We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I reviewed this hotel in August of last year and once again my expectations of the Burnham have been exceeded. This hotel is located in a central site to shopping, restaurants, attractions and more. Even if you are not an architecture fan this hotel holds a very unique history. Everything is well cared for and squeaky clean. I could not find a speck of dust. The hotel staff treat you like friends and are quick to volunteer help should you need assistance with directions, restaurant recommendations etc. As far as the hotel rooms, they are very clean and well kept. Housekeeping did a great job at cleaning and freshening. Hotel room comes with nice, think drapes to shut each night providing privacy and making the room feel cozy. The Atwood restaurant is located on the ground floor and offers very good food. I look forward to booking all future stays in the Hotel Burnham.

Room Tip: I followed an earlier tip to ask for rooms up high to minimize the street and subway noise. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Travelgirl 1739,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We are so happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family we want to wow them also. Thanks again for the great feedback about our hotel and staff.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    311
    59
    25
    19
See reviews for
195
508
101
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here on the basis of Tripadvisor's recommendation and was not disappointed. A good mid level hotel with friendly service. Fitness room tiny. Bathroom just a little shabby. But a very comfortable bed and room a reasonable size. Great deal on price on Internet. Kudos to the front desk team - helpfully gave me a very quiet room when I asked for one on top floor at back. (Some rooms may be noisy as the hotel is on junction of busy roads). In house Atwood cafe over priced for breakfast - avoid it and go to Pittsfield cafe nearby in lobby of lovely 20's building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear UKandFrance,

Thank you for spending time with us and for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear that we were able to come to a solution and find you the perfect quite room. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you had safe travels home.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Burnham for a birthday celebration. This hotel has the best employees - each and every one ensures you feel as though you are the most important guest whom has ever stayed. Rooms are well furrnished, comfortable and very bright. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Travelgal0409,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service. The staff is alway happy to do whatever it take to make our guest feel like family. Thanks again and make sure to come back soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We decided to try the Hotel Burnham after having a good experience with another Kimpton hotel (Nine Zero) in Boston last year. As the title of this post suggests, we had another good experience with the Hotel Burnham. The price was suprisingly affordable for such a prime location. We were within a 5-10 minute walk of almost everywhere we wanted to go - Michigan Avenue, River North, other attractions in the Loop, etc. There are also Blue Line and Red Line subway stops within a block of the hotel. Door to door from the hotel to O'Hare airport was exactly 45 minutes via the Blue Line. The hotel itself was quite pleasant. Service was great and staff was quite friendly, which was what I especially appreciated about my previous stay at the Boston hotel. Throw in complimentary Starbucks in the morning and wine tasting in the evening and you almost have no reason to leave the lobby. The rooms were on the smaller side but well large enough for two people, and was more than made up for by the huge floor to ceiling windows with a great view of the city below. There are only 10 rooms on each floor, which means it was nice and quiet. Internet is free with a Kimpton membership, and guess what, Kimpton memberships are free too. My one and only complaint is that they only provided us with two bath towels, but obviously if you need more you can just call the front desk to bring some more. We're coming back to Chicago in September and definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced East so there's a lot of light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Alan_Monica,

We can wait to see you in September! Thank you so much for the wonderful review you shared on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to have you and to provide you with excellent service. The Staff aim to please and by your review they did not fall short. Thank you again for another great Kimpton experience that you were willing to share. Kimpton is a great company and we pride ourselve on exceeding the guest expectation.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from 2 nights at the Hotel Burnham. While the weather was decidedly chilly, the welcome at this hotel was warm and our stay was one of the best we have ever enjoyed. We are not luxury hotel types, usually opting for clean and comfortable over anything more expensive but for our wedding anniversary trip we wanted something a little nicer and Hotel Burnham did not disappoint. The historic old building is a real treat, decidedly out of the ordinary in this age of faceless conformity. From the fine old woodwork and ornate metalwork to the overall atmosphere of the place it's the kind of hotel they just don't seem to build anymore. The hotel and the ground floor Atwood Cafe were bustling but it never felt crowded or irritating and once in our room it seemed like we were the only guests, it was so delightfully quiet. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything - a short walk to all the prime shopping and just minutes walk to theaters. We were even close enough for a walk to Buddy Guy's Legends for a great meal, people watching and entertainment. The Burnham's 5pm wine reception made for a great start to our stay and the morning coffee was similarly well put together (although if you like to brew your own in your room you will be disappointed). We felt truly welcome at the Hotel Burnham and were sorry to have to leave. Next time we stay in Chicago I fully expect to make a return visit to this fine old Kimpton gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear David E,

We couldn't ask for more! Thank you very much for this raving review. We want to wish you a Happy Belated Anniversary!!!!!! It sound like we didn't disappoint. We can not wait to see you again. Please remember to stay at the Hotel Burnham for all of your special occassions and we will not disappoint you. This is a very special building and I'm glad you had to opportunity to experience it. See you soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham during his birthday trip to Chicago, and I cannot say enough about the property and its location and staff. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, across the street from Macy's/Marshall Fields and easily accessible to multiple forms of public transportation. We loved the history of the building, and the decor was absolutely perfect - even small issues (wallpaper scuffs, a slightly loose faucet) added to the charm! More importantly, our room on the 15th floor was clean and incredibly comfortable - with a lovely view! Our experience was made even better by the staff and their attentiveness and kind welcome. They were helpful, personable, and kind throughout our stay - calling us as soon as our room was ready, leaving a hand-drawn birthday card in the room (among other birthday treats), allowing us to use the staff freezer to hold a birthday treat or two, and many other touches that made the experience that more enjoyable. The service truly is exceptional, and I cannot thank the staff enough for the lovely, relaxing weekend that they made possible. I always recommend Kimpton hotels to family and friends - and look to stay in them myself when traveling for business or pleasure - but the Hotel Burnham is truly something special, even among the other excellent Kimpton properties that I've experienced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear LaurenandRyan,

Wow! we loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed and we lived up to the Kimpton Standard. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my first stay at this Kimpton property, and, although I was only in Chicago for one night, it was spectaculat highlight of our journey. This historic architecture of the building was retained during its renovation and the rooms were simply beautiful with great views of the city. It is located within a couple of blocks from Millenium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago, so no taxi is required to visit these venues. The Atwood Cafe, a restaurant located within the hotel, provided a delicious birthday dinner for us from a thoughtfully eclectic menu. We were able to nestle by the fireplace during the wine hour, and the staff went above and beyond to fulfill our every need and to assist us in exploring this area of Chicago. It was a wonderful experience, and I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Doc Maynard,

We love guest like you! Keep your heartbeating, we want you BACK at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for the rave review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that this was the highlight of your trip. Hopefully, you will share this experience with you friend and family so they can also stay at the Hotel Burnham. From the sound of it you will definitely be back, and that's what we want to hear. Can't wait to see you again!!!!!!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#8 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing