We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great River North Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great River North Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were traveling with our 2-year-old and therefore looking for a true 1-bedroom suite, in River North, with a pool. This hotel was perfect! The room was terrific, pool was fun (if just a bit cool), and the hot breakfast was above average. The staff could not have been nicer and were even able to accommodate our request for an early check in (on the day we arrived). Easy walk, trolley, etc. to Navy Pier and Millennium Park. A bit of street noise at night, but it didn't disrupt sleep. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lee5384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    741
    160
    46
    30
See reviews for
851
475
85
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
235 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location is fantastic. Not a heavily staffed hotel, so better if you're self-sufficient. Breakfast was your pretty standard Hampton Inn breakfast. Liked our room which faced the back of the property (quieter). Rooms very nice, but again, sort of the standard. Prices seem to vary wildly from day to day. We're paying a different rate every day for a suite for four days which seems a bit odd -- ranging from $170 on Wednesday night to $400 on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Back of hotel = quiet. Front, not so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you TJDenver5280 for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am glad to hear that we were able to accomodate you with a quieter interior room.

I know that the fluctuating room rates can bit of a hassle. Unfortunately, the rates are determined by a lot of different factors. The primary reason for the increase over the weekend is due to holidays and special events in the area/city that casues a large demand of rooms. We do our best to stay with in the same price median as our local competitors while still providing exceptional service to our guests.

We do hope to see you again soon. We have an interior room with your name on!

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

By far the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at. The front desk was helpful and efficient. They even helped with a fax I needed to send. The bell men were always welcoming and full of smiles. The gentleman that helped stow our luggage had great attraction information. The breakfast staff made you feel like family. It seemed like they really liked their job, and that translates to the guest experience. Everyone we encountered was great, but the star of the hotel is JANITA WALTON! Love her! She was super friendly, helpful, knowledgable, and just made our stay a real pleasure.
The location is perfect.
The hotel is very clean.
If I ever make it back to Chicago I will definitly stay with my "friends" at the Hampton Inn, and you should too! Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendall c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
KENDALL!!!!!!!! You are great! Thank you so much for the shoutout! I am so happy that you and your fashionably-beautiful mom enjoyed your time with us and that each and every one of our staff members played their role in helping create the best experience possible.

Please do not keep your friends here waiting too long. We would love to see you guys again, hopefully sooner than later. :-)

Your friend,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We got here early morning and had to wait for a room. We are HH members as well as Hilton timeshare owners. We enjoy the quality of product and service. We had read that for this location it's best to be on the higher floor because of the street noise. The fire department is just a block away and we heard them at least 3 times a night. After we got our room around 3pm we decided to relax after touring all day. As my wife was getting in the bed or out, she scratched her leg on a spring sticking out of the side of the mattress. Normally we love the Hilton beds but not today. As we were heading out that night, we informed the desk person and was present when the engineer came to check it. When we returned at 1 am we had to tell our story again to the new desk clerk. He later found it in the communication book and offered us another room. So we'll moving rooms on our first night to a lower floor but once we entered that room it smelled of smoke and the street noise was ridiculously loud. So we asked for our original room. The next day we were offered another room on the same floor. The pool area is not very relaxing but it is great for families. Parents were letting their children run from the pools to the hot tub. They were shooting water guns and some as small as 3-5 y/o with life vest and floaties were hanging out in the hot tub. Not very relaxing after a long day of walking and sightseeing. The morning breakfast was delicious and the staff working in the breakfast room was friendly and helpful. By the end of our stay, after speaking to the GM we were satisfied with the remedies to make our stay a wonderful one. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tempted_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you tempted_44 for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I would first off like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced on your first night. I assure you that this is not typical at our property. However, I am delighted that our General Manager, Andrew Scarlett, was able to help find a remedy that was feasible for you. All-in-all, I am happy that you enjoyed your experience here with us and we look forward to having you back with us again soon.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Centrally located, walking distance to all attractions; staff members very helpful and friendly with recommendations for restaurants and directions. I will stay at this location again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Bradley K for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I am glad that our location was perfect for you and that our staff was able to assist you with some local recommendations.

We look forward to you and your family's future visits.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was my first time in Chicago and the staff could not make this trip any easier. Upon my arrival, the representative completed the check in quickly and even got into a room sooner than i expected considering it was only 11:00 A.M. In particular, Natasha provided over the top service in recommending shops and places to eat for our trip. But the staff in general was very polite and was willing an able to help for anthing we needed. They represented the Hilton and Chicago very well.

The location of the hotel is prime with many things to do including the Navy Pier. Our room was very clean and never any issue with anything in the room.

My only compliant if anything would be breakfast does get crowded with many of the hot items going quickly and sometimes empty. However, the hotel does its best to refill all containers pretty quickly.

Overall, i could not be happier with my decision to stay at this hotel. As a frequent guest at Hilton properties with as much as 36 nights per year, it was a great hotel to stay at for my visit.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the fire house are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Reilly55 for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am happy to hear that we were able to check you in early and that Nastasha made a lasting impression on you during your visit. She is a great asset to our team and she truly values her work. Natasha and our entire team is dedicated to giving all of our guests the exceptional customer service that they both deserve and expect.

We value you as a frequent Hilton guest, so your review means the world to us. Thank you for the feedback regarding the flow of breakfast. I will communicate this information to our breakfast staff to ensure that the breakfast items are being replinished in a timely matter.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit from Philly.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had an exceptional stay this past weekend. We stayed on the 6th floor across from the fire station. Definitely heard the sirens but didn't bother us as we are from a metropolitan city. The king room with wet bar was a good room because we always had leftovers from when we ate out and this gave us a place to store and reheat later for a snack. What was simply outstanding was the customer service; everyone from the check-in staff, kitchen staff, housekeeping, and the gentlemen out front assisting with luggage and cars was fantastic. They all spoke to us and made us feel at home. The breakfast included was good. The first day we didn't partake because it was just a little carb heavy for me (eggs, sausage gravy with biscuits, danish, waffle, cereal, etc) but the next day I had more variety (cheese egg omelets, turkey sausage, grapefruit segments) and enjoy it. The all day tea/coffee service was a nice touch too (especially when the temps took a dive) We would definitely stay here again and recommend to any who ask. Initially I had a reservation at the Silversmith but I am glad I changed it!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to city noise ask for earplugs. They have them at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Tamreg for sharing the experience of your recent visit with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

I was delighted to read that you and your husband truly enjoyed your experience here with us and that you both were able to enjoy many of the amenities of our hotel. We thank you in advance for the recommendations and referrals to your friends and family.

We all look forward to your future visits from Detriot.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
No photo provided
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing