We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
483
141
66
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
141
66
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wicker park blue line rooftop bar cabana club le labo great location blackout shades floor lounge office building corner suite cool hotel chicago skyline bars and restaurants l train light sleeper the loop boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 735 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Loved our stay at The Robey. I was a little nervous about staying at this hotel because we had our 2 year old in tow and I was anticipating lots of side eye, everyone (guests and hotel employees) were beyond friendly. Amazing location, great rooftop pool views, and The Robey Cafe was perfect for brunch before we had to head out of town.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LizzySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We stayed at the Robey Hotel due to a wedding event this past weekend and if we had known more (about the hotel, restaurant, bar and location) we would've stayed elsewhere.

The rooms were cramped, very limited storage area and in fact....the first room we checked into had a closet so small it could not accommodate a suit or dress to hang. This problem required repacking and moving to a different room.

The Cabana bar was always pretty full and service was slow. drinks too expensive. The roof top bar is a pain in the rear to get to and the service was so bad on Friday night at 10 pm we left without even ordering a drink.

There are much better places to stay, especially when looking at the cost.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a decent closet and chairs and couch
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRobey, Manager at The Robey, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Jerry A,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. Our guest’s comments are taken very seriously and are utilized to improve our services. If your travels bring you back to Wicker Park, we will make sure we do our best to exceed your expectations next time.

Best,
Robey Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

This is a boutique property well-placed for a trip to the Wicker Park/ Bucktown neighborhoods. Staff is enthusiastic, if unpolished. The lobby, elevators, and wait areas are undersized by modern standards and reflect the rehabbed building's former use as modest offices.
Queen room was clean and cozy with good AC and blackout curtains. Property is adjacent to the El tracks, so light sleepers take note. You will hear and feel the train.
The rooftop bar is a must, but the staff, at times, appears to be more like kids playing at fancy hotel rather than hospitality professionals. Nothing you can do but go with it.
No real competition except maybe the Hotel at MidTown which has a better, larger pool and deck (and of course a major health club and spa) but the Robey still gets my vote because of its quirkiness, vintage charm and location.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Upstairs_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

One of the best hotels I’ve stayed at. So much character and everything was perfect. Food was fabulous too when we went there for brunch. Loved the views from the exclusive rooftop bar. Great location too.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flick888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

I would highly recommend The Robey to anyone traveling to Chicago, whether it be for business or a family trip - The Robey will accommodate. We had a girls’ weekend, and it was a huge success. The Robey’s location was perfect and the rooms were great for us (bunk beds!).

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews