We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location. Customer service was excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with a friend for girls trip away. The hotel was in a FANTASTIC location. Central & within walking distance to everything, with subway stop right outside the hotel. Hotel was clean & customer service exceeded our expectations. We had noisy neighbors next door & when we complained the hotel staff attempted to solve the issue right away. When the noise continued they attempted to deal the guests again. They were very apologetic, sent us free breakfast coupons & refunded us for that nights stay. Excellent customer service & because of that, I will definitely stay in a Hilton again. One suggestion would be to request a room without adjoining doors to another room. The insulation in the door was not good & we could hear everything from the room next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank laurindamikek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed our central location for your girls weekend! I was pleased to hear that our security team and front desk acted quickly to try and assist with the noise issues you encountered. Noise can pose a challenge for us and as a result we have increased our security here on property to be able to deal more quickly and effectively when our guests complain. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel should have told us about construction that started every morning at 7:30AM. We were on vacation and like to sleep in. Cleaning crew started cleaning and making noise at 8:00AM. Hotel staff was very nice and considerate and hotel was clean. Location of hotel is very good, close to many attractions. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, but the noise factor is very disapointing for the price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I wanted to apologize for any noise interruptions you experienced during your time with us. We had some roof work being done to correct an earlier issue and it sounds as if you had the unfortunate timing of being here over those few days. I hope we are given another opportunity to win you back and show that your experience was the exception, not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Most hotels claim to be "close" to many attractions... This one.. lives up to every word of that..

I couldn't believe how convenient it was.

The staff of the hotel was amazing, the rooms were pristine. My only complaint during my trip was the airline lost my luggage. HOWEVER, the hotel staff notified me the second it arrived at the hotel even with it being so late like I requested.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandipw_apn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was great hearing that you enjoyed our location and that our staff followed up as promised when your luggage arrived from the airline. I know that can be frustrating so its nice hearing that we helped in a way that we could. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location, great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and comfortable!!! AMAZING BED you can actually adjust the bed to your comfort level (soft to firm) its amazing! Room was so clean and Im a clean freak I check all towels and sheets in hotels before sleeping and showering they were all clean and stain/ hair free something so simple made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Nicola_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We love hearing guests commend our housekeeping team for their efforts so you can be sure that I will personally be sharing your compliments! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location is ideal and you pay for it. 2 blocks to Mag-Mile, less than a mile straight down Grand Ave to Navy Pier, Red line train line right across the street, (six stops to Wriggly) River Walk and State Street shopping. Hop-on-Hop off bus stops within blocks in two directions. Decent restuarant (Weber) in hotel and a zillion others, as well as fast food option, on every corner around the hotel. Hotel itself is older, but clean, has a pantry section, decent lobby with a Starbucks station. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, decently furnished and had a fridg and microwave. Door to bathroom in our room stuck and there was no exhaust fan so the bathroom fogged up and wasn't great for hair but steamed clothes beautifully :). The view from our room was of a rooftop with a dirty towel and other debris and a graffitied wall. Not pretty but we didn't spend much time in the room. Rooms across hall had street view so you might wish to request one of those. There are other good options within a couple of block not quite so pricy. Have no real complaints about this one but will probably book a less expensive one next trip and spend the difference in the shops.

Room Tip: If you want a view of something other than dirty roof top and graffatied wall ask for a street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haboo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and the many attractions located within a short distance of the hotel. We will be updating our guest bathrooms towards the end of the year which should improve the ventilation concerns you highlighted. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located just a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave near the North Bridge shopping area. Surrounded by plenty of restaurants and shopping with easy access to the subway as it is right across the street and makes it easy to get to/from ORD. This property offers self and valet parking but we took the train/subway to not have to deal with the parking or prices in town. Navy pier is a walkable 1/2 mile away. We are night owls and ventured out at 10pm to walk to the pier and safety was never an issue for us. This property offers an indoor pool and spa surrounded by glass walls and ceiling for views of the city. WIFI is free at the property and they also have a business center with desktop computers and printing capabilities for free. Staff is very friendly and Melissa at the front desk is exceptional. The window in the room opens for fresh air but the bathroom has no fan. The rooms are good size and contain a large closet, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, there are plenty of outlets to plug into also. Next to the front desk is a pantry area where you can buy snacks or toiletries. The property has a starbucks in the lobby that closes at 11am and a Weber grill BBQ restaurant. There is a bicycle rental kiosk not far from the front door. Slide your credit card, grab a bike, and ride around the city. I booked online directly through Hilton.com and got a great deal and used my AAA card for an extra discount.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback about our hotel and its many offerings. Melissa at the front desk will be most grateful for your kind words and will be recognized by myself and the rest of the management team at our next all staff meeting. We look forward to being your home away from home again the next time your travels include Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent staff, clean rooms, and very conveniently located to trains, buses and within walking distance of many attractions. The Weber Grill which is the restaurant attached to the hotel serves a great breakfast buffet. We had breakfast there 4 out of 5 days and had something different each day. The dinner in the Weber Grill was excellent, and the wait staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Francis M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I will be sharing your feedback with the team at Weber Grill and I know they will appreciate your kind words! We hope that your travel plans include Chicago again so we can welcome you back to enjoy even more what our central location offers. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing