We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,508)
Filter reviews
2,508 results
Traveler rating
1,224
917
251
67
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,224
917
251
67
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe weber grillgreat locationnavy pierfridge and microwavewithin walking distancemagnificent milefront desk staffvalet parkingself parkmichigan avecity viewstreet noisebusiness centerwould definitely stay here againroom was clean and comfortablefew blocksmag mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,997 - 2,002 of 2,508 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was a very nice hotel. The room was nicer than the room at the Hilton Chicago. It was also cheaper and internet was free. It had a great location to get to the Navy Pier, a ton of restaurants, shopping, and clubs. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Floors on the upper levels have great views!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Dear Josh W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the city. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Very nice hotel, could use a few more elevators, though. I was put on the 23d floor and it was always a long wait and slow ride to/from the lobby. The hotel is on the Red Line, so it's not a direct trip to O'Hare...you have to change at Jackson for the Blue Line. The Weber Grill in the lobby seems to attract lots of locals and the food/beer selection is terrific. I was there for a corporate event and the rate was $175 a night, but otherwise it would be $250. My room was large and the beds comfy with amazing Pacific Coast pillows (that I bought myself on line as soon as I got home).

Room Tip: I would ask for a low floor due to the slow elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dorsalfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear Dorsalfin,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us while you were in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again. I hope you enjoy your pillows!

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great location...Clean rooms & baths...Friendly staff...Public transportation right at the front door...Good restaurant [Weber Grill]...Concierge who works with other hotels...Close to FABULOUS restaurants [ie: Joe's]...Good value. Chicago is a very competitive market...The HGI holds its own.

Room Tip: Sleep with windows closed & fan running. A lot of sirens & horns otherwise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear khucke,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you could experience our wonderful staff and great location. We look forward to having you with us the next time you are in town.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is adjacent to the Magnificent Mile, and near everything you need. It is situation directly next to a subway station (Red Line), and across the street from an Osco Drugs grocery store. My room had a king bed, refrigerator, and microwave, along with the usual accoutrements. Free wifi is included in all rooms, and there is a nice business center open 24 hours a day with computers, printers, photocopiers, etc... The hotel lobby has a Starbucks.

Pricing was very competitive ($190/night), for this type of hotel in this area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnipegSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear WinnipegSteve,
Thank you for selecting our hotel and your review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chicago.


Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Chose this hotel from reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The reservation was easy to make and the person was very patient with all my questions & familiar with the area & knowledgeable to the location and what was available. From the entrance It was very welcoming, warm & accomodating. The room was clean, very comfortable and equipped with a fridge & mircro and since we were staying a couple nights that came in handy. There was a great grocery right across the street with wonderful fruits, veggies and home made deli items. The restaurant in the hotel "The Weber Grill" was very good but pricey as most in the downtown tourist areas but the convenience was worth it. We got tickets to a Cubs game at Wrigley Field and caught the El (subway) right outside the hotel door. There was a free shuttle 2 blks away to the Navy Pier and from there attractions were steps away. The architectural cruise was worth the price for an over view and short history of Chicago's history. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and all questions were answered plesantly. If we asked a question that the staff person didn't know they didn't send us off to someone else they went and got the answer for us. Definitely worth the stay and the rate was awesome for a downtown hotel convenient to the tourist areas. I did not use the indoor pool but did use the business center's computers a few times. I wouldn't spend the extra $10. for a city view room since the hotel is sandwiched between other larger buildings my city view was of the hi rise next door albeit it had a nice running track and greenery on one of it's outside decks not quite the view I expected.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear Ikgtravel,
Thank you for selecting our hotel based off reviews from tripadvisor. We are delighted you had an enjoyable trip and enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chicago.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews