We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My Mum and I recently returned from a few days in Chicago. Have stayed here before and decided to upgrade to a suite this time. Loads of space, and having a coffee percolator in the room was perfect. Outdoor terrace was disappointingly bare, nothing like the picture on the website but couldn't complain otherwise. Loads of choice at breakfast. Very convenient location for all downtown and easy to get to from the airport on the blue line. Still haven't seen everything so will be back again ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey JoeySarah,

I really appreciate the great review and all the compliments about our hotel and staff. I'm happy to know you'll be back, and I have good news. Our outdoor terrace will be more inviting than when you were with us. We are in the process of revamping part of it and have progressively taken some stuff out of the area in order to prepare for the job. Also, we have brand new furniture we will be putting out as soon as it wraps up in a week or so. Hopefully if you return you'll be able to enjoy it. Hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    745
    160
    46
    30
See reviews for
852
477
85
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband, daughter & I stayed at Hampton Inn & Suites conveniently located in the downtown area making it easy to walk to all the places that we had planned to see! Very clean & QUIET! I never heard anyone at all while there. The beds lie GREAT! Such a great hotel! Enjoyed the Continental breakfast! I do recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to enjoy the CITY LIFE!


The Outlaw's, North Carolina

Room Tip: Our room was perfect!
See more room tips
Green Features: You have a choice if you'd like to use your towels twice .... to save the environment!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey Bonnie,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I'm happy to know your family had a good vacation and appreciate you including us to be part of it. Like you said, our beds are GREAT! I slept in them for the first time this winter when I got stuck in from a winter storm, and I was really impressed with how comfortable they were. Considering I have a bad back I'm quite picky. I hope we get to have your family as our guests again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for the whole thanksgiving week last year. Staff was friendly, and the hotel had everything we would be needing then. The location is convenient, and the room clean. The brand offers free and hot breakfast every day. Besides,I like free printing services Hilton provides(as always^_^)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HHHCCCYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey HHHCCCYYY,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for the compliments about our hotel and staff. I hope you enjoyed your experience with us over that holiday week. I would have to agree we are really affordable for all that we offer for being in the city. I hope we get to see you again next year, or even sooner!

Have a great week,


Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

So much nicer than the run-of-the-mill Hampton Inn! Bright rooms, nice decor. We had a big 2 room suite - and it was more than fine. So, check in was not as friendly as I have become accustomed to - arrived at 2, no room as ready - even though I had asked for an early check in. They said they would call when it was ready, they did not. They also missed a wake up call, which was not a big deal - as I woke up before we missed our flight. Breakfast was CROWDED. But food was fine. Very good location, and later interactions with front desk showed that most of those who man it are very nice. but, yes, the Chicago FD is next door, so you will hear them at any hour.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the West are farther away from the Fire Dept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepelevoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello Pepelevoo,

I appreciate the great comments about our hotel and team! I would have to agree you you 100% in the sense that we are not the "run-of-the-mill Hampton Inn". We have unique decor,an original lobby, and among many things an outstanding staff! Im sorry about the wake up call and the check in time. I'll have to talk to them about that. The breakfast gets slammed every day around 9. We do our best to prepare for this, but I always tell guests that the best time to stop to eat is typically 45 mins before of after 9. I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

With a great location, good pricing and attentive staff. Free breakfast can be for the hardy or the easy eaters, and the comp newspapers provide excellent start for the day. Room amenities were just fine, wi-fi throughout and personal computers in the business office; clean swimming pool; flat-screen; room clean and quiet and much more. No room service, but take-away near and since Chicago is the home to the food industry, you won’t notice. Was there 5 nights and while occupancy with families and children increased on the weekend it was still a calm place. Exceptional place for all and good value too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abletokhuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey abletokhuna,

I wanted to thank you for all of the compliments about our hotel and staff! I think we have such a great hotel with so many features, and its always reassuring to hear the same thing from our guests. I truly hope you enjoyed your experience with us. You mentioned our location in relation to food and you're absolutely correct. We are surrounded by some of the best restaurants in the city, and many of them are affordable as well. Hopefully we have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future!

Have a great week!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

When I arrived at 2 a m due to travel delays I met the desk clerk and security guard occupying their closed lobby. The lobby closes at 11 pm for security purposes. I was in my room in minutes. It was clean and well appointed the a mini fridge and microwave. We attended the free breakfast about 9 am with quite a few guest. they served scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, rolls, oatmeal coffee and more. I was a 6:30 visitor on subsequent mornings with less of a crowd. Their lobby has access to two restaurants. Ruth Criss and Joe Fish both up scale eateries.There are a dozen other restaurants withing a couple of blocks. The river north location is handy by car and cab to most of Chicago's downtown attractions. The lobby in the Frank Lloyd Wright style is attractive and functional. Daily housekeeping brought my room back to neat a clean. I was impressed by their service and amenities. I will be a return customer.

Room Tip: Fire station a block away provided more noise than I had expected. The breakfast while plentiful was...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer no wash towel service. The breakfast used biodegradable plates
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarrantTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello TarrantTexas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm glad to know you enjoyed your time here, and that you were able to take advantage of our awesome breakfast. With a rotating menu and a ton of options its worth taking a look at. I'm glad that you were able to notice the Frank Lloyd Wright layout in the lobby. Not many people pick up on it, and I feel that it makes our property quite unique for being a chain hotel. I hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great 4th of July!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

my granddaughter and I stayed at the Hampton 6/15/14 for 5nites.. the rooms mostly have doors for adjoining space for familys, but if you are only using one room there is very little insulation between rooms.. and one can easily hear conversations and babies crying, or kids just yelling and having fun,, I asked about a room with no adjoining door and there are precious few.. mainly only the suites.. the rooms were clean and no complaints there, do wish there would have been a mini fridge...

Room Tip: our room was 410.. loud noise from adjoin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello Aggie_13,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for sharing your feedback with us. Also, I wanted to apologize for the noise that come from the room that was connected to yours. Sometimes guests don't realize how loud they're being and it causes them to disturb their neghibors. We do our best to prevent it, but are more than happy to call and ask them to keep it down. However, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us otherwise. I hope you and your granddaughter had fun during your time in Chicago and a safe trip home.

Thanks,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing