We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost-effective & convenient in the heart of Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #58 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you're looking for a luxurious room with a view, look elsewhere. But if you're looking for a comfortable, roomy space with great amenities, including an in-room microwave & mini-fridge; a respectable fitness space with quality equipment; a cozy pool and hot tub; and easy walking distance to shopping and a variety of attractions - look no further than the Hilton Garden Inn on Grand Avenue.

With a quick trip to the Jewel-Osco store (take a right out the front door, and head one block down to the right), you can give your in-room microwave and mini-fridge a great workout with the groceries and other sundries you can get there. You'll save yourself $$ (and eat healthier!) in the bargain. And you can work off any of your snack-attacks in their fitness center (not a Gold's Gym by any means, but definitely above-average for such a property) or the pool-hot tub area (also smaller in scale, but still nicely done.)

Michigan Avenue shopping? 5 minutes away. The Art Institute, Millenium Park, and State Street shopping? No more than a 15 minute walk. Something to amuse the kids in the group? Walk 5 minutes west and check out RainForest Cafe, and Hard Rock Cafe.

If you're ready for a quality meal splurge, leave your coat in your room and go down to the lobby, where you can walk into the adjacent Weber Grill Restaurant. Weber also serves as the hotel's room service provider, which I did take advantage of and cannot recommend. However, to their credit, they immediately adjusted my bill when I let them know the food I'd ordered was wrong and was cold, so that put them back in the 'plus' column. (The only real negative I found during my recent 2-night stay!)

One other item of note: if you are driving, keep in mind that the cost of valet parking is comparable with just about everywhere else in the city (highway robbery) @ $42/night. However, if you get a good enough rate on the room, it may be worth it to grin and bear it!

I've stayed at numerous hotels in Chicago, and can safely say that I preferred the Hilton Garden Inn to a great many of the "higher end" properties I've been to, and wouldn't hesitate to try them again.

Room Tip: I had a room on the SW corner of the building; while I can't recall for sure, I think I was told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFouts_619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks very much for the detailed review. We are fortunate to have the Jewel-Osco grocery store next door. Its a nice addition to our lobby level mini-pantry. We appreciate getting the feedback about the Weber Grill room service glitch. Looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to Chicago. Thanks again for the vote of confidence. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have a few problems with our room. Our TV screen was going out so it was pink. Then the fitted sheet on the bed wouldn't stay put which made for a bad night's sleep. But, they did reimburse us for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry about the challenges you had with your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention while you were here. We are grateful to have the opportunity to rectify everything before you left. The quality of your experience on property is our number one priority. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again someday soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms were clean & new looking! Staff was great, only stayed for 1 night but was great to go out for some Famous Chicago Pizza, thats only a few minute walk away! Shopping close by and Millennium Park where the bean is located! Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Congrats on experiencing three of our top attractions: famous Chicago style pizza, Mag Mile Shopping, and the Millenium Park "Bean"! Hopefully you'll have more than just one night to stay and explore our other highlights such as our River North night clubs, steak houses, live entertainment, theatre productions and of course...more shopping than Vegas! Wishing you all the very best, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here when we took our daughter back to college in Chicago. We know the area quite well and this location is close to everything on the Magnificent Mile, and a some good things just off the Mile. You are just a few short blocks from Giordano's pizza (best in the city) and easy walking distance to the Hancock building, Water tower area and all the attractions on the Mag Mile. Only downside was that their pool is very small and the hot tub was not really that hot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. Sorry about the hot tub temp, we were upgrading the heater that week. We will keep the water hot for your next visit! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed two nights (Friday and Saturday). The hallway leading to my room (on the 15th floor) smelled like cigarette smoke both days. My room had 2 queen beds. Both beds had a pillow top mattress on top of the regular mattress with a fitted sheet that didn’t fit the mattress. While sleeping the fitted sheet would come off of the pillow top mattress … wrestling with the sheet during the night didn’t make for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We are a non-smoking property and regret any discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to provide a quality hotel experience so you can "breathe easy" and rest well. Additionally, I'm very sorry your sleep was interrupted by fitted sheet challenges. Please know we have addressed this matter and hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you at our property again someday. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room was spacious, clean and right in the center of everything. We walked to Millenium Park, shopping on State Street, restaurants, and only had to take a taxi to the Zoo Lights down by the water. It was perfect for our weekend mother-daughter trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Congratulations on your memorable mother-daughter trip to Chicago! Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you while you were in town. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went to visit our son in the Chicago area, and this proved to be a very nice, central location for getting around. The hotel itself is very clean and quiet, as all the rooms are on higher floors of this building. It is literally steps away from the 'L' Red Line stop, and there are numerous dining options within a short walk. The room we had was on the West side of the building, which had a nice city view. We would certainly plan to return to this location for future visits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRAD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We often hear about our central location and direct access to the "L" (CTA) train Red Line. Its very cold in Chicago this week so being close to everything is all the more crucial for our employees as well as our guests. Thanks so much for your vote of confidence, we truly appreciate your kind words. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing