We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and front desk service, but breakfast disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Central, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good room and front desk service, but breakfast disappoints”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked a one-night stay at this property and felt like I received a good service (especially at the front desk and valet parking) and value for the money -- until breakfast.

I have stayed at numerous Hampton Inns over the years and this was, by far, the worst breakfast offering I have had. Despite a high volume of guests dining when I dined, the kitchen staff still managed to find a way to serve cold eggs and cold fried potatoes. The heating sources for the chafing dishes were not lit or burned out. Coffee urns were nearly empty and went unattended while I dined so I had to make coffee in the room before departure. And I saw the attendant dump hot water into the oatmeal to restore some liquidity - how about making a new batch?

The location is good - except for the firehouse right across Dearborn and the accompanying sirens all night. I will likely find another property next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are quieter...west side rooms face a large fire house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
THANK YOU Davooda for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of our breakfast items & that the coffee was not replinished in a timely fashion. I will share this very useful information with our breakfast team to ensure that these issues do not arise again. I am also disheartened to here that you will be considering a different hotel due to the disturbance from the nearby fire station. However, as you stated in your "Room Tips" section, we do have rooms that are located on the opposite side of the fire station. We also have interior rooms that are much more quiet.

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. If there are any other comments or suggextions that you would like to share, please do not hestitate to contact me at any time.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    776
    168
    48
    31
See reviews for
887
488
88
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had a wonderful one-night stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was great (good variety in addition to belgian waffles). Make sure to try the hot tub!

It's two block from a Red Line Stop so you can easily hop a train to activities in the Loop or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise but you can get ear plugs from the front desk if they're n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
THANK YOU Kris B for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review.

THANK YOU so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve, so we truly appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness & helpfulness of our staff, the cleanliness of the room, & the quality of our breakfast items. I am also delighted that you were able to relax in our whirlpool. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downton on your next trip in from Ohio.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, ie., valet parking attendant, front desk on check in and check out, dining room (breakfast). Breakfast buffet was plentiful, clean and spacious seating. Rooms were clean and spacious, I was surprised at the size. Location was perfect for dining out, bars, and late night partying. I would definetly return.

Room Tip: Ask if you could get the wet bar in your room. At no extra cost we had a fridge, mircrowave oven, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
THANK YOU garry p for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites earlier this month. We are thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review.

THANK YOU so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve so we greatly appreciate the comments regarding the helpfulness of our entire team, the comfort of the room, & the quality of the items that we serve for breakfast. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton next time you in the downtown area.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Parking - road construction in front of hotel, the staff should of warn ahead or should post on website about the road condition.Room location/type - usually I request to have higher level away from elevator but some reason I was put on the lower level next to elevator, the bed was on the wall next to elevator, yon can hear elevator going up & down. But we were too busy to request to rm change but hotel staff should ask hhonor member to pick the location.The couch & pillows were so out dated, the room look like a senior center. Hair dryer was so old & a very loud.Heating - when we came in, we set in for 72 degree, but found it wasn't working properly, we came back so late from company party around midnight, the hallway was warmer than the room, I set @ 82 degree & slept but woke up being so cold around 5am, I had to raised 90 degree to feel like 72 degree. Housekeeping - We were taking a nap after BK and swimming around 10:30am-11:00am, hkp staff knocked on the room and opened the door and woke us up. I then called front desk, we're not checking out 'til noon and why hkp staff knocking the door when guests are still IN.We stay at Hilton property in nationwide, lost my old HHonor card, so I had to make new one last couple years ago, but this property is the worst property ever stayed in. BK food - eggs were cold, no meat, dining area was so cold was very unwelcome. The staff seems very overly tired looking, no smile, did not feel any positive energy flows and not friendly at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowy1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Snowy1209-

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were disppointed with your stay. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. If you would like to discuss this further & on a more personal note, please do hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you in advance & I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

we had reservations at a nearby restaruant for lunch and were to early. They were to busy to accomodate us so we thought we'd take a walk to Michigan Ave. It was damp and cold. Saw the hotel and ducked in figuring they may have a coffee shop we could kill time in. As we stood in the lobby looking around we were approached and asked if they could be of assistance. When I explained the situation we were graciously invited to partake of their complimentry coffee service. We shared the room while we waited with some of Chicago's finest police officers overlooking the street. Their graciousness will bring me back as a paying customer when I have the chance to stay downtown.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Wow! What an awesome review! I am so delighted that you took the time to write us this lovely review even though you were not even a guest at our hotel! I remember the day you ladies walked through the door. We would love to have you walk through our doors again but as one of our most valued guest.

Again, it was truly a treat to have someone who was not even a guest at our hotel YET feel the sincerity of our hospitality. Please feel free to contact me whenever you ladies who like to pay us a visit. I will be waiting with fresh coffee in hand.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Havent't stayed here for several years and hotel has been redecorated considerably. Staff are super efficient, helpful and friendly, really easy (early) check-in with free water and chocolate for HH members. Wifi - which is free was super fast which makes a pleasant change. King Suite spotlessly clean - as it should be - with kitchen area which had breakfast bar with chairs, large microwave and full side fridge - both the lounge area and separate bedroom had good sized flat sreen TVs with very large selection of channels and huge bed which was really comfy - slept really well all the time I was there. As others have mentined there is a fire station next door so you will hear the sirens at any time during the day, but hey this is Chicago and similar to NY you tend to get used to them - they don't even wake me now as I visit Chicago fairly regualarly so have become immune to their noise !
Breakfast is usual Hampton fare, with the waffle machies, hot selection, cerals and fresh fruit. Although others have noted the problems with the wait for the elevators (there are 3) I did not have a problem. There is a small pool, sauna and fitness room, business centre, which has apple computers as well as the normal Dell ones, and a laundry room which is useful if you are on a long stay, or just want to get clothes clean before travelling home.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank firsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
WOW! We could not have asked for a better review. THANK YOU so much, firsedge, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review.

We appreciate all the comments & we are so happy that you decided to stay with us again after so long. We surely did miss you! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. We look forward to being your "go-to" hotel whenever you visit Chicago. Hope to see you again soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great value and quality for the price given the location, staff were very friendly and pleasant, room was very nice (also got a great deal using Hilton HHonors points), staff attentive to details, offered assistance numerous times. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkraft99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
THANK YOU so much, mdkraft99, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so thrilled that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review.

We appreciate the comments & we are always looking forward to having you back with us again some time soon. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so we would love for you to share your ideas on areas that we can improve upon for your next visit so that we can get that 5-star rating from you. I look forward to hearing those ideas & we cannot wait to have you visit us again.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing