We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of the River North”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
“Great hotel in the heart of the River North”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

WE had a great stay at the hotel - I have recommended to my colleagues and others if they are headed to Chicago. The location downtown is ideal - two blocks for the subway and walking distance to everything on the north side of the river.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank struex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    786
    177
    49
    33
See reviews for
911
497
91
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my family on vacation. Had a wonderful time. From the moment we made our reservations (I had a wrong date that the desk clerk helped me fix) to check out, we saw nothing but friendly faces. They had excellent recommendations for near by dinner locations, subway directions, and their breakfast was a HUGE perk. Can't wait to visit Chicago again and visit them!!

OH! The attached restaurant had fantastic $5.00 burgers. That too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cackleberry-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is located within a couple blocks of the Red Line, a grocery store, and great restaurants. Less than two blocks away is a free trolley that will take you around the city, including Navy Pier. We went to the Cubs games from the Red Line with two young kids, it was a breeze. The bell hop, wish I could remember his name, was great. He gave us great tips on where to eat and shop and how to get to places, either by the "el" or foot. Chicago is a beautiful city and we walked around with ease from here to take it all in. It is only about 8 blocks from the Magnificent Mile, and the walk was well worth the views. We also went south across the river, another beautiful stroll.

The staff was very nice. The rooms were huge, perfect with two youngsters (7 and 5). The kids had a pull out sofa bed in the living room with their own TV, and we had a separate bedroom with another TV, and there was a great mini kitchen. The breakfast was great. You will hear the fire engines, but where won't you in Chicago. The station is right next to this hotel, but it helped entertain our kids. We even stopped by and one of the young fireman gave our kids a free quick tour of one of the engines, really nice guys! A hot meal, and if offered different entrees each day we were there (4). The indoor pool, jacuzzi, and sauna were really nice too. It was a great thing for wound up kids. When we return to Chicago we will stay there again! I would highly recommend this place. I challenge you to beat it on price, location, and ammenities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. All of the staff are friendly and make every effort to make you feel welcome and to ensure you get the most of your stay in the hotel and in Chicago. Particular thanks to the Bell Captain and concierges.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I was in town for business staying at theWit, but when I tried to extened my stay, because my husband was joining me, they were sold out. We worked to find a hotel to move to that was within walking distance of everything...and was reasonably priced. The Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago River North met both of these requirements. The location is great and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

I would especially like to thank the front desk clerk Yanelli, who always greeted us with a smile and helpful information. Upon check-in my husband discussed his concerns regarding the fire station being one block away...and the noise that that may cause. Yanelli brought out a map of the hotel and explained that the double-double rooms on the back-side of the hotel are the quietest, however the view is not as nice. The king rooms are on the main street where it is a bit noisier. We decided to give up our king room and take a double-double. It was a great decision for us and we appreciated that Yanelli gave us the choice. Every time we came to the front desk for guidance or information, we either saw Yanelli's happy face or the nice gentlemen that works with her.

I can't forget to mention the staff working the room where the breakfast buffet is served. They took their job seriously, yet they were also very friendly, happy and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was a nice treat that we had not expected and it really came in handy when we were in a hurry to eat and run. Oh, and speaking of food, the hotel is actually one block away from three of the restaurants run by Rick Bayless, from the Food Network. (OMG-the food is fantastic-reservations needed)

Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago River North is doing something right!
From: The Gomez's

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My family had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was incredible, perfect for a family of three. The price was excellent which makes up for the parking. The staff was so helpful and attentive. It was convenient to everything we were doing. It is only four blocks to Michigan Avenue! This was our second stay here and I’m so very happy we found it. Bonus: it has an Arts and Crafts theme!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed in a corner suite, which provided plenty of room for the four of us, as well as a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator. The hotel is right around the corner from the red-line subway. We took it north to Wrigley Field and south to US Cellular Field. It is also on the route for the Navy Pier free trolley. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was extremely clean. There is a fire station next door, so we heard lots of sirens, but the hotel provides free ear plugs in case you're a light sleeper. The indoor pool and hot tub were popular with our teenagers. We would definitely stay here again. The location is so convenient to public transportation. Parking costs $42.00 per day, which seems to be consistent with other hotels in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing