We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing Level of Service and Professionalism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #46 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing Level of Service and Professionalism”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We recently held a Corporate event with this Hampton Inn and were very pleased with the level of professionalism, customer service and friendliness of the staff as well as their attention to detail. The food was great, the location was superb and all of the staff; including the front desk and banquet staff were hospitable, knowledgeable and helpful. Two thumbs up Hampton!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us as well as the great comments about our team! I'm happy you were pleased with the level of service and quality of our hotel. Each and every member of our team genuinely cares about our guests and its nice to see when it reflects on our guests reviews on here. I hope you had a safe trip back to Michigan and hopefully we can see you again in the future whether its business of leisure!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    768
    165
    48
    31
See reviews for
877
486
87
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel came highly recommended. Location has pros/cons.....pros that it was convenient to where we were visiting...cons because it's right next door to fire station. Happy we're close for safety...but for sleeping it was a bit rough. Staff very friendly, valet helpful and efficient. Breakfast could be improved, but I suppose we all have different tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Frank P.,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be warm & friendly. We do apologize for the "urban" noise of the firehouse next door. We do our very best to not let this hinder our guests experience. Please let us know if there was anything additional we can have done to help. Please note that our property follows the Hilton Brand Standards for the daily breakfast, and I am happy to inform you that the brand has many exciting changes coming throughout the year. Please feel free to reach out to me direct if there is anything additional I can assist you with.

Sincerely,

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Ph. 312-832-0330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our stay was wonderful and the whole staff made it better. Mastique (I hope I didn't butcher his name) was very friendly and made us feel very welcomed upon arrival! The ladies who cleaned our room did a great job and were also extremely willing to help us when we needed more towels, cups, ect. Our suite was always clean. That is very important to us. The location is also convenient being across the street from our favorite restaurant (RPM Italian)! We will most definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We've only used the Corner suite and it's a nice size for families and in our case a small g...
See more room tips
Green Features: All the staff members we came in contact with were very helpful and always friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Nancy F.,

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn of your satisfaction with your overall experience. I will be sure to share your review with Mustaque and our Room Attendants, as they always love to hear when they have played a part in enhancing a guest experience. We hope that you will come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
312-832-0330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Was in Chicago for 4 nights on business. This is my first time to Chicago and it really is a beautiful city. I am a Hilton Honors member so I always look for Hilton / Hampton Inn properties. Glad I chose this place.

THE PROS:

LOCATION: This was in the River North section of downtown and I loved the location. I was able to walk to most of my meetings and there is so much action around the hotel. It feels like you can walk anywhere.

BREAKFAST: It is the nicest and largest breakfast room I've seen in a Hampton Inn. Yes the food is basic free breakfast items but it really is a wonderful value. Bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juices, scrambled eggs, sausage. It is a really nice spread.

ROOM: The room was fantastic. I had the suite with the king size bed. The room was huge and a really nice layout with two separate rooms each with it own HD TV. REALLY comfortable bed and pillows.

LOBBY: It is a really nice looking hotel with a beautiful little lobby.

POOL: I didn't use it, but it is a nice touch having the indoor pool.

Staff: All super friendly. The car valet guys are great.

The CONS:

Okay, not everything is perfect, Here are my two picky complaints

ROOM TEMPERATURE: I'm the kind of guy that likes to go into a hotel room and put the thermostat all the way down. I like to sleep in a real cold room. Well, the thermostats are locked at 68 degrees...can't go lower. I asked at the front desk and they said that was the limit. Okay. Probably an environmental / cost savings thing. I get it, but it was a bit of a let down.

ELEVATOR NOISE: I stayed on 9th floor in room 912. The X12 room on each floor shares a wall with the elevator bank. That wall is right against the head of the bed. Each night I heard a low rumble and even felt it in the bed. It was the elevator going up and down. I would not recommend staying in a "12" room for this reason alone. It was a bit annoying. There are three elevators in the elevator bank...this is elevator #3. The other two are away from that wall. Why not shut down elevator #3 through the night and only use the other two? Just a thought.

All in all, it is a really nice Hampton Inn. The temperature thing bugs me but despite that, I would come back here.

Room Tip: Do Not select a room ending in 12
See more room tips
Green Features: To be commended. They are doing a lot of environmental things.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for chosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate you being a Hilton Honors member and hope you can come visit us again on your next trip to our fabulous city.

Sincerely,

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
312-830-0330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a great stay over a 4 night weekend. I always enjoy Chicago and staying at the Hampton downtown and last week was no exception. It was the first time for my family to Chicago and they loved the whole experience. We were staying in Chicago on the last weekend of a 2 week holiday to Florida. My kids really liked the gentleman in charge of the valet parking – He was really great with them and they asked to pass on their thanks and they loved getting hot chocolate from the breakfast area at any time of the day.

The service is always first rate – rooms are well presented and cleaned to a very high standard, the pool area is very tidy and a nice break from all the walking, the staff know the local attractions and we booked a boat tour without any problems from the front desk. The hot breakfast was a welcome bonus as well.

I would say the service is actually better than many Hilton hotels I stay at so keep up the good work and we will be back for sure,

Kind Regards

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family and are staying for several days I would suggest requesting a su...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel refresh / keep system was on a standard to other hotels
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Nathan W.

Thank you for writing such a "Brilliant" review of your experience with us! We are happy to learn how much your entire family enjoyed being with us. We hope that you will come visit again soon! Please keep my contact information and feel free to reach out to me direct should I ever be able to be of assistance to you.

Sincerely,

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
312-832-0330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east amherst ny, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Hampton Inn Chicago was a great hotel to stay at. Not only was it centrally located to restaurants and bars it was only 1 1/2 blocks from the trolley that gave you a great tour of the city. Would recommend this hotel. The only drawback is the cost of parking your car but there are not many other options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hey Shawn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a response! Im happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and the hotel so much. I agree with you completely, our location is great. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the city, regardless of what they have planned, as we are close to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. I hope you had a safe trip home and hope to see you again!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here mid march for three nights and had the most amazing time . Staff is incredibly welcoming , kind and helpful. Spent our first evening dinning at JoeFish and couldnt have asked for a better experience . Great location , plenty of things to do within the downtown area. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a home away from home. Will definitely return for my next visit to Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Kristin,

I just wanted to let you know how good it feels to know that you had an amazing experience with us! I really love working at this hotel and our staff is top notch, so seeing the results of their hard work and caring is great. I'm pleased to hear that you liked Joe Fish. They opened up about a month ago and I've heard nothing but good things about their food & service. I'm happy to hear that you'll be staying with again in the future, and I look forward to having you with us!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing