noticed that error in my travel documents. The room and reservation had been released as I was a no-show. The staff at the front desk could not have been more calm and helpful. It was a very busy weekend in Chicago, but they found me a room and the manager agreed to do the paperwork necessary with Hotels.com to get it straightened out. They were lovely about it.

Now, as for the hotel....I'm am so glad that my booking there worked out, because it is the perfect location in Chicago and the rest of the staff is just as great. Darnell at the desk was so amazingly helpful with everything. When I asked him to put something in the outgoing mail, he said, "The mail carrier has already come today. I'll drop it at the post office on my way home."

The hotel is lovely and historic, and our room was beautiful and comfortable and looked out on State Street. Our housekeeper swooped in and cleaned the room even if we were only out for a couple of hours. The location is fantastic. Right across the street from Macy's State Street, a couple of blocks from Millennium Park,and surrounded by fabulous restaurants and stores.

Note: you can also easily take the blue line train from O'Hare to the Washington Street stop, which is actually in the little mall right across the street from the hotel. No traffic issues and the ride is only $5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear JSoxy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm excited to hear that the staff was able to get you in the hotel and work out the details with the third party. We are so happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family ,we want to wow them also. We are look forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the great feedback.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The Burnham continues to excel in every possible way. The decor, the location-nothing compares. The people, they are the difference...Liz, Jean-Luc, Edwin, Darnell, Liz, Ben, my international buddy Vane; they are the ones, and many more, who make you feel you're at home. You've now met the best of the best!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Craig R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service. The Staff is Wonderful! Ben, Liz, Darnell, Jean-Luc & Vane all come with impeccable quality. I’m not sure what I would do without them. The staff is always happy to do whatever it takes to make our guest feel like family. Make sure you stay with us the next time you are in Chicago. Thanks again and make sure to come back soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the King on the 2nd floor for a Memorial Day weekend get-away. The bed was super comfortable, but the room was too small to fit two people and their stuff comfortably. Also, you could see a little wear and tear around the edges - like the bathroom wallpaper for example. The exterior, lobby and elevators were all beautiful and offered SOOOO much more charm than a large hotel chain could have.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrenner214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear MBrenner214,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear the you enjoyed your Memorial Day at the Hotel Burnham. We are so happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family we want to wow them also. We are looking to refresh the guest room in late December; I hope you can return after all is completed. Thanks again for the great feedback.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room itself was quite small, but I'm not complaining...I don't need a huge room on vacation. I didn't go to Chicago to hang out in the room. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was centrally-located with a great view. The hotel also has a lot of history, and the floor I was on (the 9th) still has the original wood and marble. I'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCyphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear BoCyphers,

We are so excited that you chose to stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. And we are even more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is fantastic and we are lucky to have them. The history of the building actually brings everything alive. Please come to visit the hotel again soon. You are welcomed back anytime you like.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked a one night stay at the Burnham when my sister came to town to see the Book of Morman. We were also celebrating her upcoming birthday. I let them know of that when I booked the room and when we checked in they wished her a Happy Birthday and had flowers and a card for her in the room. They also gave us a bottle of wine. Needless to say my sister was thrilled. Everyone was really nice, it was a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it. The location is also great, right in the heart of the theater district and close to the Art Institute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Gmonie,

Thank you very much for taking time out to share your Kimpton-Hotel Burnham experience on TripAdvisor. We are very excited to hear that you sister enjoyed her birthday and the Book of Mormon’s. What an awesome Birthday she had. We love having you with us and really appreciate your feedback. On your next special occasion, please chose Hotel Burnham, you won’t be disappointed. Thanks again.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,043 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing