We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Came into Chicago for a 1 night stay after being in the nearby suburbs for a wedding over the weekend. Front desk staff and bellman were both very helpful and accommodating about storing our luggage, as we arrived several hrs before check-in on Sun and stayed long after check-out on Mon. Our son was traveling w/us & Suite was very spacious- wish we could have stayed longer. Had a light meal & drinks in adjoining Joe Fish Restaurant- very good, beautiful decor, pleasant server. All in all a very good experience & would return. The bellman was especially pleasant and helpful! Wish I could remember his name.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank O8625CBwilliamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hey William,

Im very happy to hear you had a great experience with us! This is exactly what we try to accomplish with each and every guest. A quality visit from the instant you arrive and until you depart (even after if possible). Im glad you liked Joe Fish. They opened a little over a month ago and everyone Ive spoke to has loved it. Thanks again for your time and the great review.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    781
    172
    49
    33
See reviews for
898
492
90
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed up here for a baseball game, and I had no problems checking in. They actually let me check in early. There was an odor in the bathroom when I arrived. I informed the front desk clerk and she informed the manager about it. I left for a couple of hours and the odor was gone. My room was facing the fire station. I didn't hear it at all. It was really convenient to have the Red Line station only a couple blocks away. If you have to go to a baseball game I would recommend staying here. The breakfast was pretty good too. There was a restaurant near the hotel called Rocket Bar and Grill. The front desk clerk gave me a 10 dollar off coupon.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, I would suggest not getting a king room. All the king rooms face the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooldude2003us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hey cooldude,

Thank you so much for the great review and taking our suggestion on Rockit Bar & Grill. Its personally one of my favorite places to eat in the city, and definitely one of the best burgers. I hope you enjoyed both the game and your dinner at Rockit.

Hopefully we'll see you again,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were on vacation and happened to be driving through Chicago so we decided to stay overnight. I entered Hampton Inn on the GPS and it brought us to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown. This was a beautiful hotel but the thing I like most is how clean it was. The people at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful with directions and city maps. At breakfast, the general manager was going to everyone's table to introduce himself and make sure everything was OK. I was very impressed that he would take the time out of his busy day to mingle with the guests. I had a reservation at a Comfort Inn in Milwaukee but after being in this hotel, I cancelled it and reserved a room at the Hampton Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hey Jana,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! I truly hope your road trip went well. Its good to see that our guests can see how great our team really is. You raised a good point, they're fantastic from position to position. Jim (our GM that you mentioned) is great to work with and will take time to interact with our guests on a daily basis. In many downtown hotels you'll never see management, let alone a GM. I hope you had a safe trip back home and hopefully we'll see you again in the future!


Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had an amazing time staying at the Hampton.

Cara went above and beyond to make sure our stay was as best it could be. I forgot to book the shopping package for the gals and she went out of here way to set up gift bags with coupons, sights to see and maps - excellent.

Patio was great spot to relax and catch your breath after a day in the city.

They booked the architectural boat cruise for us...........one of the best excursions we have done!

Room Tip: We booked a suite - lots of room for my wife, teenage daughter and a friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello SWO,

Its really nice to hear comments like yours saying things like "We had an amazing time staying at the Hampton". Your experience is a perfect example of what we strive to achieve each and every day. I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and the patio as well. Our suites are huge for downtown properties and our outdoor terrace is a nice getaway inside the city. With all the greenery out there you forget you're in downtown.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I had a very nice experience and found the hotel to be a good value. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. Everyone I encountered seemed friendly. When in the area again I will return as the hotel was everything I needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hey Saige,

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you so much for the great comments and the review! I'm glad to know that you thought it was a good value as well. I think with the quality of service and amenities we offer that we are one of the best valued hotels in the area. Thanks again!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here over the weekend and it was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. The hotel was spotless and everyone I encountered during my stay were extremely friendly and pleasant. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and the AGM, Robert was personally welcoming his guest in to the hotel. I cant forget the breakfast team who served really great food. It was a great stay at a great price in downtown Chicago.
Kudos to everyone working here!! You really know how to do hospitality right!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello Francisco,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and for leaving us such a great review! Thank you for all the great comments, I'm very pleased to know that our guests can see how great our staff truly is (I'm a little biased so its good that others see it). Thank you for mentioning Robert as well, as you raised a great point. Not many Managers of Downtown properties spend time interacting with their guests. Robert will be out checking them in and personally ensuring they have a great experience with us. I hope you had a safe trip home and thanks again!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the great front desk staff to the valet attendants. The hotel is customer driven and continues to excel. This was my third stay and it keeps getting better each time. The room was clean and better than expected. I am going to stay there at least twice this summer alone. Great price and the breakfast was awesome.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer. The king bed suite was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hey Brian,

Thank you so much for everything. The great review, the compliments, and for your loyalty to our hotel. You put it perfectly, we're very customer driven. Many hotels downtown are all about 'heads in beds" is what they say, but we like to make the interaction more personal showing we care. Our staff is arguably the best in the city, just everyday people that love what they do and put our guests first. You're setting the bar pretty high if we keep getting better every time you stay, we'll have to make sure to exceed those expectations next time. We look forward to seeing you again this summer.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing