We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Be Sure to Check Out the View from the Lady's Room”

360 Chicago Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.45*
and up
360 Chicago Observation Deck (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission
More Info
$69.00*
and up
360 Chicago Observation Deck (formerly John Hancock Observatory) Admission with...
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Chicago Grand Tour and Admission to 360 Chicago (formerly John Hancock...
Ranked #8 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride one of the fastest elevators in the world and come enjoy expansive views from the 94th floor of the John Hancock building. Enjoy a full panoramic view of the city of Chicago and test your nerves and experience a unique view by riding TILT. Enjoy one of our famous Chicago sunsets while sipping cocktails from our bar and cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“To Be Sure to Check Out the View from the Lady's Room”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just took our Turkish exchange student to visit Chicago. One of our stops was the John Hancock Center. We didn't actually go to the observatory. Actually took someone else's Trip Advisor tip and went to the restaurant on the 96th floor. The best view was definitely from the bathroom.
The drinks were a bit expensive but much cheaper than paying for our party of 6 to visit the observatory.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,784
    2,290
    535
    98
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

As many people have said already, we skipped paying for the observatory and instead went for drinks on the 96th floor. The lounge is very atmospheric and gets pretty busy but is completely worth the wait. Drinks are on the moderate to expensive side, but the view is exceptional and a perfect setting for a night out with friends or a romantic evening! The ladies toilet is also worth a visit (if you're female, I should add) for the floor to ceiling windows! Don't miss this when you're in Chicago.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkYogi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Experience Both the Day and Night Views at Sunset”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you visit before sunset, you can experience the city three different ways-day views, watch the sunset over the horizon and watch as the Chicago skyline lights up at night. The view is amazing and very different from all three perspectives.

If you are interested in history or architecture, there are interactive touch screens that let you learn about famous locations in Chicago. Go outside on the open air skywalk 1,000 feet above the Magnificent Mile and breathe in the fresh air on the highest outdoor public space in the U.S.
You can also send a virtual postcard back home.

If you don't want the 360 floor to ceiling unobstructed views, you can go the lounge for a drink, but I would highly suggest the observatory experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hrs314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good One Hour Activity on a Nice Clear Day, Good Photo op”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Went up with family on clear Fall, Sunny, Sunday. No lines. Spent about 1 hour at top. Good (not great due to glass) photo ops. Outdoor portion was over rated. Small, but excellent exhibit at top (3 panels). Video with developer interview was sparsely watched, but outstanding. Best thing to see at top.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best view in the whole city”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

You simply cannot beat this view. We went an hour before sunset and got a seat along the window. We nursed our drinks and watched as the sky slowly changed colors, giving a different perspective of the city every few minutes. An incredible experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank spyyyyyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 360 Chicago Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to 360 Chicago Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing