We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel and reasonable price”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very nice hotel for reasonable price, staff was friendly in person, not very helpful over the phone when we asked about mass transit options - just told us to look it up ourselves.
Good location close to train stop and easy walk to everything downtown including Navy Pier and Mag Mile. Lots of food nearby to choose from. Nice rooms. Next to fire station, but nothing that kept us awake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 638Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello Cheryl,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location and staff are great so its good to see you were able to see that for yourself. I'm very sorry to hear that whoever you spoke to over the phone wasn't friendly. Many times our calls get rerouted to central reservations when were busy to cut down on wait times, and unfortunately as they're based out of many cities internationally sometimes they aren't as friendly as us. I sure hope we get to see you again some day.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    786
    177
    49
    33
See reviews for
911
497
91
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Well appointed. Good free breakfast and wifi. Nice comfy bed to lay your head. Real windows so some city noise is to be expected. Overall this hotel provided us a great central home base and allowed us to explore what Chicago has to offer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCMT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hey SCMT80,

Thank you so much for both sharing your experience with us and taking the time to leave us a review. Its good to know you were able to take advantage of, and enjoy our complimentary breakfast and wifi. Our breakfast has so many great options, and I constantly receive praise regarding how plentiful it is. I hope you had a safe trip back to Alabama, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I am a meeting planner and recently planned a meeting at this hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was accessible by train, a relatively easy trip from the airport and easy to reach for those who decided to drive (the adjacent parking garage was a plus). Planning the meeting was effortless due to the guidance and support of the sales manager and her staff. The staff was ready to assist from the time of arrival to the moment of departure. No matter how much you pre-plan, things come up and schedules change during the course of a multiple day meeting. The staff was extremely flexible and accommodating in the handling of any request or change. The spacious and comfortable meeting room was set up the night before so we were able to begin our meeting on time. The guest rooms were also comfortable and quiet - considering the location, there was very little city noise when you were in your room. Also, there were numerous restaurants within walking distance for those who came in the night before and for group dinners. I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure for its good service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Patricia,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review and for all the great comments about our hotel. I always appreciate getting reviews from guests, but it is nice to receive them from planners such a yourself. Its hard for others to see just how great our sales staff is too, You can browse through the reviews on here with many mentions of our housekeeping, front desk, and breakfast staffs. However, our sales team doesn't get as much exposure even though they are working hard every day. I thank you for your recommending us to others and we hope to have ya'll with us again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location. 1 1/2 block walk to the red line (which takes you to Wrigley Field Cubs fans). It is a short walk to Michigan Ave where you can ride bus 146 to the museums. Many restaurants nearby in walking distance. The fire station is just across the street although we weren't bothered by that. You will hear the rumble from the subway. The rooms are clean but could have improved just a bit. Front desk staff was great, very helpful. Answered all our questions with no hesitation. The valet and bell staff not so much. We had reserved our own parking and rolled our own bags up to our room and they let us know that they were not pleased to be missing the tips. Parking at the hotel is $55 a night. You can reserve parking at nearby lots for 1/2 that price. Beds were comfortable, free wifi which worked very good, breakfast was mediocre and crowded but the coffee was great! I would recommend staying here if you want a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevinfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello bevinfocus,

I really appreciate the comprehensive review of our hotel as well as the great feedback. Its good to know you were able to take full advantage of our location. It truly makes everything more convenient for you while staying with us. I've heard that our coffee is really good, but as I'm not a coffee drinker I'll have to take your word on it along with all the other guests! Thank you for suggesting us, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice location and the hotel is well kept. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel (even accessible from the lobby) is super nice and a very good addition to the hotel. Easy to walk to many areas within the Chicagoland area. Bell Staff is on their toes and ready to assist upon arrival or departure. The front desk staff is not very available, nor seem very eager to address questions/concerns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hey Charlotte,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing feedback with us. I'm very sorry to hear that our front desk staff didn't appear to be as willing to help as they truly are. We love suggesting restaurants and things to do around the city. Our bell staff, as you pointed out, are always willing to help guests with everything from directions to assisting with baggage. Joe Fish, the restaurant you mentioned, has received nothing but praise and is regarded as one of the best seafood restaurants in the city. Hopefully some day we can have you as our guest again!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I would definitely recommend staying at the Hampton Inn Downtown Chicago. Although, the hotel has been newly renovated with modern decor it doesn't take away from the essence of the historic feel. The beds are heavenly making it hard to part to take in all that Chicago has to offer. The hotel is steps away from succulent restaurants, shopping, the metro, and all the tourist attractions including Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, Museums, etc (all within walking distance). I can hardly wait until my next visit. The Hampton in is my choice hotel when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank robbirenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello robbirenee,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We appreciate all the kind words about the hotel, and I literally laughed at your comment about our beds. They really are so comfortable its hard to explain through text, but that was about as good as it could be done. I didn't understand just how comfortable they were until I stayed here myself. The location is great, because like you said, you're so close to everything that it makes getting around a breeze. I hope you had a safe trip back to California!


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very satisfying in all areas. The hotel is very clean and neat and the entire staff is very helpful and cheerful. This hotel is located near everything that you would want to see in Chicago. The complementary breakfast was excellent. The two guys that staff the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful for every question that we had. Housekeeping staff was also excellent. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studio4046J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Studio4046J,

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a great review of our hotel. Its nice to hear that you cant wait to come back, because we cant wait for you to come back! You highlighted the three best things about our hotel, our location, breakfast, and especially our staff make our hotel something truly special. I hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.


Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing