We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing A++++++++++++++++++”
Review of Mexique

Mexique
Reserve with OpenTable
Mexique is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Town
Cross street: Chicago and Ashland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing A++++++++++++++++++”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonerful dinner and experience at Mexique, food was amazing and the service was outstanding. Atmoshphere was nice and quite and the restaurant was clean. Don't judge the restaurant from the outside, when we drove past it in kinda looked like a dive, but when I got inside my first impressions changed drastically.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank idjr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    82
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rediscoving Mexique”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went to Mexique twice this week. Once for a business lunch and, because it was so incredibly delicious, again for dinner with my husband last night. Lunch was quiet, very affordable, shrimp cooked to moist perfection. Dinner was lively and dynamic. The place was buzzing, every table full, we ate at the bar. I had the skate wing with grapes, potatoes, etc. Don't miss it. Every bite was a surprise. Again, perfect seafood cook-timing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Frexico”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Awesome creativity. Chef owner is passionate. Easy to reach from downtown. If you like Mexican food and are looking for the higher end treatment, this is it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thornbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Flavorful and a Unique Experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was my first visit to Mexique, and I will definitely go back. The unique flavors that have been combined to create the dishes are a definite plus. While they have a small menu, the flavor profiles created in the Conchinita Pibil were excellent. It is a small place, and the brunch menu looks like a great different option to the typical Sunday morning experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

An interesting fusion of flavors and techniques- Mexican and French. It all works. The lamb entree was fabulous. Can't wait to go back & try some other dishes. The service was good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patschicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexique also viewed

 

Been to Mexique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing