We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #56 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with conveniences”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was booked here with my company as part of trade show at Navy Pier. My stay was for two nights and I had no complaints about the room. Check-in was very easy and while my room wasn't available (I was early) and the lines were steady, the employees very friendly & accomodating. The hotel room was spacious, clean and well-kept.

Our group ate at Weber Grill, and everyone seemed pleased with their meal. Our trade show had arranged for a shuttle to take us to the Pier, otherwise it would have been a steady 25 minute walk. I wouldn't recommend as an easy access to that location if a shuttle isn't available. There were plenty of taxis, though, if we didn't want to even wait until the next shuttle.

My only complaint was about the level of street noise, which prevented me from getting a solid night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasygoingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Easygoing,
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We hope when you are in Chicago again you will choose to stay with us.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    801
    201
    46
    44
See reviews for
575
461
142
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I and my mom stayed on the 20th Floor in mid-August. We were covered with bedbug bites all over our bodies. (10-15 bites each) The hotel management was very defensive and they said that the insurance company will investigate. Of course, the insurance company did not find anything. We have been itching for a week after the incident. There is an ongoing problem with this hotel, so STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehmet U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Mehmet U,
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Chicago and for bringing this to our attention before you checked out. We had a bug control company out the very next day and no additional bugs were found.

We hope the next time you are in Chicago you will stay with us again.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is in a great area, a 5 minute walk to the Mag Mile with access to many shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel is what you expect, the rooms were clean so you can't ask for much more. Overall it's a great place to stay if you want to be within walking distance of a lot of the main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magic8177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear magic8177,

Thank you for your review and for selecting our hotel for your stay in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This HGI provided a perfect location for us to discover Chicago with our two girls. The State Street subway is essentially in the basement of the hotel. Water Tower, Michigan Ave., Navy Pier, Millenium Park and the Art Institute were easy (and interesting) walks. As some reviews have noted, the hotel lobby is not grand, but that did not diminish our stay. The restaurant is unusual for an HGI -- it appears to be a Weber Grill flagship store. Only had breakfast there, but it was better than a typical HGI. Lunch/dinner looked fine, but there were so many great restaurant choices around we couldn't get to everything!

Rooms were more than adequate in size and were quite clean. Good TV and lighting. Heater/Air Conditioner was the old under-the-window style with thermostat on the wall. It was a bit loud. Windows did a poor job of blocking out sound, even 14 floors up. If you are from the city and used to noise all night, it won't bother you. It bothered us.

Would I stay here again? Perhaps. The rate was reasonable and the location was great. Just wish they would have gotten better windows.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear PTCDad,
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Chicago. We are delighted you were able to enjoy all that Chicago has to offer. We are very happy to have Weber Grill as our restaurant. We do not normally hear about noise from the street, infact usually the opposite. If you could contact me so I could ask about what room you were in I can have the windows looked at.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are back in Chicago.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is nothing special, it’s simple, the rooms are ok but not flashy and some improvement could be made regarding the old furniture, especially the doors…the room doors are so old and thin you can actually hear people talking and walking whenever they are in the corridor even if they are far away. The air circulating system at this hotel is not good, if the old-looking air/con system is switched off, it is actually difficult to breathe so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. There is free-wifi in the rooms which is a plus. All Hilton Garden Inns provide shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash and body lotion, but no shower gel….they give you soap… The location of this hotel is great, there is a subway stop just outside the door but the hotel is close to everything, so you can walk everywhere too. No noise coming from outside of the hotel. The staff is always smiling and nice, very welcoming and helpful, especially the girls at reception from Montenegro and the guy at the hotel entrance door. The Web Grill restaurant is very nice, we had breakfast there twice and we liked it, the price is ok and the food is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Crazy33italy,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Chicago. We appreciate your review and if you could contact me I would like to gather some information concerning the air circulating system so we can investigate. We hope to see you the next time you are in Chicago.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We loved this hotel. Perfect location. Wonderful service. We will be back again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glassgirl8550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Glassgirl,
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and will be back. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

It might have been an isolated housekeeping issue from my last review, because the hotel was back on their game this time! Check-in was fast and personable. The physical plant looked good. The construction of the 'L" station lingers on for another year, but makes crossing the street to the grocery store easier from the rerouted traffic. Business center well stocked and everything working, what a pleasure! I had boxes shipped in advance and they them all ready when I arrived. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlobb1207, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear Artieboy,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are happy you found our hotel to meet your needs. I am happy to report the construction is 99.9% complete. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Martha Lobb
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing