We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$189
The James Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$187
$167
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$595
$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$315
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$187
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,694)
Filter reviews
2,694 results
Traveler rating
1,538
853
210
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,538
853
210
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationfire departmentgreat locationfree breakfastcorner suitebreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancelight sleeperhot breakfastchicago downtownhot tubbreakfast stafffront desk staffthe magnificent mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,563 - 1,568 of 2,694 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

One block from the L with access to all of Chicago, this was a great place for my family to visit this great city. Staff was great. Terrific breakfast spread and close to a large variety of moderate priced restaurants. Fire station was close but didn't wake us up. Good location for early morning joggers who like to take in the architecture around Millennium Park and Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this great review!

I would have to agree with you that our location can't be beat and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it. We strive to provide each of our guests with a great Experience and glad that you had to pleasure to recieve one.

Look forward to seeing you in the future!

All the Best,



Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Ron.Justus@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great hotel, great staff! We traveled to Chicago with a group doing all of Route 66 in our Shelby Mustangs. As there is no parking in downtown we had to valet ($55 a night). Three people in our group witnessed a valet power-sliding one of our cars around a corner in traffic. When the valet manager (Nick) was informed of this he made excuses about the power and the clutch - never took responsibility for his employees. I spoke to Andrew the hotel manager and he was great and seemed to take the complaint seriously. I might stay here again but would avoid the valet if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review and letting us know about your Experience.

We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional Experience and am sad to hear of the issue you faced while with us. I am very glad that you had the opportunity to speak with Andrew and can assure you we take each guest comment very seriously.

I hope that on your next trip you chose us and give us another chance to enhance your Experience.


Look forward to seeing you in the future!

All the Best,



Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Ron.Justus@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property but they do a lot with what they have. The staff was some of the best I have come across even at places costing and rated much higher! The went out of their way. We had special health needs that required is to get in to a room far earlier than checking and it put them out but they handled it graciously.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We take great pride in our customer service and am glad that we were able to accomodate your request while you were here. I enjoy sharing all of our guest reviews and comments with the staff and I am sure they will be glad to hear of your Experience.

I hope you choose us on your next trip and give us further opportunites to enhance your Experience!

Look forward to seeing you in the future!

All the Best,



Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Ron.Justus@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Like an old-time balance scale, small satisfactions keep loading onto the tray: (complimentary breakfast, clean and comfortable room and amenities, free WiFi, terrific location, helpful staff) until the needle weighs far over to the positive side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Morris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review!

We strive to provide the absolute best in Customer Service and Hotel Experience. I would have to agree that all the little things due add up and am very happy to hear that your Experience here was a great one! I look forward to sharing your comments with the staff.


Look forward to seeing you in the future!

All the Best,



Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Ron.Justus@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First the good: Beds are comforatble, breakfast is loaded with everything you would expect from a Hampton including good oatmeal and fruit, front desk staff is friendly and helpful, place is clean, fitness room is better than average, location is within easy walking distance to major attractions and many restaurants and bars near Miracle Mile. The Bad: firehouse across the street, minor sounds from hall way are heard in room. If you are a lite sleeper I wouold not recommend this hotel, putting the fan on high is not enough to drown out constant sirens or hallway noise. The good thing is that after 10:00 most halllway activity is down to a minimum.
I'd give it 4 stars if it were not for the street noise!

Room Tip: Get a high room, and avoid any room near Illinois Street or the fire station.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

I am sorry to hear of the issues you Experienced while with us. We do have the challenge of being located next to a Fire Station as well being a smaller building. The street noise can be a factor and apologize for how it effected you during your trip.

I would hope that on your next trip you would consider us so that we can show you how great of a hotel Experience we can provide.


All the Best,



Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Ron.Justus@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews