We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$124
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$115
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$107
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$228
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$132
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,714)
Filter reviews
2,715 results
Traveler rating
1,552
859
211
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,552
859
211
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationgreat locationfire departmentcorner suitefree breakfastbreakfast staffbreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancehot breakfastlight sleeperhot tubchicago downtownfront desk staffthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,837 - 1,842 of 2,715 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got the suite and this ended up being a huge room, or really two rooms. The two rooms were separated by double doors. Both rooms had huge flat screen TVs. The one side was the bedroom and bathroom and separate vanity area and the other side had a leaving room area, kitchen, and breakfast bar. We did not use the kitchen but we did have another couple meet us before going out and it was nice to have a sitting area in the living room. The view we had was not very good. I think we had a south facing windows. Perhaps try a different direction when you go. Also, you want to get to breakfast early as it was always very packed (probably because we were there over memorial weekend). Overall the room was quiet and we slept well, which is the most important part for me.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank C597044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

THANK YOU so much, C597044, for sharing the experience of your recent stay during Memorial Day weekend with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the not so good view & the crowded breakfast area during the holiday weekend as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Most importantly we are happy that your stay was peaceful. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Jacksonville.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

While traveling to Chicago recently ,I stayed at the Hampton Inn located in the River North Section of Chicago.I typically stay here. Great staff, everything runs smoothly...they do what they say. latest trip was over Thanksgiving,...while I was traveling by myself,John ,one of the servers in the Breakfast area,invited me to share a thanksgiving meal with he and his family.How considerate!!!!I had made other plans with my daughter,who lives in suvburbs...but John sensed I was traveling alone,and made the offer.How awesome is that. We need more of this caringin our country!!!!

Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Joe Y, for sharing the experience of your recent stay during the Thanksgiving holiday with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the friendliness of our staff & BIG KUDOS to John Brown for inviting the warm invite to share Thanksgiving dinner with him & his family. We know just how lonesome it can be to travel & be away from your loved ones during the holidays. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago being that you are now a big part of our FAMILY.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband & I were in Chicago as part of my birthday present last week. He had talked w/ Janet Arreola at the hotel and she had arranged a great upgrade to a double suite (Room 1130). It had lots of extra space, 2 flat screens, and extra windows because it was an end unit. We have stayed at this Hampton several times before, but now I am forever spoiled because of the larger suite. The excellent on-site Rosebud Italian Restaurant also had a treat for me - chocolate mousse cake - to die for! Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and checkout was quick and easy. Internet service was fast and reliable. The location is perfect for seeing all the downtown sights. My husband enjoyed the morning breakfast, but it's just too busy and noisy first thing in the morning for me so I had donuts from the nearby Jewel Osco in my NICE room :-). Beds were comfortable and the housekeeping service was very courteous. We will definitely use the hotel again when we come up for another visit to our favorite city.

Room Tip: Higher Level rooms are quieter and get a Suite if you can swing it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

THANK YOU so much, FlyCat, for sharing the BEST REVIEW EVER after spending the BEST BIRTHDAY EVER with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the friendliness of our staff, the comfort of the beds & the shout out to Janet. We look forward to having you back & celebrating MANY, MANY MORE birthdays with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I visited Downtown Chicago for the first time from Nov 8-13, 2012 for a work-training program. I selected this hotel based on previous reviews & I was not dissappointed. The hotel is perfectly located with easy access to everything from the Magnificient Mile to Millennium Park. The suite was clean & spacious. The staff was outstanding, from the moment we checked in until the second we left; everyone was courteous and genuinely friendly. The full breakfast buffet was a great bonus & the early morning staff just as warm and friendly. I requested a room away from the fire station and slept wonderfully, never heard a noise. I would recommend anyone to stay here & I am looking forward to myu next trip to Chicago & staying here.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise then request a room away from the fire station
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

THANK YOU so much, Lina S, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the great comments regarding our staff. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so I am happy that we were able to meet your request for a room away from the nearby fire station. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Jersey.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a typical Hampton product, good rooms, friendly staff, high level of housekeeping that combine to give a very good all round experience. I would certainly stay there again. It s situated in the heart of downtown Chicago where everything is in walking distance. Like Frank says "My kind of town, Chicago is" .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Dongab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

THANK YOU so much, dongab, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as Chicago is also OUR kinda town!!! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews