We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #63 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location, steps away from everything. My husband is diamond member but there were no special privileges, they do not have a concierge floor or lounge. We stayed 4 nights, hotel was clean and average. My pet peeve with hotels these days is - why they do not provide shower caps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arctush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We will be looking into providing shower caps as a requested amenity for our guests based on your feedback! We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    828
    207
    51
    46
See reviews for
605
474
144
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend for 2 nights while working at Soldier Field. The rooms were clean, bed comfy and the staff was great. I forgot to pack toothpaste and a cell phone charger. The front desk staff took care of all my needs and even let me borrow one of their chargers overnight. The Bellman ( I wish i got his name) was so nice and accomodating and went out of his way to help me. Awesome location in the heart of downtown near shops and restaurants and bars. The only thing they didn't offer was a free breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravenschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Your comments with regards to our team allowing you use of a cellphone charger and providing toothpaste are in-line with our "service first" philosophy, but its always great to hear that we live up to it! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels include our wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Top notch accomodations close to everything in Chicago. Great eperience for the 4 nights I stayed. I have stsyed here on several occasions and always find the hotel and staff to be a cut above. THis was a business trip with a group of associates and our business meeting rooms and service was also excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Mag Mile. We were most delighted to hear that our staff continued to live up to your expectations, both in service and with our meetings and events teams. Any guest that stays multiple nights such as your self has many more opportunities to interact with the team, so your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Clean and quiet room. Good location for Magnificent Mile shopping and many restaurants nearby. Overall no surprises and the hotel staff were prompt and courteous. Our only complaint was with the thermostat. It was impossible to program ourselves and I found myself waking up during the night to either turn up the air or turn it down. We only stayed one night but I would recommend this hotel based on my family's experience. I the morning we were able to quickly get on the road with easy access to I90/94.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 580jeffreyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the staff here. I did make note of your concern regarding the thermostat and will be following up with our engineering team. You should be able to manually adjust the temperature to your liking in each if our guestrooms. We will get this corrected. In the meantime, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fabana and Aya of the Front Desk Staff noted that my wife and I were celebrating a special birthday. This was a surprise in itself, but they also made sure that we had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The accommodations, service and friendliness were outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank HappyDiner79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us! I will personally make sure that Fabayana and Aya are recognized for their efforts acknowledging your special day. Often times its the little things that make a stay go from good to great and the team strives to always go above and beyond when possible. Thank you for recognizing them. I know they will be appreciative! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice room for family of four. Stayed five nights. Prompt check-in. The room was very clean, and surprisingly quiet for a downtown hotel (have stayed at others where the sirens wake you constantly). Competitive rates, except for the parking. However, the self-parking WAS convenient. No free breakfast. Starbucks in the lobby had limited food items, but others nearby were well stocked. Kids enjoyed the pool and spa; it was small, but no other visitors on the day we used it. The walk along the river to Navy Pier was enjoyable, and the free trolley we took back to the hotel stops across the street from the hotel. Did not use the conveniently located "L" train (red line) or public buses. Cab to Cubs game was quick, convenient, and reasonable. Many good restaurants in the area. We tried several, and were never disappointed; but we did avoid several based on Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTHS_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay experience with us. Anytime we have a guest that stays as long as your family did (5 nights) we look forward to hearing the feedback since undoubtedly you had many interactions with our team. It sounds like based on your review we passed that test! We are glad you enjoyed our central location and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived at about 1:00 PM and were pleasantly surprised that to be able to check in the early. The valet service was fast and easy upon check-in. The location of this hotel can't be beat. The condition and furnishings of the room were good and what you'd expect for a hotel of this price range. We checked out the menu of Weber's Grill, but chose not to eat there for two reasons: 1.) The menu seems run of the mill while the prices are incredibly high. It's just not realistic when there are so many great restaurants nearby. 2.) Unanimous online reviews of the restaurant confirmed the unusually high prices and underwhelming food. In regards to the hotel itself, it is difficult to point out any negatives. The only thing I can thing of is that we needed to get our bags which the lobby was holding and, because it was busy, we had to wait around for awhile until am employee was available to get our luggage for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our hotel to be comfortable, clean, and enjoyed our staff! Your comments concerning Weber I will pass along to the team there. While we are "neighbors" as they are located off of our lobby, we are not affiliated with their operation, but they do appreciate hearing feedback that we receive regarding them. We hope that the next time Chicago is part of your travel plans that we have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing