We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockport, Maine USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed May 23, 2006

This hotel is in a good location to downtown/Mich. Avenue and shopping. Unfortunately it is also one block from the fire station and we heard sirens all night long. The other thing that I was disappointed with is that I think the purpose of a suite is to have a separate bedroom. The design of this hotel is such that you have to go through the bedroom to get to the bathroom, and the wash area is not even closed off from the bedroom. So, there is really no private sleeping area, which is what I look for in a suite. If you don't care about sharing the bedroom with the bathroom/vanity area, then it won't bother you, and if that's the case you're probably a heavy sleeper and the sirens won't bother you, either. Otherwise, it's a mediocre hotel that delivers what it advertises.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank RockportME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    782
    173
    49
    33
See reviews for
901
492
90
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2006

After doing extensive research, I chose this hotel for my school's traveling choir, and we stayed in 10 different rooms on several different floors. Every student and chaperone agreed unanimously that it was an outstanding place to stay. The location was great: near the EL and the Navy Pier trolley stop, within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and the theater district. The suites were clean, spacious and well equipped, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast offered a wide variety of hot and cold foods, and the breakfast room was large and pleasant. The decor was very attractive--an arts and crafts motif. The most outstanding aspect for me was the service. When we had difficulties with some of our other travel arrangements, the entire desk staff and the group sales manager went out of their way to help us. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ngagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed with our tennage daughter. Decided to take Amtrak to Union Station and 'walk' as much as we could to save $$.

The walk from Union Station was only about 1.2 miles. Nothing if you're active -- also gives you a good idea of what downtown Chi-Town is like.

Of all the 'continental breakfast' situations I've experienced, this is the best. Change-out for fresh is done constantly and immediately. The selection is great. The only limiting selection is the warm eggs/sausage/stuff. Well, that usually isn't included. They did a great job with supplying and keeping the breakfrast fresh. A large room for all to sit in with the buffet style breakfast.

There's great coffee, tea available all day.

Very centrally located - within 2 to 3 blocks from the mag mile. We walked to the Art Institute with no problem (for walkers). We taxi'd several places with no crimp in our wallet (6$ to 11$ w/o tip). Very central to Mag Mile, Hancock, Art Inst., Union Station.

There is a big grocery store not more than 3-4 blocks away for those that want to skrimp on food and booze. Also a Subway sandwiche and other places w/in 2 blocks. The place is very centrally located for many many good restaurants. The hotel is connected to two. Good eats there.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IslaMujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2006

I usually stay at the Hilton Garden across the street, but they were full midway thru my visit to Chicago, so thought I would try the Hampton Downtown.

I was not disappointed - booked a suite and were given a corner suite on a higher floor,which had full kitchen, complete with pans, plates and flatware, dishwasher etc, also lounge, bathroom and kingsize bed. The room was spotless and cleaned and vacummed thoroughly each day throughout.

Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, allowing us early check-in and late check-out. Being on a higher floor we did not hear any of the sirens or club noise that other reviewers mentioned. Breakfast was free and plenty of tables available with a fair selection of hot and cold, and as usual with Hampton Inns, free coffee / tea 24 hours a day.

The internet access was free and was quick and easy to connect any time day or night with fast speeds. Easy access to Michigan Avenue, and may eating places nearby, also the Red Line Chicago stop is only 1 block away.

A bonus, as I was away from home for some time, is that they also have a laundry room on the 3rd floor with two washers and dryers which is open from 8am - 10pm.

Would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank firsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

This hotel is very nice. Clean rooms, free internet, comfortable space, excellent value. I stayed for a week,on a business trip. I adored the service the hotel staff provided,they were some the nicest people. I had to have my TV repaired, and it was done in less than 30mins after I called the front desk.
They offer a free breakfast each morning, but unless you like cereal,don't bother. The eggs were frozen scrambled eggs,as were the waffles, and biscuits. They have a business center with internet access,and use of a free printer.
The noise problem comes fron the fire station across the street. It is VERY busy at all hours, plus on the first floor corner of the building is a night club,that is has very loud music & patrons on weekends. I stayed in room 620,so try to get away from this end of the hotel. Good location,but word of caution on dining out,check the menus outside for prices, as here they can be very expensive. Walking distance to Red Lobster, Rain Forest, Hard Rock & McDonalds,and Walgreen's. I will stay again when I return.

Helpful?
9 Thank champagnecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

I booked this hotel on Travelocity for its price, location and free breakfast. A little off the beaten path, but OK. My kids loved it! Tried to book a suite, but all were taken. Would have liked to stay an extra day, but the hotel was booked for a large group of high school students - we encountered them checking in at 11:00PM! The free internet was great - down the hall from the breakfast room, access by room key card. Room was standard 2 double bed room, clean, adequately furnished. We arrived early, and they held our bags for the day - nice! My son walked around late one night and chatted with one of the security guards who was very nice to him. Lots of kid-friendly restaurants in the area and a 7-11 & Subway Sandwich shop around the corner. Very convenient to the El and buses, shopping on Michigan Avenue. No trouble to get a cab quickly from the front door.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cyclistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing