We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this Hampton Inn for the second time within 6 month. We liked the location and the valet parking service which made our exploring in Chicago very easy. All the staff were always friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was good. The kids really enjoyed the pool. Our room and the rest of the hotel was clean. We will be back on our next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: We choose a suit to fit our family of 4 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Maria K, THANK YOU so much for choosing to coming back and stay with us a second time. We are so delighted that we have become your go-to hotel when you and your family visit Chicago. However, I did notice that we received 4 out of 5 for value and sleep quality. If there is anything that we can improve upon to make you more comfortable on your next visit, please do not hesitate to let me know. I look forward to your feedback and also to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I chose this hotel for a family vacation based on Trip Advisor reviews. I'm kind of picky and demanding as a traveler. I cannot say enough good things about this property. To a person, the front desk staff are friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make life easy. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned each day. The breakfast is, for a free hotel breakfast, really nicely done and well presented--and there is enough seating for everyone!

We will be back. These guys know how to run a hotel!

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 4th floor--away from the fire station (412), It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandys_trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hi tandys_trainer! Just wanted to say THANK YOU for such an awesome review. We are delighted that we made your favorite's list. We can't wait to have you visit us again here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. WE LOVE HAVING YOU HERE!

Until next time,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Everyone, from the front desk, to the breakfast staff, the cleaning staff was friendly. The free pizza party for our high school when we arrived was not only great but satisfied our hunger and taste buds. Rooms very clean. Jenna Haymond did a great job of setting us up and having all rooms ready early for our arriva.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much larger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

WOW, thank you gwoon for such an awesome review! I am so delighted that Jenna and our entire staff were able to make your group's experience here in Chicago very memorable. We look forward to having you visit us again in the near future.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here last night, we there for my nephews band playing at Field museum. Everyone here was so nice and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable. We will be back next time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceashelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

WOW Ceashelll, what an amazing review!!!! Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say. We loved having you here and we really look forward to your future stay(s) with us.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights. The hotel was clean, modern, comfortable and in a good location. Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants, shopping and transportation. Free breakfast, free coffee 24-7 and free popcorn in the lobby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Greetings CS L-

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us this great review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate your comments and we are stoked that you liked the complimentary fresh popcorn that we serve in the lobby on weekdays. We truly look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent four nights during a meeting, lights and shadows of this property:
Thumbs up, location close to everything downtown, friendly and efficient personell, clean room, wii-fii access free and a very confortable bed.
Thumbs down, poor breakfast, noisy room, old atmosphere somewhere in the hotel and a lot of youngsters around, which of course is not due to the management but somehow could be annoising.
Conclusion, not too bad but I think there is something better nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fab65Roma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Greetings Fab65Roma_Italy-

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate your honest comments regarding our property. I am sorry that you had several problems during your stay. I assure you this is not usual for our property. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything I can do to have you revisit us again.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My favorite pace to stay in Chicago. It's a Hampton and I've always been impressed with their consistency around the US. I am a fan of this chain. The service was great, the staff friendly, the breakfast is typical (and free!!) but the location is fantastic. You are within a short walk of nearly 100 restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSUBehrendAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Greetings PSUBehrendAlum-

WOW!!!! What an amazing review! We are so lucky to be crowned your FAVORITE! We would like to say thank you so very much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing