We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Even Better Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #58 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpful, but the location is what makes this hotel a great choice. This hotel is within walking distance to some great eateries and steps from the Red "L" line. My 'tip' for any traveler going to a game at the United Center, use the CTA United Express bus 19. This will save you $30+ on a round trip taxi fare (assuming you can get a taxi afterward!). This hotel is across the street from a grocery store, Jewel Osco, which is handy since the hotel rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mancie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding our hotel and our central location to many of Chicago's great attractions! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

I found the Garden Inn to be a very comfortable place to stay for a number of reasons.

First, location. It is in the CBD, net the magnificent mile, but just about away from the traffic and crowds. A fair number of major office buildings in Chicago are accessible on foot. It has a good neighbourhoodsy feel - with small pizzerias and supermarkets and shopping complexes very close.

Second, the rooms. Although the rooms, particularly the bathrooms, seem a bit dated in their fittings, yet, the size, the layout and the amenities make them quite comfortable. There is a 24 hour complimentary business Center, which is just about OK.

Third, the restaurant. The Weber Grill on the ground floor is outstanding. The bar has a convivial atmosphere, and has the original Weber grills exhibited on side. The restaurant itself has a wide selection of good food.

Above all, the staff. During my stay I found the reception staff, on each of the three different occasion I interacted with them, to be very pleasant and cheerful - something you do not always find in the U.S.

The only shortcoming I observed was that the lobby is a bit on the smaller size. But that is a very minor one compared to the positives.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback regarding our hotel's location and amenities. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with a home away from home feel when they stay and it was great to hear that you found that to be the case! We are currently undergoing a full guestroom renovation which will include a full refresh of the room and restroom. We look forward to getting your feedback on these changes once we complete them in March. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend. The location of this hotel is really great walkable distance to all the hot night clubs and bars. Also really close to the park and art institute. The breakfast was really good made to order style. Only thing I didn't like was the small pool filled with people. I also wish their room was bigger and had a bigger pool.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Weihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's central location and our proximity to many of River Norths attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back here again with us in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn - Magnificent Mile is located with a supermarket/pharmacy across the street, a CTA Red Line subway station on the corner, and a wide selection of restaurants, stores, and sites within a few short blocks. It is one of the most convenient hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel and location. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

this is a great hotel in a great location the reception staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean just what you expect with this chain the grill down stairs was of top quality too if your goin to Chicago and want to stop downtown this is the place

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaz-cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We greatly appreciate your compliments and will make sure that our reception team and our friends at Weber Grill also hear of your praises. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Albeit we traveled to Chicago during the polar vortex, the hotel location still came handy as it suits right above the underground red line. There's also a grocery right across which is convenient.

The service is average but very friendly. No complaints here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank touristwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your fedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Another year has gone and another good stay at this Hilton Garden Inn. It is well placed, nice people and close to a lot of the best of Chicago. I would stay anytime. It really is one of the best places to stay in Chicago if you want a place close to Michigan Avenue and other attractions. I really like it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jack026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Welcome back! It was great hearing that you've continued with your annual tradition of making our hotel your home away from home and that you continue to be pleased with your experience. We look forward to many additional visits in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $83 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing