We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$528
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$880
$675
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$324
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$530
$519
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$787
$607
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,701)
Filter reviews
2,701 results
Traveler rating
1,542
856
210
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,542
856
210
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationfire departmentgreat locationfree breakfastcorner suitebreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancelight sleeperhot breakfastchicago downtownhot tubbreakfast stafffront desk staffthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,807 - 1,812 of 2,701 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We took our two families to Chicago for a holiday weekend. Booked 3 rooms which we requested to be close to one another and away from the fire department noise we read about. We were pleased to find our rooms adjoined and were on the 12th floor. The rooms were typical of Hampton's standard. The only thing I could truly criticize was that the bathroom floor behind the door looked as though it had never seen a mop. The children enjoyed the pool and the dining room was very nice for breakfast which was included. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet car service was quick and efficient. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the fire department.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Kathleen C, for sharing the experience of your family's recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites for the holiday weekend. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness & helpfulness of our staff. On the other hand, I regret that the bathroom floor was not up to our cleanliness standards. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so your comments are more than greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you & your 2 families back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Kalamazoo.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last year and loved it, so when the three of us decided to visit Chicago for Christmas, there was no question of us staying here again. It's just as nice as it was last year. This time we traveled with our college age daughter, and the hotel went out of their way to get us connecting rooms. They're on the back side of the building, and you can't hear the fire engines at night as we could last year when we stayed in a corner suite. The rooms are very clean, the beds are soft, and there are all sorts of extra little touches that when added up make such a difference. Breakfast is free and while it's not the greatest selection ever, it's adequate and the coffee is very good. The staff is very friendly and so attentive. They're really the nicest staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in. We love Chicago, and now that we live closer and are within driving distance, we'll be up here more, and this will always be our first choice of hotels.

Room Tip: If you don't mind fire engines all night, any room is good. But ask for a room on the back side if you don't want to hear them.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much, romancewriterTN, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you came back to visit us again & took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff & the cleanliness & comfort of our rooms. I am delighted to hear that we were able to meet your request for adjoining rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Now that you live closer we look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton sooner. We take great pride in showering you with exceptional service year after year.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel would have to be one of the best experiences we've had. My husband, I and our 8 & 11yr old daughters stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and the girls were offered some freshly cooked popcorn which was well received. We were given a room on the 12th floor and even though we heard the occasional siren from the fire station it was hardly an issue. The room was spacious and clean with two televisions which satisfied the cartoons & sports buffs without argument!! We had a fridge & microwave also.
The included breakfast was fantastic, very plentiful with a good variety of choices. The staff were friendly and that was right through the whole hotel. The hotel has an indoor pool that the kids used, a fitness centre and a business centre with free use of computers and printers. The location of this hotel was exceptional and the choice of restaurants surrounding the hotel was fantastic. We actually received some kids dine free cards which we used. We loved Chicago and if we come back we would definitely use this hotel again. We have a booking at the Hampton inn empire state building in New York and hope it is equally amazing!!! Great work Hampton inn & suites Chicago - downtown!!

Room Tip: We had a high floor with very little noise. The one bedroom suites were well worth the small surcharge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Lisa W, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding our propetry. We are so happy that we were able to mimimize conflict by having the 2 TVs in the suites. We would hate to make the girls upset. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Hope you enjoy your trip to New York! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Chicago !! right in the center of everything, we walked everywhere .. the people were so friendly !! the free breakfast , WOW !! amazing .. will definately recommend to stay here and we will be back ..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites over Thanksgiving week. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff & the quality of our breakfast. We could not have asked for better guests than you & your family! We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago. We are sending our love & support to the people of CT.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 teen boys) reserved a room with 2 doubles for a Saturday to Monday stay in Chicago last weekend. What a great place! We will be back! Right on State Street, and we enjoyed walking around the city, even south of the river. The staff at check-in was excellent, helpful and polite. Our room was absolutely spotless and the beds and linens soft and comfortable. We had asked for a room away from the fire station, and that is what we were given. The boys enjoyed the buffet breakfast - the food was very well made and presented, and it was a nice atmosphere for dining with other guests - felt like home. My husband appreciated the 24-hour coffee availability, and the kids liked it that they could get a cup of hot cocoa when they wanted. We also used the pool and sauna and hot tub. All clean, relaxing and fun! Staff helped us with directions and ideas for family fun, and were knowledgeable about taxi rates to different locations, which we found VERY nice. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: higher up away from the fire station is great
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fingertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much, fingertravel, for sharing the experience of your recent family vacation with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the helpfulness of our staff & the cleanliness & comfort of rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Wisconsin.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews