We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, amazing staff, and a very enjoyable experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what can I say, this place is awesome! The staff is kind and courteous, room service was great, location is on point, big shout out to Darnell at the front desk, he is a great dude and a great employee, the hotel is an awesome place and I will be staying there again, the concierge at the hotel was awesome, she knew all the answers!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgiles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Tgiles78,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service. Darnell is awesome! I’m not sure what we would do without him. The staff is always happy to do whatever it take to make our guest feel welcome. Your five star review is very appreciated. Thanks again and make sure to come back soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights in this hotel. The location is great and most attractions are close. The room was very small, but I guess that is the price of location. Overall, it was not a good value. I think we could have gotten a much cheaper hotel and still been close to the things we wanted to see. The history and hosted wine reception didn't add any value for us. Jean-Luc at the front desk is awesome and he provided great service and advice. However, the hotel didn't really stand out. I would look for another hotel if we visited again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktaylor2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Ktaylor2319,

Thank you very much for taking time out to share your Kimpton-Hotel Burnham experience on TripAdvisor. We love having you with us and really appreciate your feedback. It's an honor to hear that the Jean Luc met your expectations. Thanks again.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you enjoy cookie cutter properties, this isn't the place for you. But if you enjoy unique, historic properties then you will enjoy the Burnham. This building is unique because the ceilings are ridiculously high with giant windows that let in lots of light. Unlike most hotels, the blinds are semi-transparent so you can enjoy the lovely view without sacrificing privacy. I also like that they will put a goldfish in your room upon request. Bedding is Frette, bath stuff Bigelow. Kimpton is always pretty cool about having a whole ton of stuff you can use at no charge if you need it. Staff is superb. In fact, Jack is one of the nicest people I've ever encountered at a hotel. He actually went next door to get me a cup of coffee after normal morning coffee hours instead of directing me to the starbucks. I overheard a concierge talking to a couple and she had multiple options for them lined up. It really felt like home there. How many times have we all stayed at a 4-5 star hotel only to have the call to housekeeping go unanswered, or a simple request take forever, if ever? Not here. It's the little things that matter, and they've mastered this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bermuda_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Bermuda_Explorer,

We are so excited that you chose to stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. And we are even more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is fantastic and we are lucky to have them. The history of the building actually brings everything alive. Please come to visit the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The best in hotel in Chicago. Top of the line service and unbeatable historical charm. I mentioned to the front desk that we were there to celebrate our anniversary and when we returned to the room, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us when we returned to the room from a night out. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Larry D,

We couldn't ask for more! Thank you very much for this raving review. We want to wish you a Happy Anniversary!!!!!! It sound like we didn't disappoint. We can not wait to see you again. Please remember to stay at the Hotel Burnham for all of your special occassions and we will not disappoint you. This is a very special building and I'm glad you had to opportunity to experience it. See you soon

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was in Chicago for business and got this hotel because it was cheaper. This hotel is located at a very convenient shopping area. Nordstrom Rack is literally right downstairs, and Macy's shopping mall is across the street. There's a Target a block away. A restaurant is in the hotel. Walgreens and Lavazza coffee shop are also right next door!

However, customer service is just so-so. I usually can't sleep with firm pillows, so whenever I go to a hotel I always make sure to get a soft pillow. Pillows there were super small (like travel size pillows) and very firm that I couldn't sleep. When I asked for a softer pillow, they were nice enough to bring me one. However, the next day my soft pillow was gone! When I called to ask for it back, they were kinda mean and told me that whatever was in the room was what they had! I said no, yesterday I had one, so could you please check for me because I'll be staying for a week... but they just told me "No, I don't have them." without bothering to check for me! I spent a few minutes on the phone explaining this to them but they didn't help me find one. I ended up having bad neck problems and having sleepless nights.

The restaurant downstairs was expensive and unhealthy... I had dinner there, service was great but when I asked if they had any healthy options, they said "No we don't."

Room was pretty and bathroom was nice though!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear SuperKathy,

Thank you very much for taking time out to share your Kimpton-Hotel Burnham experience on TripAdvisor. We love having you with us and really appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hotel Burnham is housed in the historic Reliance building, which is an architecturally significant "skyscraper" dating from the 1890's and which was built to house small offices such as those for doctors and dentists. After falling into a state of total disrepair it was carefully restored to its former glory. (Check out the photos and commentary in the State St. lobby). We were lucky enough to stay on the eleventh floor, which apparently contains more of the original design elements than most, including original office doors with mail slots and knobs. The rooms themselves are small but elegantly appointed.

We love Kimptons because each one has this sort of unique personality. And, of course, the Burnam has the usual Kimpton helpful and friendly staff, wine hour, pet friendly policy, and reasonable pricing.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Bic20,

Wow! we loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standard. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manger
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My room was extremely comfortable and very clean. Handwritten notes from housekeeping and hotel management make it feel very personal. The location is perfect! Tons of shopping within walking distance, all CTA lines are within a few blocks, plenty of dining options too. Bikes are available to rent! There is also complimentary happy hour every day, free personal products if you forget them, and fantastic customer service. I hope I can stay at the Burnham every time I'm in Chicago, and would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: Awesome view of State Street if you are facing the north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Jane K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We are so happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family we want to wow them also. Thanks again for the great feedback about our hotel and staff.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,836 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $141 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing