We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“butterfly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum

The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
Ranked #76 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A nature museum that combines learning with high-quality interactive displays and activities.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“butterfly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visted during the free weekend. The butterfly heaven is the highlight. There are not that many of them, but still are worth to see. Another highlight is the insect patterned wall from a Madison artist. The rest Museum is more children oriented. The musume is a great add-on if you visit the Lincoln park area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not just for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A friend and I decided to stop here and check it out when we went to the Lincoln Park Conservatory. Although there is a lot of things to do and see for children there are also nature walks through the grounds, you can do this with one of the guides or as a self guided tour. We were not able to walk outside due to rain but the thing I was most excited about was inside anyways. The butterfly enclosure is amazing and was my favorite thing, it was fun to see the winged jewels flying around from flower to flower. There are also some exquisite birds that are in the area as well, they are there as part of the mini microclimate and pick up and eat the butterflies when they fall to the ground after their short life cycle. The area is quite humid so be sure to dress lightly when you go in and make sure to set your camera to the fastest setting because the butterflies and birds sit still for no one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GitchSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peggy Notebaert Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Often go to this museum just to go to the butterfly room (a couple of stories isolated for butterflies, flying freely - careful if one lands on you). The space is better than I have seen for them in Costa Rica, but they have some different types there. Amazing creatures. The museum has changing exhibits otherwise,that are educational and fun for both young and old. It is also within walking distance to the Conservatory and Lincoln Park Zoo. I highly recommend all 3 places. On Thurs. the museum is free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 197marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Was here for a wedding reception. Amazingly beautiful place. Lots to do and see for both children and adults!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
211 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Don't Bother Unless You Have Young Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I had not been to this museum before so we decided to check it out on a rainy afternoon. We were pleasantly surprised to find that admission was free for Illinois residents since it was a Thursday. The museum was not very big and had two floors of exhibits. About half of these were designed specifically for young children. We felt out of place while exploring these exhibits as we do not have children of our own.

There were other parts of the museum that were intended for an older population, but these were quite wordy and somewhat lackluster. The butterfly garden was average as butterfly gardens go, and the best part of the museum was probably the outside nature parts (some of which can be accessed without paying admission to the museum).

I would not recommend this museum for older kids or people without children; it was ultimately a little boring. If you do go, try to aim for a free day in the afternoon (it wasn't too crowded after 2:00 PM). If you drive, you can park for free on Cannon Drive, and if there are no spots there, try Stockton Drive just a block to the west. Don't pay the huge fees to park in the Lincoln Park lots. If you have extra time and the weather is nice, you could also consider walking over to the Lincoln Park Zoo (south) or Diversey Miniature Golf (a bit further north).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kasejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing