We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely superb”
Review of Mexique

Mexique
Reserve with OpenTable
Mexique is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Town
Cross street: Chicago and Ashland
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very inventive. The fusion of Mexican and French worked very well. We dropped in a bit early looking for a small bite and stuck to the appetizer menu. The PEI mussels in saffron beurre blanc with chorizzo was out of this world. The steak tar tar with chipotle and other chillies had a great Mexican twist that worked well. And the beets guacamole..... well, I have had a dislike for beets since childhood and this dish cured that issue with foamy beet pure, beet chips, red beets, yellow beets all very subtly flavored - out of this world. The whole experience was topped off with an advocado cream dessert with cinnamon coated tortilla chips - unexpectedly delicious. The service attentive and friendly but not overly so. And we were pleasantly surprised when the bill came...Definitely good value for money. Understand why the place got a Michelin rating. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaOnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    82
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“deli!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

simplicity so delicious!! :)
the food are magnificent mix spices,the wine,
the chef Carlos and his staff really nice attention,
it was a very pleasure

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overrated, would never go back.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to Mexique on a Saturday night in May to celebrate a birthday. My mother in law had seen reviews for Mexique in the Chicago magazine and was very enthusiastic about going here. I don't know if it was because we went the night after they started a new menu but the food was not very good at all. My pork belly was dry and lacked flavor and just about everything else on my plate was puréed. In fact, I would say that a lot of the food that we had was either blended or puréed. It must have been with a different menu that they got their star. There are too many good restaurants in Chicago that don't have a Michelin star that are so much better. I would never go back to this place. I would call it mediocre at best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved the fresh, French flair to Mexican style cuisine. I had the rack of lamb and it was fanstastic. The meat literally just fell off of the bone it was so tender. Also, our server was wonderful and very helpful in selecting the right entre choices. I can't wait to go back again - just great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
227 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Creative dishes that blend the best of Mexican and French cuisines”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is one of only a handful of Chicago restaurants with a Michelin star. When you eat here you immediately understand what sets this place apart from so many others. Every dish has a very interesting combination of ingredients that blend wonderfully to create a multi-layered, well-balanced flavor. Dishes are beautifully presented and reasonably sized. Service is excellent. The ambiance is inviting and comfortable. Prices are $$$, but quite reasonable considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexique also viewed

 

Been to Mexique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing