We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the sirens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We loved the sirens”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

What is a big city in the USA without emergency vehicle sirens. After almost two weeks of driving across more rural areas we loved the buzz of Chicago and the noise. Spent three nights here before flying to NYC. Our suite was on the 11th floor facing W Illinois and with three adults in the party, the suite was absolutely perfect. Wi-Fi was good, beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning and we really loved the free popcorn from the machine in the lobby in the evenings when we trudged back after a long day of sight-seeing. Saw the signs on some floors for the free ear plugs but we didn't need them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Papa_Panda, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites before heading to NYC. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the fire station & friendliness of our staff. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast & evening popcorn. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I again thank you for writing this great review. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    786
    176
    49
    33
See reviews for
910
495
91
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Booked the corner suite and was very surprised at the overall square footage and layout. It was GREAT. Beds were very comfortable. Full service kitchen was fantastic. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Marco57, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the size & comfort of our CORNER suites & the overall friendliness of our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip from Colorado.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLIJAY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites was again our choice for our annual post-Thanksgiving trip to Chicago for shopping, viewing decorations and steak dinners because of its location, value, staff friendliness, and accommodations. The Inn is 2 blocks west of Rush Street, 3 blocks west of the Miracle Mile on Michigan Avenue, and only a few blocks south across the river is the Loop and State Street shopping. The basic suite includes a living area with sofa-bed, large desk, free WiFi, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and a large bedroom/bath separated with a privacy door from the living area. We love the pristine sheets and duvet bed linens. Although larger suites are available we find the basic suite provides us with ample room for storing purchases, catching up on computer work, and nibbling on leftovers from great dinners. Additionally, if you're around the Inn at lunchtime the wonderfully Italian Rosebud Trattoria, one of Chicago's popular Rosebud restaurant group, is on site, and for dinner Ruth's Chris steakhouse is on the corner.

We find that in our price range this hotel with its amenities is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a separate bath area accessible from the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerschelChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, HerschelChester, for sharing the experience of your recent post-Thanksgiving stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve which will hopefully keep you & your family returning to our property for years & years to come.

We appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness of our staff, the space of our suites & our great location. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us same time next year.

All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for downtown access, close to Michigan Ave and Rush Street, Navy Pier and Millenium park. We were able to walk most places. The hotel is not luxurious but clean and suitable for families. Suites were nice, but the kitchenette area had NO utensils or plates of any kind so beware if you get takeout food and intend to eat it in your room. The breakfast is nice with lots of options and decent food, friendly and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familysmith60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Familysmith60993, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel & the friendliness of hard working, dedicated staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. As mentioned, our most basic suites do not come equipped with cookware or silverware, but we do offer upgraded corner suites with these amenities. All amenities/cookware/utensils are available upon request at any time.

We look forward to being of service to you & your family/friends again here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown on your next trip from Cincinnati.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is clean, in a great location and very nice for the price. Yes, there is a fire station across the street so if you are a light sleeper you may want to plan accordingly, but I am not a hard sleeper and really didn't have a problem with it. Breakfast is much better than the typical continental at most hotels. The service was great. My only complaints with the hotel whatsoever were that the shower water was never hot, a touch above luke warm was as good as we got as well as another couple that were also staying at the hotel. I'm sure it's a safety setting but when I'm on vacation I want a warm or hot shower. The pillows were so squishy - I wish there could have been at least one that wasn't so soft. Finally, the parking is very expensive. I understand it is due to the location, but $42 a day for valet makes the hotel less of a value than it could/should be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
THANK YOU so much, avery131, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I regret that the water temperature, pillows, and parking rate were not suitable for you. I have reported the water issue to our head engineer & we have fixed the water temperature issue. For further stays, we do have foam pillows available that are harder than the feather pillows. Overnight valet parking is $42 per overnight. This includes from the time that you arrive on the day of check in until 4pm day of check out. This offers a value compared to the closest garage option as this garage is based solely on time in the garage. Therefore, you may spend significantly more self parking your car compared to valet. Here is an example of how valet is a value (using the current rates at the nearest parking garage):

Arrive Noon Tuesday – Depart 3:30pm Wednesday

Valet $42

Self Parking at Grand Plaza: $72:

Here is how self parking is $30 more expensive than using valet:

Noon – Noon (12-24 Hr rate) $38
12:01pm – 3:30pm (3-12 Hr Rate) $34
TOTAL: $72


We do appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I hope this information helps. We look forward to having you back with us soon at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is PERFECT - it's close to the Red line (subway), the local bus line, Michigan Ave, and a lot of the main attractions including Navy Pier and Millennium Park. The inside of the hotel is modern and extremely clean. It is very kid friendly with a great staff who gave our son an activity sheet for finding attractions in the city. They also have a fabulous, free hot breakfast - by FAR the best Hampton Inn breakfast we have ever had - with eggs and bacon, french toast, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, sausage, fresh fruit, cereal, and more. They even alternated several of the hot items so that guests, like us, who were staying for several days wouldn't get tired of any one type of item. It was great! The attached restaurant was wonderful - I can't praise it highly enough. The maids were great and the room was spotless. The valet was quick and efficient. The ONLY issue we had was the outrageous parking fee. The parking is $42/day. I think that is VERY steep especially when it isn't onsite parking. The valet takes it to a lot a couple of blocks from the hotel. It made us wonder how secure it was. The good thing is that there aren't any in/out fees associated with it and they will let you leave your car even after you check out up until 4pm, I believe. Otherwise we really liked the hotel and, if but for the price of parking, we would give this a 5 star. We will stay here again but we will FLY in and not drive in so that we won't have the parking to contend with.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor AWAY from the fire station and it wouldn't hurt to be far from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILUVUNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
THANK YOU so much, ILUVUNYC, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel & the friendliness of our staff. We also pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking in the area. Parking in a dense urban area like downtown Chicago can be more expensive than those from less urban areas are used to. We realize the additional expense that is incurred by guests who choose to drive. Overnight valet parking is $42 per overnight. This includes from the time that you arrive on the day of check in until 4pm day of check out. This offers a value compared to the closest garage option as this garage is based solely on time in the garage. Therefore, you may spend significantly more self parking your car compared to valet. Here is an example of how valet is a value (using the current rates at the nearest parking garage):

Arrive Noon Tuesday – Depart 3:30pm Wednesday

Valet $42

Self Parking at Grand Plaza: $72:

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next FLIGHT to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got the suite and this ended up being a huge room, or really two rooms. The two rooms were separated by double doors. Both rooms had huge flat screen TVs. The one side was the bedroom and bathroom and separate vanity area and the other side had a leaving room area, kitchen, and breakfast bar. We did not use the kitchen but we did have another couple meet us before going out and it was nice to have a sitting area in the living room. The view we had was not very good. I think we had a south facing windows. Perhaps try a different direction when you go. Also, you want to get to breakfast early as it was always very packed (probably because we were there over memorial weekend). Overall the room was quiet and we slept well, which is the most important part for me.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank C597044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
THANK YOU so much, C597044, for sharing the experience of your recent stay during Memorial Day weekend with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the not so good view & the crowded breakfast area during the holiday weekend as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Most importantly we are happy that your stay was peaceful. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Jacksonville.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing