We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,716)
Filter reviews
2,716 results
Traveler rating
1,552
860
211
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,552
860
211
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationgreat locationfire departmentcorner suitefree breakfastbreakfast staffbreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancehot breakfastlight sleeperhot tubchicago downtownfront desk staffthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,832 - 1,837 of 2,716 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Booked the corner suite and was very surprised at the overall square footage and layout. It was GREAT. Beds were very comfortable. Full service kitchen was fantastic. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Marco57, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the size & comfort of our CORNER suites & the overall friendliness of our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip from Colorado.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites was again our choice for our annual post-Thanksgiving trip to Chicago for shopping, viewing decorations and steak dinners because of its location, value, staff friendliness, and accommodations. The Inn is 2 blocks west of Rush Street, 3 blocks west of the Miracle Mile on Michigan Avenue, and only a few blocks south across the river is the Loop and State Street shopping. The basic suite includes a living area with sofa-bed, large desk, free WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and a large bedroom/bath separated with a privacy door from the living area. We love the pristine sheets and duvet bed linens. Although larger suites are available we find the basic suite provides us with ample room for storing purchases, catching up on computer work, and nibbling on leftovers from great dinners. Additionally, if you're around the Inn at lunchtime the wonderfully Italian Rosebud Trattoria, one of Chicago's popular Rosebud restaurant group, is on site, and for dinner Ruth's Chris steakhouse is on the corner.

We find that in our price range this hotel with its amenities is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a separate bath area accessible from the living room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerschelChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

THANK YOU so much, HerschelChester, for sharing the experience of your recent post-Thanksgiving stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve which will hopefully keep you & your family returning to our property for years & years to come.

We appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness of our staff, the space of our suites & our great location. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us same time next year.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for downtown access, close to Michigan Ave and Rush Street, Navy Pier and Millenium park. We were able to walk most places. The hotel is not luxurious but clean and suitable for families. Suites were nice, but the kitchenette area had NO utensils or plates of any kind so beware if you get takeout food and intend to eat it in your room. The breakfast is nice with lots of options and decent food, friendly and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familysmith60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Familysmith60993, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel & the friendliness of hard working, dedicated staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities/cookware/utensils are available upon request at any time.

We look forward to being of service to you & your family/friends again here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown on your next trip from Cincinnati.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is clean, in a great location and very nice for the price. Yes, there is a fire station across the street so if you are a light sleeper you may want to plan accordingly, but I am not a hard sleeper and really didn't have a problem with it. Breakfast is much better than the typical continental at most hotels. The service was great. My only complaints with the hotel whatsoever were that the shower water was never hot, a touch above luke warm was as good as we got as well as another couple that were also staying at the hotel. I'm sure it's a safety setting but when I'm on vacation I want a warm or hot shower. The pillows were so squishy - I wish there could have been at least one that wasn't so soft. Finally, the parking is very expensive. I understand it is due to the location, but $42 a day for valet makes the hotel less of a value than it could/should be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

THANK YOU so much, avery131, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I regret that the water temperature, pillows, and parking rate were not suitable for you. I have reported the water issue to our head engineer & we have fixed the water temperature issue. For further stays, we do have foam pillows available that are harder than the feather pillows. Overnight valet parking is $42 per overnight. This includes from the time that you arrive on the day of check in until 4pm day of check out. This offers a value compared to the closest garage option as this garage is based solely on time in the garage. Therefore, you may spend significantly more self parking your car compared to valet. Here is an example of how valet is a value (using the current rates at the nearest parking garage):

Arrive Noon Tuesday – Depart 3:30pm Wednesday

Valet $42

Self Parking at Grand Plaza: $72:

Here is how self parking is $30 more expensive than using valet:

Noon – Noon (12-24 Hr rate) $38
12:01pm – 3:30pm (3-12 Hr Rate) $34
TOTAL: $72


We do appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I hope this information helps. We look forward to having you back with us soon at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is PERFECT - it's close to the Red line (subway), the local bus line, Michigan Ave, and a lot of the main attractions including Navy Pier and Millennium Park. The inside of the hotel is modern and extremely clean. It is very kid friendly with a great staff who gave our son an activity sheet for finding attractions in the city. They also have a fabulous, free hot breakfast - by FAR the best Hampton Inn breakfast we have ever had - with eggs and bacon, french toast, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, sausage, fresh fruit, cereal, and more. They even alternated several of the hot items so that guests, like us, who were staying for several days wouldn't get tired of any one type of item. It was great! The attached restaurant was wonderful - I can't praise it highly enough. The maids were great and the room was spotless. The valet was quick and efficient. The ONLY issue we had was the outrageous parking fee. The parking is $42/day. I think that is VERY steep especially when it isn't onsite parking. The valet takes it to a lot a couple of blocks from the hotel. It made us wonder how secure it was. The good thing is that there aren't any in/out fees associated with it and they will let you leave your car even after you check out up until 4pm, I believe. Otherwise we really liked the hotel and, if but for the price of parking, we would give this a 5 star. We will stay here again but we will FLY in and not drive in so that we won't have the parking to contend with.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor AWAY from the fire station and it wouldn't hurt to be far from the elevators, too.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILUVUNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

THANK YOU so much, ILUVUNYC, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel & the friendliness of our staff. We also pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking in the area. Parking in a dense urban area like downtown Chicago can be more expensive than those from less urban areas are used to. We realize the additional expense that is incurred by guests who choose to drive. Overnight valet parking is $42 per overnight. This includes from the time that you arrive on the day of check in until 4pm day of check out. This offers a value compared to the closest garage option as this garage is based solely on time in the garage. Therefore, you may spend significantly more self parking your car compared to valet. Here is an example of how valet is a value (using the current rates at the nearest parking garage):

Arrive Noon Tuesday – Depart 3:30pm Wednesday

Valet $42

Self Parking at Grand Plaza: $72:

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next FLIGHT to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews