We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$282
$206
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$263
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$428
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,690)
Filter reviews
2,690 results
Traveler rating
1,536
852
209
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,536
852
209
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationfire departmentgreat locationfree breakfastcorner suitebreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancelight sleeperhot breakfastchicago downtownhot tubbreakfast stafffront desk staffthe magnificent mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,934 - 1,939 of 2,690 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My girlfriends and I spent 3 days in Chicago and we had a corner suite at the Hampton. There was plenty of room to spread out. The pull out couch was comfy and the bathroom was huge with double doors leading to the bedroom and kitchen. There was a fully outfitted kitchen available. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

I gave the property a 4 out of 5 because of the fire station situated next door.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just got back from a three night stay at this Hampton. Travelling with two young children, we found this to be an excellent choice for us. The location was great and it was so nice to leave each morning with full bellies, ready for a day of adventure. The room was spacious, clean, and well maintained. The Rosebud had massive appetizers that sufficed as meals when the kids were too tired at the end of the day to do a late dinner on the town (yum - meatballs, eggplant salad, and antipasto). The cute sidewalk tables were a nice place to have a cold beverage after a long day of walking. The white sangria was recommended by the waiter and it was deeeelish! All in all, this hotel provided the perfect base for our family vacation. It was reasonably priced and was staffed by friendly, attentive people. Our well-behaved children were treated to candy, popcorn, colouring pages, warm breakfast, and a lovely swimming pool. Our room was spacious enough to stretch out in and enjoy a bottle of wine while the kids had their own space. We made good use of the fridge and microwave. The private patio outside of the pool area was a nice place to relax, although the weather was so hot, we didn't stay out there for too long. We wouldn't have changed a thing about our stay! We will not hesitate to choose the Hampton again if we are lucky enough to be able to return some day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the elevator won't have that "whooshing" noise. It didn't really bother us, but hey, why not avoid it if you can?
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greensheep448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hampton Inn Suites is perfectly located, only a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile. You are at the Hancock within 8-10 minutes. There are a few drugstores close to the hotel and many restaurants, like chilli´s.
The staff was very friendly and the rooms clean and good-looking. The complementary breakfast was good. Fresh waffles and cereals, as well as fresh fruits.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeneyedmiss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We based a weekend visit to Chicago at this Hampton Inn. We were very pleased with the central location and relied on the close access to the train. The rate was very reasonable for downtown Chicago. The rooms were a good size, the beds were very comfortable and clean with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. We were pleasantly surprised at the variety of food in the complimentary breakfast buffet that included hot breakfast entrees, make-your-own waffles, cereals, juice, etc.The front desk staff were very helpful. Excellent restaurants were close by and we were able to walk to Trader Joe's, Millenium Park and the Art Institute pretty easily from here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

For a reasonably priced hotel, this place is a gem. Modern, clean and like new, the decor is fresh and bright, cosmopolitan and sophisticated. The front desk and valet/bell personnel were very welcoming and very willing to do whatever they could to make our stay pleasant. We stayed in a double suite - a 2 room plus bathroom suite with two queen beds. Bath is all marble, very clean. Nice size closet. TV in living area and bedroom. Comfortable furniture, lots of pillows. Kitchenette has nice table and chairs, microwave and refrigerator (all GE profile) with coffee maker/service, and kitchen supplies. Room nice and light. Hotel is connected to Rosebud Trattoria, an excellent Italian restaurant for a snack or a meal. fitness room, pool, free breakfast (full hot breakfast, not just continental breakfast). Last few times I've been in Chicago, I've stayed at the Embassy Suites Lakefront, but this trip price was nearly twice the Hampton. Now, Hampton is my go-to Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews