We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xmas downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #56 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location was convenient; 2 blocks from Michigan Ave. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The Breakfast spread was terrific, with many options. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean
.

Room Tip: we stayed in the king suite with sofa bed. it was a great size for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Tina L, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff & the variety of our breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Wisconsin.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Located on N. Illinois between Dearborn and Clark just 2 blocks from Michigan Ave. it would be difficult to find a more affordable location with the comfort provided by Hampton Inn. From the doorman opening the opening the door and welcoming you each time you return to the hotel, to the comfortable beds covered with the washed after each stay dovet cover, to the hot breakfast served each morning, this Hampton Inn met all of my needs on a recent girls shopping trip. The hotel was clean, safe, and quiet. I shared a two double bed room for three nights with a friend and I would return. The train Grand/Clark Red line station was one block from the hotel, the Clark north/south bus was around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

THANK YOU so much, pegrw, for sharing the experience of your recent Girls Weekend with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We are more than happy that we were able to make your Girls Weekend memorable. We appreciate your comments regarding the location, safety, cleanliness & quietness of our hotel. We also take great pride in the fact that not only our duvets are washed between guests, but so are the inserts! We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you & the girls back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Location: Close to lots of public transport. Walking distance to magnificent mile. 2 blocks from Lou Malnati's! Saw the fire station, but never noticed it. We asked for a quiet room higher up though.
Room: We had a king bed with a sofa bed. Room was spacious. Two decent sized flat screens, kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee maker. No cutlery, but we ate out every night anyway.
Bathroom: Small and dated, but clean and useable.
Amenities: Free wifi, complimentary breakfast buffet had better range than most hotels. Waffle maker, cereals, muffins, pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt. The hot items varied each day, usually eggs and either sausages or meat paddies. We used the gym, indoor pool, spa and sauna. There are laundry services on level 3 open 24 hours as well as a business centre with a printer.
Service: Concierge and front desk were great, helpful with everything. They were very welcoming, cheerful and happy. One particular bellhop during the day was quite rude, abrupt, and poor form on obviously expecting a tip after poor service and dropping bags.

Overall, enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank MGDL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

THANK YOU so much, MGDL1989, for sharing the experience of your recent 3 night stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the comfort of our suites & the central locate of our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities are available upon request at any time. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just came back from my second visit to this hotel it’s a good hotel in a great location. Our room was straight across from the fire-station and I just got used to the sirens going off, it would only last a few seconds then they are gone I didn't hear them going off in the middle of the night I was too tired from shopping and besides noise all adds to the buzz of the city.
The breakfast in the morning was great but would love a few more hot options and the hot water for the tea could be hotter. I am from Ireland and love to have boiling hot water for my tea.
I was in a one bedroom suite and the room was clean and modern and huge, plenty of space for all our shopping. We had a small kitchen in room with a coffee maker and a microwave and loads of presses with nothing in them. I think if the hotel has a kitchen in the room it should have basics like plates and cutlery. The hotel staff were friendly and always had a laugh with us when we came and went but the staff on reception should have a had a better knowledge of the local area and the public transport.
Every evening the hotel had lovely hot popcorn available for free in the reception it was perfect to eat after being out all day. The free wifi was also a bonus for the hotel. I would recommend this hotel it is close to all the shopping areas and there was some lovely bars and restaurants very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

THANK YOU so much, DeeDublin, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding our perfect location, helpfulness of our staff & the evening popcorn. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities are available upon request at any time.

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here the second weekend in December, and while the staff was very nice, the hotel itself has some issues. The first issue (and one they cannot control) is that they are right across from the fire station. Sirens were going off at all hours of the night, making a full nights sleep impossible. The second issue involved the free breakfast. We attempted to eat in their free buffet area on only one day - Saturday- and it was a fiasco. There was NO place to sit and the overflow rooms were rented out. We ended up eating in the hall way. One of my group actually put his plate on the drinking fountain and used it as a table. When I made mention of this (right away) to the front desk staff they were aghast.
The one thing the hotel has going for it is the very friendly and helpful staff - specifically Andy Boyer, Yaneli and their two bellmen who helped us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Rebekah W, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write a review on our behallf. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I would like to say thank you for giving Andy B. & Yaneli the recognition they deserve. I am so happy that they were able to enhance your experience while you were here.

We also appreciate the comments & suggestions about the firestation & breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. The great thing about being in a dense urban downtown is the excitement of many people, things to do with a constant a hustle & bustle; however, with that comes noise. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something that will be encountered: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout all hours of the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk. I do sincerely apologize that we did not have ample room for you & your group to enjoy breakfast with us. We often advised guest to come down to breakfast earlier in the day on the weekends as the breakfast & overflow areas tend to get crowded as the day progresses. Guests are more than welcome to take the trays of food up to there rooms & have them picked up by housekeeping.

Hopefully the issues that you encountered during this recent stay with us does not deter you from returning again. We would love to be of service to you & your family/friends to show why our guests love us. If you would like to speak to me personally about these & any other issues that were not listed in your review, please feel free to contact me at the information listed below. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What is a big city in the USA without emergency vehicle sirens. After almost two weeks of driving across more rural areas we loved the buzz of Chicago and the noise. Spent three nights here before flying to NYC. Our suite was on the 11th floor facing W Illinois and with three adults in the party, the suite was absolutely perfect. Wi-Fi was good, beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning and we really loved the free popcorn from the machine in the lobby in the evenings when we trudged back after a long day of sight-seeing. Saw the signs on some floors for the free ear plugs but we didn't need them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Papa_Panda, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites before heading to NYC. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the fire station & friendliness of our staff. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast & evening popcorn. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I again thank you for writing this great review. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Booked the corner suite and was very surprised at the overall square footage and layout. It was GREAT. Beds were very comfortable. Full service kitchen was fantastic. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Marco57, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the size & comfort of our CORNER suites & the overall friendliness of our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip from Colorado.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $90 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing