We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #43 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just came back from my second visit to this hotel it’s a good hotel in a great location. Our room was straight across from the fire-station and I just got used to the sirens going off, it would only last a few seconds then they are gone I didn't hear them going off in the middle of the night I was too tired from shopping and besides noise all adds to the buzz of the city.
The breakfast in the morning was great but would love a few more hot options and the hot water for the tea could be hotter. I am from Ireland and love to have boiling hot water for my tea.
I was in a one bedroom suite and the room was clean and modern and huge, plenty of space for all our shopping. We had a small kitchen in room with a coffee maker and a microwave and loads of presses with nothing in them. I think if the hotel has a kitchen in the room it should have basics like plates and cutlery. The hotel staff were friendly and always had a laugh with us when we came and went but the staff on reception should have a had a better knowledge of the local area and the public transport.
Every evening the hotel had lovely hot popcorn available for free in the reception it was perfect to eat after being out all day. The free wifi was also a bonus for the hotel. I would recommend this hotel it is close to all the shopping areas and there was some lovely bars and restaurants very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
THANK YOU so much, DeeDublin, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding our perfect location, helpfulness of our staff & the evening popcorn. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities are available upon request at any time.

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    707
    153
    44
    29
See reviews for
784
449
83
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here the second weekend in December, and while the staff was very nice, the hotel itself has some issues. The first issue (and one they cannot control) is that they are right across from the fire station. Sirens were going off at all hours of the night, making a full nights sleep impossible. The second issue involved the free breakfast. We attempted to eat in their free buffet area on only one day - Saturday- and it was a fiasco. There was NO place to sit and the overflow rooms were rented out. We ended up eating in the hall way. One of my group actually put his plate on the drinking fountain and used it as a table. When I made mention of this (right away) to the front desk staff they were aghast.
The one thing the hotel has going for it is the very friendly and helpful staff - specifically Andy Boyer, Yaneli and their two bellmen who helped us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Rebekah W, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write a review on our behallf. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I would like to say thank you for giving Andy B. & Yaneli the recognition they deserve. I am so happy that they were able to enhance your experience while you were here.

We also appreciate the comments & suggestions about the firestation & breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. The great thing about being in a dense urban downtown is the excitement of many people, things to do with a constant a hustle & bustle; however, with that comes noise. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something that will be encountered: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout all hours of the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk. I do sincerely apologize that we did not have ample room for you & your group to enjoy breakfast with us. We often advised guest to come down to breakfast earlier in the day on the weekends as the breakfast & overflow areas tend to get crowded as the day progresses. Guests are more than welcome to take the trays of food up to there rooms & have them picked up by housekeeping.

Hopefully the issues that you encountered during this recent stay with us does not deter you from returning again. We would love to be of service to you & your family/friends to show why our guests love us. If you would like to speak to me personally about these & any other issues that were not listed in your review, please feel free to contact me at the information listed below. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What is a big city in the USA without emergency vehicle sirens. After almost two weeks of driving across more rural areas we loved the buzz of Chicago and the noise. Spent three nights here before flying to NYC. Our suite was on the 11th floor facing W Illinois and with three adults in the party, the suite was absolutely perfect. Wi-Fi was good, beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning and we really loved the free popcorn from the machine in the lobby in the evenings when we trudged back after a long day of sight-seeing. Saw the signs on some floors for the free ear plugs but we didn't need them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Papa_Panda, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites before heading to NYC. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the fire station & friendliness of our staff. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast & evening popcorn. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I again thank you for writing this great review. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Booked the corner suite and was very surprised at the overall square footage and layout. It was GREAT. Beds were very comfortable. Full service kitchen was fantastic. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Marco57, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the size & comfort of our CORNER suites & the overall friendliness of our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip from Colorado.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLIJAY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites was again our choice for our annual post-Thanksgiving trip to Chicago for shopping, viewing decorations and steak dinners because of its location, value, staff friendliness, and accommodations. The Inn is 2 blocks west of Rush Street, 3 blocks west of the Miracle Mile on Michigan Avenue, and only a few blocks south across the river is the Loop and State Street shopping. The basic suite includes a living area with sofa-bed, large desk, free WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and a large bedroom/bath separated with a privacy door from the living area. We love the pristine sheets and duvet bed linens. Although larger suites are available we find the basic suite provides us with ample room for storing purchases, catching up on computer work, and nibbling on leftovers from great dinners. Additionally, if you're around the Inn at lunchtime the wonderfully Italian Rosebud Trattoria, one of Chicago's popular Rosebud restaurant group, is on site, and for dinner Ruth's Chris steakhouse is on the corner.

We find that in our price range this hotel with its amenities is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a separate bath area accessible from the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerschelChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, HerschelChester, for sharing the experience of your recent post-Thanksgiving stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve which will hopefully keep you & your family returning to our property for years & years to come.

We appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness of our staff, the space of our suites & our great location. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us same time next year.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for downtown access, close to Michigan Ave and Rush Street, Navy Pier and Millenium park. We were able to walk most places. The hotel is not luxurious but clean and suitable for families. Suites were nice, but the kitchenette area had NO utensils or plates of any kind so beware if you get takeout food and intend to eat it in your room. The breakfast is nice with lots of options and decent food, friendly and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familysmith60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Familysmith60993, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel & the friendliness of hard working, dedicated staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities/cookware/utensils are available upon request at any time.

We look forward to being of service to you & your family/friends again here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown on your next trip from Cincinnati.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is clean, in a great location and very nice for the price. Yes, there is a fire station across the street so if you are a light sleeper you may want to plan accordingly, but I am not a hard sleeper and really didn't have a problem with it. Breakfast is much better than the typical continental at most hotels. The service was great. My only complaints with the hotel whatsoever were that the shower water was never hot, a touch above luke warm was as good as we got as well as another couple that were also staying at the hotel. I'm sure it's a safety setting but when I'm on vacation I want a warm or hot shower. The pillows were so squishy - I wish there could have been at least one that wasn't so soft. Finally, the parking is very expensive. I understand it is due to the location, but $42 a day for valet makes the hotel less of a value than it could/should be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
THANK YOU so much, avery131, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I regret that the water temperature, pillows, and parking rate were not suitable for you. I have reported the water issue to our head engineer & we have fixed the water temperature issue. For further stays, we do have foam pillows available that are harder than the feather pillows. Overnight valet parking is $42 per overnight. This includes from the time that you arrive on the day of check in until 4pm day of check out. This offers a value compared to the closest garage option as this garage is based solely on time in the garage. Therefore, you may spend significantly more self parking your car compared to valet. Here is an example of how valet is a value (using the current rates at the nearest parking garage):

Arrive Noon Tuesday – Depart 3:30pm Wednesday

Valet $42

Self Parking at Grand Plaza: $72:

Here is how self parking is $30 more expensive than using valet:

Noon – Noon (12-24 Hr rate) $38
12:01pm – 3:30pm (3-12 Hr Rate) $34
TOTAL: $72


We do appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I hope this information helps. We look forward to having you back with us soon at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing