We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Meetings at location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #50 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Meetings at location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I held a meeting at this location for about 30 people. The sales department and staff of this hotel was very helpful. The meeting space worked out great and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are needing a small meeting. It is centrally located for evening activities and it is priced perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughtful feedback about your successful meeting at our hotel. Glad to know your group also enjoyed being in the center of our nearby activities. Just about everything you'd ever want to do or see is within walking distance from our doorstep. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Chicago again for business or pleasure! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    702
    170
    38
    38
See reviews for
476
397
130
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

While in the city for an overnight my husband came down with the flu. We had to spend an extra night as he was to sick to travel home. The staff was very accommodating to include arranging for room service delivery before hours. Would stay there again! Great AAA rate and they honored it for our second night as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunuity to assist you and your husband while he was convalescing that extra night in our hotel. We trust he is on the mend by now. Looking forward to welcoming you back again someday soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again January/February 2013, - this hotel is becoming my second home. Staff as friendly as ever, easy and fast check-in, being HH get free internet -both wired and wifi are available. Good full breakfast, - whatever you want cooked, plus cereals, breads/bagels etc and fresh fruit and yoghurts, coffee and fruit juices. Beds are comfortable and rooms have iron and ironing board and in room safe. plenty of power sockets available in sensible places so you can charge your laptop/phones etc without having to uplug lights! Rooms also have flat screen TVs, microwave and full side refridgerator. plenty of hot water any time of day. Odd numbered rooms have city view, most even overlook the pool and roof.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank firsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the thorough review. You really know our property well! Thank you for sharing the details about the guest room amenities; especially the free wi-fi and plethora of power outlets in every room. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just love this hotel. Room is great and the staff was so nice. I love that they have a Weber Grill in the hotel. What a fun restaurant. I dont like the fee to park but every hotel in downtown Chicago charges a lot. I would stay here any time.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor, I think the 23rd and it was a very quite floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinBaderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. We really appreciate your repeat visits; it means a lot to our team as they enjoy getting acquainted with our devoted guests. We love the Weber Grill too! Its a great up-scale alternative to a typical select servioe style dining experience. Did you know that our guests may charge meals from Weber Grill directly to their rooms? They also serve daily breakfast and cover our hotel room service meals in the evenings (every room has a Weber Grill room service menu). Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I took the CTA Blue line to Clark and Lake from the O'Hare then took a taxi to the hotel. Taxis cost about $7:50 with tip.
Arrived and was greeted right away. Hotel is located in a great area for restaurants and shopping.
The Weber Grill is connected to the hotel. There is a small Starbucks open until 11a for morning coffee lovers inside hotel near concierge desk. My room was clean and comfortable. Room had a small refrigerator and microwave and complimentary Wi-Fi.. There is the usual coffee and tea service in the room. Business Center is located on 12th floor with computers and printers.
I want to compliment the staff. Every hotel staff members was willing to help with any questions, I had…and I always have many when staying at hotels I have not stayed before..
I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Lady_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I enjoy the convenience of taking the CTA train from the airport too; I usually transfer to the Redline and get off at our doorstep Grand/State. With luggage, you had a great idea to hop in a cab for the last leg; at $7.50 (that's good overall value compared with the usual airport taxi fare that runs about $40-$45 with tip). Thanks for the detailed comments about our guest amenities, especially the fitness center and mini Starbucks that we have on site. On busy meeting days or when its too cold to step out, our guests also like having those options on property. Glad you're interested in returning again. If you have time and a swimsuit, head up to the 12th floor for a swim in our heated pool or take a dip in the whirlpool. Its a great place to relax amidst wrap around windows and glimpses of our diverse cityscape. Thanks for sharing, we will let our staff know about your kind words today at the staff meeting. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a "date night." Loved it. Friendly staff, CTA at the door and a nice fitness center. Room was as listed and the king bed was SO comfortable! Would stay again happily. Price ($120/night) was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLibertyvilleIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Congrats on the successful night out and your comfortable stay. Guests frequently comment on nice it was to sleep on our adjustable Garden Sleep System beds. Its a unique feature in every room, just turn the dial on either side of the bed to adjust the mattress firmness. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I came to Chicago for two nights to be maid-of-honor in a small, intimate wedding for a friend. Her fiancé and her were staying in a condo nearby, so I decided on this hotel. I was able to get a great rate through Southwest.com with my AAA discount.

I arrived at 8 am and was just planning on dropping my luggage off (to go site-seeing) and was informed there was a room already available. The room was a nice, mid-sized room (not too big, not too small), the bathroom was nice and large, everything was very clean. It was supposed to be a city view, but I felt it was a little far down to really enjoy it, but I wasn't too concerned with that. I did hear some city noise (traffic, sirens), but it didn't bother me.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely nice and concerned with my comfort, which was nice. My room was cleaned perfectly every day. I even got new towels every day even though I hung them up to try and save them.

The last day of my stay, I was able to leave my luggage with concierge, for free, and took a short walk to Michigan Avenue to blow some hard earned cash.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLynnRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Chicago! We appreciate your kind words and shared your comments with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We hope you return for another sojourn with us to enjoy another celebration and well-earned Mag Mile shopping too! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing