We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; great staff; great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
ct
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location; great staff; great price”
Reviewed February 7, 2006

Great price, consistently helpful, friendly staff, very clean and nice, small touches everwhere. I had a corner room w/ two windows, a microwave. refrigerator, easy chair and a very nice closet and bathroom for $130 night. Of course, it was February so I assume that price is seasonal. I would pay quite a bit more to stay there regardless. Near Nordstroms, a small grocery store & other retail that comes in handy. Also free use of Crunch gym almost next door (as well as a nice hotel gym). The Weber Grill restaurant had a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with excellent service and nice "to go" options. A very well run hotel. I wish there were more like it. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uconn1huskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    818
    207
    49
    46
See reviews for
591
471
142
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

I stayed here between Christmas and New Years and the hotel staff was amazing. My frequent flier account wasn't attached to my HHonors account and the rep at check in insisted she take care of it and then followed up with a call saying it was done. The room was immaculate, modern (bed not the most comfy)and the heating worked well. The fridge and microwave were very clean. Kudos to the business center, they have a color printer available for guest use and the remote printing feature from your room is great and secure! Location is great being next door to PF changs and a short walk to Nordstrom on Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsneverserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

Just wanted to follow up earlier reviews. This hotel has to be one of the best deals in town. I prepaid my stay through [--------] and for just $89 + tax got a great room. Like other reviewers with hhonors membership, I was given a voucher for a more than adequate continental breakfast, free vouchers for bottled water and other goods from the 24hour pantry. Service was excellent throughout. Location is pretty quiet for Chicago, a reasonable walk to just about everything but with a red line subway station right outside the door. For me at least, a much better choice than previous stays in and around the Loop. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Great Location. The service is always great at check in and check out. For the cost a great downtown MI AVE hotel.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank mike1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

I found out about this hotel via Tripadvisor and I can tell you the reviews were right on the money. The place is excellent, very clean, and the the service is impeccable. I think this hotel is one best places to stay in Chicago without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2005

I stayed here with my brother when we came over from the UK to see a Bears game. It's in a great location a couple of blocks from the Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave) and within walking distance of The Loop. We even walked to Soldier Field and back but you might want to hop on a bus or the subway which has a stop almost right outside the door. The hotel was everything we hoped it would be - rooms were nice and clean and the staff were friendly. We had a great view of the John Hancock Center from our corner room (other rooms have the possibility of views of the top of Sears Tower). The attached Webber Grill offered a breakfast buffet every morning for a reasonable price, which was very convenient. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2005

I stayed at this hotel twice in December 2005. The front desk staff was very friendly and genuinely concerned with the quality of my hotel stay each time.(One clerk even said "Welcome home!") Being a Hilton Gold member, I was given a top-floor room, vouchers for breakfast, Starbucks coupons, bottled water coupon, and a $5 coupon to the gift/snack shop. The room was nicely proportioned with a comfortable bed, mini-bar with a microwave, and a desk with complementary Internet service. The bathroom was moderate in size, very clean, and well-lit. Overall, the hotel floor was quiet and orderly. I found a parking spot on the street so I didn't have to pay for parking (after 6pm on Saturday, the parking was free at the meters I found right across from the hotel entrance).

The breakfast vouchers were for continental breakfast at the Weber Grill, but one can upgrade to a full breakfast for a dollar (total $9.95 if paying without a voucher). I found the food and atmosphere to be appetizing and inviting. This is a steal in Chicago for an unlimited breakfast buffet.

I must reiterate that the staff of this hotel make it stand far above its competitors. I have stayed at other hotels with more "stars", but the HGI Chicago Downtown deserves more than 2.5 for the superior "can do" attitude of its staff and its vast array of guest services.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing