We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned elegance, great food!”
Review of Gaslight Club

Gaslight Club
Ranked #1,395 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Baraboo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old fashioned elegance, great food!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Enjoyed dinner here while staying at the Hilton the night before our flight. Friendly staff, great cocktails and food, beautiful waitresses dressed like the Gaslight Club of 50' and 60's. A little pricey but all in all, not bad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyBaraboo_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming old piano bar”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We sat in the piano bar when some folks from the club's past were singing at the piano bar and while they were a bit off key, it was still fun watching them have a great time. There were a lot of patrons sitting around us who'd made the place a part of their lives for so many years, all of which added to the charm. There is a lot of history in this place and I hope it remains forever. We were just there for drinks but really found it to be a unique gem in the hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TommyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tradition in Chicago”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Having been many years since I lived in Chicago, it was nice to see this past month while there that the Gaslight Club is still alive and well. While it was more of a bar night than meal, the people I was with said the food is still great there even if the prices are a bit high. I don't think the atmosphere has changed at all in 20 years...which speaks well for the staying power of old fashioned "gentlemens club" atmosphere where men are men, women are sufficiently sexy and everyone appreciates the difference.

The traditional pianobar was live and well on this Monday night we were there. The pianoplayer allowed people to "sit in" and sing with her...and Sami Scot the entertainer is one of Chicagos finest traditions of this nature. Shes the main reason we went there. But then the gorgeous and talented cocktail waitress got up and did a GREAT job on a couple tough broadway style numbers.

The whole night was a treat...though it does remind one of the cost of having a good time in Chicago. But...we will pay for traditional values...won't we? And no other airport I know of has this kind of entertainment onsite such as Ohare has.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srsuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The piano bar is worth it”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved on Saturday night having a piano bar. It is an establishment that has been there for a long time and if feels that way. In some ways that is great and others not. The drinks and food are a little expensive but in the mood I was in it was a great place and all the staff wqas very friendly.

I had French onion soup which was great and rack of lamb which was good and had a very generous portion. Presentation was not great but the food was good. I liked it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Chicago Style Resturant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fine wine, great steaks---what's not to like? An expensive dinner but always a great meal with outstanding attention to detail and service. Great for a leisurely dinner or a business meeting/meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaslight Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing