We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT MUSEUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Mexican Art

National Museum of Mexican Art
Ranked #84 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy one of the country's largest collections of Mexican art and culture, including a vibrant textile collection including indigenous outfits and weavings, folk art including masks and Día de los Muertos artifacts and ephemera documenting the Chicano Movement. Open daily 10am-5pm, closed Mondays.
Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MUSEUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This museum is a must stop for art lovers. It contains a nice variety of high quality art. The works highlight religious, historical and political aspects of Mexican culture and shed light on some of the struggles the Mexican people have faced in relating to people from the United States. My favorite parts were the religious paintings and paintings from the late 20th Century,
We were able to find parking on the street in this neighborhood and we ended our visit with lunch at Nuevo Leon a few blocks away.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WantaTellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I am not usually a fan of art museums but I really wanted to visit this museum for the Dia de los muertos exhibition. I was not disappointed at the exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeX23364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visually and historically stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I knew nothing about Mexico before I went to this Museum and I was staggered to find a rich diversity of history and culture in such a quiet, hard-to-find suburb (I am "geographically challenged" at the best of times). The Art is superb and includes just about everything from contemporary graffiti to old-fashioned "artsy and crafty" items which depict Mexico's fascinating history. There are a few separate galleries under the one roof - some offering a mixture of different artists, others focussing on key artists or movements, and I loved the mix. Whoever designed and put together the collections when I went was inspired and an excellent curator. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the gift shop took me nearly an hour to explore. I wish I had had more time to attend one of the workshops that the Museum puts on. Fabulous place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Off the beaten path find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We found this museum while exploring the Pilsen neighborhood. For a smaller museum, it had a surprising number of exhibits and gave a great overview of the Mexican-American influence in Chicago.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Off the beaten path" Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good place to visit if you're thirsty for a museum that isn't your average bear. Dazzling exhibits. FREE. and you can end your visit to Pilsen with scrumptious Nuevo Leon just down the block.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cesparza1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Mexican Art also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Mexican Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing