We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Awesome Location, Great for Family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Good Hotel, Awesome Location, Great for Family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was quite good. All employees were kind and courteous and had a smile. You can't get a better located hotel in Chicago then this hotel. Walking distance to a bunch of major attractions including navy pier, willis tower, Museum of Contemporary Art, Jazz Clubs and a short taxi fare to the aquarium.

It's better then most of the other "hampton suites" hotels, more of a city hotel feel but the usual Hampton Suites prices. I had my daughter and mother with me and had a Queen 2 bed double with sofa bed and surprising the sofa bed was incredibly comfortable. Overall, I will definitely come back if I am travelling with family. Free Breakfast is also a great kicker for families.

Close to State Street and a bunch of restaurant and food options and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I really appreciate all the nice things you had to say about our hotel, and especially our staff. Each and every one of them try to make our guests time with us a good experience. We are definitely a great family hotel, and have amenities that work well for families when considering the competition in the city. We offer free wifi, breakfast, and have a pool w/ hot tub & sauna. Overall our price tends to be less than the competition and offer as much if not more. We look forward to having you as guests again in the future!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    684
    148
    43
    29
See reviews for
749
433
80
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a terrific downtown Chicago location, with very professional and accommodating staff. The value and location is what originally attracted me but I will definitely stay here again. My room was a one bedroom corner apartment, completely unexpected but I was grateful for room 1119. If there's a negative, it would have to be the street noise but nothing ear plugs couldn't handle next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I'm glad to hear the one bedroom corner suite exceeded your expectations and our hotel in general did as well. Thank you so much for all the nice comments about our property, and particularly the ones about our staff. They give 110% every day and really make the hotel what it is today. By the way the corner suites are my favorite rooms in our hotel. They're probably more spacious than most apartments downtown and have so many windows its really quite pleasant. Sorry to hear about the noise, but we look forward to seeing you again in the future (and earplugs are available at the front desk for free 24 hours a day).

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is our third time staying at this hotel. We just never have a bad experience here. It's quiet, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the location is perfect. This time we had a king suite, and we really loved the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
On behalf of everyone at the hotel I would like to thank you for the great comments about our hotel and also for your loyalty!

It is always great to hear when our guests have great experiences with us, and especially when it is something that brings our guests back for future stays. The King Suites are great rooms and they're really quite spacious as well. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The size of our room was great, the beds very comfortable and the room as well as the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to the major shopping areas, the Magnificent Mile, river cruises and Willis Tower. In the area there are a lot of cosy reataurants. But breakfast was a bit of a disappointment as the plates as well as the cutlary were made of plastic and no bacon to go with the eggs. The breakfastroom was not very inviting and felt a bit chaotic. But all the same, we world like to stay at Hampton inn and suites again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us this review and also for all of the nice comments you had about us.

I would have to agree with you 100% on the size and quality of our rooms as well as the prime location. Its good to see that they quality of our staff is making good experiences with our guests as well. However, I'm sorry to hear about how hectic breakfast was when you were our guest. During the busy times on the weekends the breakfast area does have more people both siting down and grabbing food, but we do our absolute best to make sure things run smoothly for our guests. Hope to see you guys again in the future!

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great trip, beautiful hotel! We loved it. We felt unsafe when we first arrived late in the evening. Those fire sirens are pretty loud, but that is out of your control. Other than that, I would defiantly stay again. The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Misty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and our staff.

I'm happy to hear you had a good weekend with us! I'm sorry to hear that the sirens were fairly loud from your room, but its good to know it didn't have a major impact on your experience with us. I hope you had a safe trip home and maybe we'll have the privilege of having you as guests in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Three friends and I spent a girl's weekend in Chicago. This Hampton Inn was perfect! We had two adjoining rooms, which made it super fun! The hotel is one block from the train, so getting back and forth to Midway was easy. We walked or took the bus wherever we went. The only thing missing was a refrigerator in the room for our Thai leftovers. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JAG64113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a good girls weekend in Chicago and that we could be a part of it. The adjoining rooms are great and really make you feel more at home. I'm sorry to hear about your leftovers and not having a refrigerator. There are a few options for next time in case you find yourself in the same situation at our hotel. We have suites, wet bar rooms, and refrigerators available per request for $10. If you make it into town again feel free to contact me directly and I'll make sure you have one in your room.

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a Hilton Honors member but this was my first stay at a Hampton Inn. Surprisingly pleased with the size of room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, extensive breakfast, soothing decor and great location. Previously stayed at Palmer House when in Chicago but will continue to book at this Hampton because I felt more comfortable with its classy yet laid back feel.

Room Tip: Located near a fire station but I am a light sleeper and did not hear any siren during the night. M...
See more room tips
Green Features: Note asking to reuse towels if you felt comfortable with that and since we were staying 4 nights we requested that our sheets not be changed to save laundry.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I just wanted to let you know how happy it makes myself and everyone at the hotel know good of an experience you had with us and how we compare to some of the other local hotels. Its really hard to explain the "feel" of the hotel without great reviews like these to give future guests a good idea about what to expect. Our staff is the best in the town in my opinion and through their hard work you can see the type of memorable experiences we create here. I'm very pleased to hear you'll be back next time you're in town and I look forward to seeing you then!

Thanks,

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing