We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location but very noisy”
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I would only recommend this hotel if you are a very heavy sleeper. My teenage children slept through all the sirens and honking from the fire engines and ambulances from the station across the street, but I always heard them leaving and returning throughout the night. The front desk will supply you with ear plugs, but that didn't make a difference.
As for the room - we ended having a closet door removed because of a broken mirror. There were black scuff marks on the wall paper and the covers on the baseboard heaters were bent out of shape in several areas.
We had a corner suite with a kitchen, full size fridge, dining area, microwave, 2 cooking units with dishes and utensils and a few cooking supplies. There was a flat screen TV in the living area and bedroom. It was a very large suite considering we were in the middle of downtown Chicago.
Breakfast in the morning was ok. Lots of bagels, toast, muffins, juice, fruit, coffee and tea. I don't recommend the perfectly shaped round rubber eggs nor the biscuit.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. 30 - 40 min. walking distance to Millenium Pk, Navy Pier and Water Tower Place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onedogcity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    776
    168
    48
    31
See reviews for
887
488
88
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We found a discouted rate at this hotel and really got a great rate on one of the suites. It was nice to have space in a city hotel. Sometimes you can spend so much for such a little room. One of the nicer touches is having a bedroom that you can close off from the rest of the room. Even though we had the room to ourselves, it was nice to feel like we had some addtional privacy. Also in a great locale to do some walking around Chicago on a nice summer day.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playmaker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed recently for 2 nights at this property and returned very surprised to see it reviewed so positively on TripAdvisor - perhaps it says more about the lack of moderately priced properties in River North than the actual quality and value offered by this hotel.
Our first impressions here were negative. The front desk staff is about what you'd expect for a 2-star property: disengaged and not particularly welcoming. After receiving our room keys, we endured a very lengthy wait for the elevators. There are three elevators, but one is a service elevator and guest must compete with the maids and other hotel staff for its use. When the property has high occupancy, plan on waiting as much as 5 minutes to go up or down, especially in the morning and early evening hours.
The rooms meet expectations for a 2-star property. They were clean, with spacious bathrooms and beds that were adequate. What didn't meet expectations was the fact the hotel overlooks a fire house - be prepared to wake up at least once, and likely more than once, every night.
Other facilities look better on paper than in reality. There are four computer stations for free guest use, but the speed of the internet access was comparable to dial-up. There is a "fitness room" that consists of six pieces of equipment: 2 treadmills, a low-end elliptical, a recumbent exercise bike, a leg extension machine and a bench press machine that was out of order during our stay.
Guests seemed to enjoy the free breakfast. I thought the continental breakfast was solid, but the "hot" portion included only 2 entrees - waffles and sausage on the day we visisted.
The bell staff is very helpful - and more than happy to park your car for a typical downtown Chicago rate.
All in all, I'd rather walk further and pay more at another hotel than stay here again. The free breakfast, swimming pool, computer room and location might make it worthwhile for parents with infants and small childreen, since they're already used to being awakened at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllgstdva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Il.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly and competent . The hotel is clean and our room was fine. The location of the hotel is good, it's about a 2 block walk to the red line subway. Breakfast is served from 6-10AM. The breakfast bar is very popular with families. If you plan to eat after 8AM be prepared to deal with a swarm of children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia - Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Fantastic - rooms large, clean; beds comfortable; tv appropriate size for distance between screen and bed.
great decor, evocative of arts and craft architecture - nice little touches such as fresh apples in bowls in lobby
friendly and helpful staff - gave very good directions
near to almost everything - can walk to Field Museum, short taxi ride to Wrigley Field
complementary breakfast provided varied choices including hot scrambled eggs - well stocked with toast, buns, danish and other breakfast foods
would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This was one of the best experiences we've ever had on a vacation. The room was wonderful! It was a true two-room suite, complete with full-size refrigerator, stove, and microwave. It was very spacious and provided plenty of room for the four of us. The flat screen tv's and very comfortable beds were added bonuses. It was ideally located in the restaurant district of Chicago, and there were many great restaurants within walking distance. The Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile were also within walking distance. The Museum Campus and other locations (Lincoln Park, Hyde Park, Wrigley Field) were farther out, but we paid for a multi-day ticket on the double decker trolley with hop-on/hop-off which took us to those areas as well as providing a great tour of the downtown architecture. The only negative was the parking, which is valet only and very expensive. A friend of ours had warned us about parking fees at downtown hotels and recommended finding our own place to park, but we chose to use the hotel parking for the convenience since we did not have a clue about Chicago. The valets were very nice and helpful. Even the close proximity to the fire station (which other reviews warned us about) was not a problem during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

1. Free parking. Paid 171 for double bed suite and free parking - fabulous. We had a separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen with microwave, stove, dishwasher, fridge, 2 flat screen tvs, and a living room. 2. Location. located between State and Dearborn, it's a couple blocks to Weber Grill, Trader Joes, Michigan Ave, Rush St, Chicago Theatre. It's right in the center of everything. We saw a show at the Cadillac and it took us maybe 10 minutes leisurely walking. 3. Customer Service. The same girl that checked us in was the same girl setting up breakfast. 4. Great, free breakfast. Rolls, bread, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, milk, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, biscuits. The room is set up nice and was not crowded. In addition, we ordered midnight pizza. A security guard brought the pizza guy to our room. That is a nice, added touch of concern for your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antigua0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing