We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel, but noisy”
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We booked this hotel through Priceline and got a good price for 3 nights.
Here are the Pros:
-Nice small pool and whirlpool
-Clean rooms
-Friendly staff
-Business Center
-Great downtown location right off the redline subway

Cons:
-No extra perks like free breakfast
-Rooms are a bit smaller
-The major drawback is the sound noise. The hotel hallways and room doors are not insulated at all so you can hear everything from outside your room and noise that travels from one room to the next via the hall. That was the worst part of our stay.

-If the noise issue was resolved somehow it would have been much better.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    818
    207
    49
    46
See reviews for
591
471
142
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I just got back from a dental convention in Chicago and decided to stay at this Hilton Garden Inn. Let me start by saying this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of downtown, close to the red line train, shopping and numerous great places to eat. The check in was polite and fast. I got up to my room and was surprised how clean and modern the room was. Flat screen T.V. king size foam bed, comfortable enough for me but if you like a bed that is on the firm side you may not like this one. The room also had a fridge and microwave which was nice! The bathroom was spotless! There were two concerns though, one was the common halls had an echo and some guests don't seem to think of others at one o' clock in the morning yelling slamming doors etc. Second the AC/HEATING UNIT kept coming on for 10 or 15 seconds at a time all through the night! Annoying! And very loud! This was after I switched it off! After the first night I went down to the front desk to notify them of this problem and they sent somebody up to the room(I guess while I was out) to try to fix this, but the second and last night I stayed the same problem happened again. The front desk staff did ask me if the problem was fixed but after I said "No" she didn't seem to care to much. I would recommend this hotel if your a "deep sleeper."

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn recently with some extended family for a weekend in Chicago. I will definitely be back. The rooms are a great value and the Free wireless internet is great. The rooms are nicely appointed for a midrange chain with updated furniture, Aeron desk chairs, comfortable beds with clean white duvet covers, and flat screen TV's. (see my photographs) They have an extended cable line up including HGTV. There is a microwave and refrigerator (not a mini-bar) in each room--it is right across the street from a grocery store. No safe provided. Wi-Fi is free and works well. The pool is small and there is a whirlpool. The fitness center contains a few basic machines; there was a sign on the door saying free guest passes were available to Crunch fitness a block away. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel...self parking was about 25 per day...a bargain for downtown Chicago. The hotel is right in the River North district, two blocks off Michigan Avenue. Close to River North restaurants and nightlight. Near Nordstroms for shopping. Weber Grill restaurant is just off the lobby. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UniversityLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We enjoyed this hotel this winter. The location is magnificent, 2 blocks from the Michigan Ave., less than 20 meters to the Red Line MTA train that takes you virtually everywhere. Nice view (floor 17). The pool is very good and also the business center (complimentary use of PC and printer). Within the hotel there is free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Let's start with the new HGI mattress which is foam, offers little bounce, and is, overall very stiff and partially contouring. It was right up my alley, and one of the more comfortable beds in the Hilton chain, but if you're a soft bed sleeper you're going to have real problems with the standard issue mattress at this and every other HGI.

The room is clean and quality. The noon checkout time is a significant perk for those of us who are not early risers.

The front desk will tell you the breakfast ends at 10:30 when it actually ends at 10. Not something you want to find out at 10:05 a.m.

Not a big fan of the Weber Grill restaurant, personally but you could do worse for dinner on a bad weather/late night.

Great location, helpful, polite front desk staff.

While the room walls are soundproof, the pass through and external doors are not.

Aside from a non functioning smoke alarm (somewhat disturbing to have it hanging off the wall), this is an average HGI that isn't overpriced with a great location and nice views.

One other important note. The room is very, very dry. If you stay at this hotel and require a somewhat humid room for either health reasons or a cold, I'd recommend a humidifier.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Not a fan of Weber Grill
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I booked the hotel in Hotwire after seen that I could get a room for $56 a night. I had a reservation at one of the Marriots and decided to save the $30 difference per night.
I have been to Chicago several times and I have stayed in different hotels, and I really enjoyed my stay here.
The location is the best. You can walk everywhere. If you need to get around, the "Grand" station of the Red line of the L is literally at the hotel's door. My room was very clean, and it was very comfortable for relaxing as well as for working. The heat worked perfectly. Front desk staff was efficient. The housekeeping staff was extremely nice. One thing that I really appreciate is the room's refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. There is a grocery store across the street. From the hotel you can walk any where: shopping , theater, Navy Pier, Park, etc.
Cons:
There is construction near by, and the hotel is about a block from the fire station, so there is some noise. Some how a lot of the guests do not realize that the metal doors of the rooms are probably a required for safety purposes and do not need to be slammed, and you can hear people talking on the halls, specially the typical screaming children, but I this is not the hotel fault.
I will definitely recommend it, and I will stay there again if I can. It is not ultimate luxury, but it gets the work done flawlessly if efficiency and location at a reasonable price is what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

The Hilton Garden Inn was pretty much perfect. The staff were very friendly, the room was well appointed, and the location (right next to the red line and in the middle of River North) is excellent. It was nice to be at a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime you - wireless internet access was free. I didn't need to use the 24 hour pantry in the lobby, but I was glad it was there if I did. The pool was small, however, and the fitness equipment was aging. Overall it was a great stay!

  • Liked — The proximity to the Red Line
  • Disliked — The small pool (though it was warm)
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijalclarkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing