We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has taken a slide in quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis MO
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Has taken a slide in quality”
Reviewed November 26, 2008

This used to be my favorite hotel in Chicago. However some recent stays with some issues has caused me to change my thoughts.

You can't beat the location just a few blocks off Michigan Ave. Right across the street is a Jewel/Osco grocery store. Tons of restaurant options and the Red Line EL stop is right outside the front doors.

They've also done some remodeling with new carpet and wallpaper in the hallways. Plus they've installed 37" HDTVs in the rooms. However all they have is standard definition, and it looks bad.

Plus the AC/heating units are showing their age. It's hard to maintain a comfortable temperature plus they are extremely loud.
Plus the internet (both wired and wireless) was down. The front desk didn't apologize and said it would be fixed in a few days.

Lastly getting our room serviced was an issue a couple of times even though we were gone by 9am and didn't return until late.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    818
    207
    49
    46
See reviews for
591
471
142
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor recs and my previous experiences with HGI. I was quite pleased with my choice. First, there is the red line right outside the door. Nordstrom's is to your left and a full service Starbucks to the right.
It was within walking distance of magnificent mile-an easy walk to all stores and afun walk to Grant Park.
The hotel has room service and a small Starbucks downstairs. The rooms are a nice size with very comfortable beds with comfort adjustable mattresses(for the king anyway).
Staff was veryvfriendly and so helpful. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

just returned from a convention in Chicago and we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. I read through the Trip Advisor tips and was very happy with this hotel. we took the CTA train in from O'Hare and (blue line then switch to red line) and the Grand Station stop is right at the hotel. Our room was perfect-microwave and niced size dorm refrig. the grocery store across the street is a full size store (vs convenience store) and we were able to buy breakfast and sandwich fixings for our stay-HUGE $ savings from buying items at the convention site. They have a nice business center with 4 complimentary computers and printers. we were able to print concert tickets, directions, etc. very nice. The hotel is a short walk to Michigan Ave (3-4 half blocks). I am looking forward to planning a non business trip to Chicago and we will definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannealpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is our place to stay while in Chicago for sure. Just returned from our first stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff, basic King room was fantastic and extraordinarily clean, the beds are super comfortable and what a great view. Get a high floor if possible. We had to check out early for unexpected emergency at home and the staff was very understanding and compassionate. Weber Grill Restaurant off the lobby is very good and busy. Get there early.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cesmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

When traveling to Chicago we usually stay near the airport because it is cheaper. Decided to stay downtown, and the Hilton had very good rates compared to similar hotels. Staff was very friendly and efficient.
Room was nice, and the kids enjoyed the pool while I made use of the whirlpool. You can self park next door with the validated rate of $26/day vs. $44 to valet.
The hotel is a perfect location, near enough to Michigan Ave to walk, and a Red Line subway stop in front of the hotel.
I would have liked to have a breakfast included with the room... that was the only draw back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank robber-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

After a few bad choice hotels in the downtown Chicago area - I finally found one I would return to!
I stayed here on business Aug '08 for a Cubs game. We booked 3 rooms - 1 for myself - 1 for a co worker - 1 for a customer.
Everyone was very pleased. It was super convenient to everything. Even the subway was right downstairs (which, normally, we take a cab to Wriglyville - however, it was 5pm on a tuesday and we knew it would take extra long in traffic - highly reccommended!) The restaurant/bar downstairs is very nice - everyone was very friendly. However, it does close fairly early.
Breakfast was included for our HHonors and served at the same restaurant - a lot to choose from! The rooms were big, clean, and modernly decorated. A++++ Will be back!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — you have to pay for wifi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank krra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This hotel is in a great location, very close to lots of sights of interest to tourists. An easy walk to Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier, the Loop, etc. There is a Jewel supermarket directly across the street as well, so no need to spend a fortune on the morning buffet. A clean hotel with attentive staff.
Downsides: parking is not cheap ($26 w/o in-out privileges per day, or $44 for daily valet with unlimited in-out); pool is quite small and gets crowded quickly; rooms are a little on the small side.
Overall, a good place to stay to be near much of what Chicago has to offer.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Expensive parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing