We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, clean, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #49 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in, staff was courteous and friendly. Kara, the front desk clerk, was very helpful in pointing out guest services and offered any extra assistance with directions, etc.

Our room, a king suite, matched the online description very well, was pleasingly clean, and larger than expected.

I loved being just a short walk from the Red Line. This location is awesome! We could walk everywhere we wanted to go in River North, or easily access the L - wrigleyville, wicker park, second city .... Everything seems to be 20 minutes or less from the hotel.

At night, we heard the soothing low rumble of the train and the occasional (not so satisfying) sirens from the nearby fire department. (Previous reviews suggested requesting a room away from the fire department, which we did, sovit wasnt too horrible).

I was a little disapointed that the breakfast options were on rotation - I would have loved biscuits and gravy every morning - but I understand the logic behind the rotation, so I can't complain too loudly.

All in all, although it was a bit pricy for us, we were pleased with our choice and if we could afford it, I am certain we would stay here again.

1  Thank katlover86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

katlover86,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding. Each and every member of our team always strives to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. I do regret that our pricing was a little steep for you. We do offer lower price during the off-peak seasons which are typically September-January . Feel free to play around with a few dates on our website to find the best pricing for you. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago. Our biscuits and gravy are calling you! :-}


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent trip in Chicago and our experience at this hotel played a large role in this experience. We were right next to amazing restaurants, bars, lounges, shopping, and the Red "L" Line is just around the corner. We had never stayed here before but will probably be repeat customers after this recent trip! The attentiveness of the staff was extraordinary to say they least.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

cityskylyne,

WOW!!! 5-stars! We could not have asked for a better review!

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding the convenience of our locate and also the attentiveness of our staff. Each and every member of our team always strives to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. However, I did notice that Rooms & Cleanliness we only 4-stars. Is there something(s) we need to work on for your next stay with us? We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel so if you would like to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact me. My contact information is listed below. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit from the ATL.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel does everything possible to make sure that your stay in Chicago is wonderful- you will not be disappointed if you stay here! The staff will cater to any need you have with a smile, the breakfast is well taken care of, the rooms are clean, the location is in the middle of the city, walking distance to much of what you'd want to see- we couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

cathy b,

WOW!!! 5-stars! We could not have given a better review even if we wrote it ourselves!

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding the sincerity and dedication of our hardworking staff. Each and every one of our team memebers strive to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit from Cleveland.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week whilst on business. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown, within walking distance of many great bars and restaurants and easy access to drive to the convention center. Although valet is pricey and not optional but cheaper than parking yourself.
The hotel itself is one of the best Hamptons I have stayed in. Above all the service of the staff is that of a much more expensive hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
So why only 4 stars. That is purely down to the fact there is a very busy fire station right across the street. That took a little getting used to, otherwise I would have given it a 5 star. So no fault of the hotel, just the location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Darren S,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding our staff. Each and every member of our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the noisy nearby fire station. However, we do offer complimentary ear plugs to help lessen the noise. Be sure to stop by the front desk to pick up a pair or two on your next visit to our hotel. We look forward to having you back with us again soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My friends and I traveled to Chicago for my birthday weekend. We had reservations at RPM (right across the street) so we thought staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites would be convenient. However after our stay I would reserve a room here each and every time I go back to Chicago. Every employee we interacted with treated us so well, were very very welcoming, kind, and made us feel like VIPs. The room was clean, the bed comfy, and the breakfast was delicious. My friends and I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Highly recommend if you are traveling to Chicago!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Rosanna V,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

I am ecstatic to hear that were we able to help make your birthday a very happy experience for you. We believe in treating all of our guests as "VIPs." Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve from check in to check out. We look forward to celebrating many, many more birthdays with you.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very clean, comfortable, like the in room safe, free breakfast has variety of hot and cold items, just ask for king room on high floor or 2 beds as those rooms face opposite of fire dept next door. Got expedia deal and would definitely stay again

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bonnye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Boonye H,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness & comfort of our rooms. I am also happy that you were able to find such a great deal from one of the 3rd party booking sites that we work with. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked a one-night stay at this property and felt like I received a good service (especially at the front desk and valet parking) and value for the money -- until breakfast.

I have stayed at numerous Hampton Inns over the years and this was, by far, the worst breakfast offering I have had. Despite a high volume of guests dining when I dined, the kitchen staff still managed to find a way to serve cold eggs and cold fried potatoes. The heating sources for the chafing dishes were not lit or burned out. Coffee urns were nearly empty and went unattended while I dined so I had to make coffee in the room before departure. And I saw the attendant dump hot water into the oatmeal to restore some liquidity - how about making a new batch?

The location is good - except for the firehouse right across Dearborn and the accompanying sirens all night. I will likely find another property next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are quieter...west side rooms face a large fire house.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

THANK YOU Davooda for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of our breakfast items & that the coffee was not replinished in a timely fashion. I will share this very useful information with our breakfast team to ensure that these issues do not arise again. I am also disheartened to here that you will be considering a different hotel due to the disturbance from the nearby fire station. However, as you stated in your "Room Tips" section, we do have rooms that are located on the opposite side of the fire station. We also have interior rooms that are much more quiet.

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. If there are any other comments or suggextions that you would like to share, please do not hestitate to contact me at any time.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing