We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the other night, and I was very impressed with how clean it is.

Usually staying in hotels I hate using their pillows and almost feel dirty after sleeping in hotels bed, but this hotel was so clean and fresh I did not have that thought at all, and really liked their shampoo and conditioner which doesn't happen very often.

Hotel is in a great location. Right in the middle of the city, close to everything! and I highly recommend staying here.

PLEASE NOTE: Parking is NOT CHEAP, It was 60$ a day. That is insane in my opinion!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. We enjoyed hearing that our cleanliness and bedding lived up to your expectations! Cleanliness is job #1 so its always great hearing that we meet these expectations. Parking is a challenge for all of us due to the high level of taxes placed on all parking options here downtown, so we share your frustration. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Finishing up renovations this month. From the looks of it the are almost 100% complete. Fitness center is large and they not only have dumbbells and treadmills but also steppers, bikes, room for work on the floor (yoga, stretching, push-ups, etc.) and a cable system which is a rare find. Webber Grill restaurant is attached downstairs and provides a buffet breakfast for about $10 with available omelets, waffles, French toast, etc for an additional $5. There are MULTIPLE restaurants within walking distance. Also, train stops and subway access are very close. Walls are a little thin but about average for most hotels. The room doors need some adjustment as they slam shut and it's pretty loud but hopefully they will have this taken care of soon if enough people bring it up. Parking is a little high, $55-60 for valet and $45 overnight for self park. Also for self park it only takes about 3 hours to get to that $45 mark. I parked for 2 hours and it was $30. This is to be expected downtown but still a little ridiculous. Nothing to do with the hotel as it is not their parking lot but is part of the overall experience of staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. As you highlighted our renovation is now complete! It was great to hear that you found our updated fitness center to your liking. I will also be sharing your comments with our friends at Weber Grill so they are aware of your praises. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great one for anyone traveling to Chicago. It has the perfect location. It is close to almost all of the major shopping and tons of restaurants. I was beyond impressed by the staff at this hotel. They weren't only friendly, but they truly cared about you and how your stay went. When I come back to Chicago I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. Your compliments regarding our staff and level of service was greatly appreciated! We strive each day to deliver on our promise. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just stayed three nights at the Hilton Garden. The hotel is just finishing up a complete remodel. Everything is new and clean. The service was also great. And the location is awesome. With the face lift this is a terrific place to stay and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMGTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay and our recent remodel. It was great to hear that you were pleased with your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Some of the staffs at the front desk are not friendly. Maybe it was my allergy, but I kept sneezing from the smell radiating from the lobby and room. The doors slam really loudly. I really try my best to understand, but for the high prices that they charge, they should give better service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Duc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret that we failed to live up to your expectations and will be following up offline to better uderstand how we may improve going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I've stayed at several Hilton properties in Chicago and this one is pretty comparable to the others in the same category. The hotel is very convenient to both shopping/dining in the Mag Mile area plus the red line drops right at the hotel corner so its a 5 min. ride into the loop for business. Some great restaurants nearby, had dinner in the Weber Grill which is in the lobby and liked it. Hotel lobby was being re-wallpapered and painted when i arrived which is nice to see they are maintaining the facility. Room was super clean, bed was a bit firmer than I like but so are most hotels. Service was terrific. All around it was exactly what I needed for a quick trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nymiamiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor. As a regular Hilton guest we always welcome your feedback to gauge how we are holding up to the high standards of the Brand. It was great hearing that we meet those and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

stayed here for five nights and found it a very pleasant experience. Good room and bathroom both with excellent amenities. Fridge, coffee maker, etc. The hotel is centrally located just at the rear of Nordstrom on Michigan Ave. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by. staff were friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. No problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyBoyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to sahre your feedback with us. We've recently completed our multi million dollar renovation so it was great hearing that these improvements were well received! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing