We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$570
$522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$607
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$576
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$1,049
$975
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$492
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,914)
Filter reviews
1,914 results
Traveler rating
656
772
326
93
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
772
326
93
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmccormick placemccormick centerclose to downtownbusiness centerbus stopstate streetsoldier fieldsitting areamini fridgefront desk staffroom was largepublic transportationcoffee makernavy pierfew blockscorner roomfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
1,691 - 1,696 of 1,914 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

From the moment we entered the Chicago South Loop Hotel the staff was extremely warm and friendly. Everyone was there to answer all of our quetions. This was our first time touring Downtown Chicago, so had a lot of quetions regard bus transportation etc..

Our room was very clean and the beds were oversized and spacious. We had a large room with a walk-in closet as well. The hotel's offers free high speed internet service and free parking to its guest which is a plus :) We loved and enjoyed every minute of our stay here and we would highly recommed it to all other future guests.

Hotel staff that were particulary helpful and friendly were: Tod Soliday (Front desk manager), Patrick Searles (Engineering and Maintence), Jackie Williams (Front desk) and Tommy Chen (Front desk). Best Hotel for it's value in Downtown Chicago with a homely feeling :)))

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler007_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel is not conveniently located to anything... downtown, restaurant, shopping. There is absolutely nothing walking distance and I wouldn't even think about venturing outside in this neighborhood after dark. It's very remote and not in a travel friendly part of town. It's not worth the free parking they offer which is why I thought I would try them. The walls in the room were filthy which was not a good first impression. There is a bar and a bakery and we recieved very slow and poor service at both. Also when checking out it took absolutely forever and there was only one person in front of us. I was not impressed at all with the hotel room itself, the service or the location. I will never book at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Victor Sims and Tommy Chen were the nice professionals who registered us at the front desk. After staying two nights, and recieving unsatisfactory service at the Comfort Inn on Ohio Street Downtown Chicago, we departed to find another place to lodge for our final night as visitors from Memphis, TN. After asking around, we were refered to you all, and we are greatful. We look to stay with you all on every visit to Chicago in the near future.

Please let me know if you all have other hotels around the country.

Kind Regards!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbrothermemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Was very unimpressed. The website said "just minutes" from downtown but it's a lie - you have to take the bus, the train or a taxi ride to get anywhere remotely like "downtown". There is nothing around the hotel - not even a little breakfast place or cafe for some coffee. It's a very deserted and non-tourist friendly area. The staff were underwhelming, every time I went to the desk I waited about 5-10mins for service. There is a nightclub downstairs (again - not advertised on the website) and the walls are thin so if you're planning to get any sleep after about 11pm, good luck!
Also, the place was pretty dirty and the 'breakfast' cafe on the ground floor was just awful - I would say middle-school cafeteria quality but that would be a compliment :(

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMFM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This hotel was perfect! It had everything we needed for our two night stay. All of the staff down to the cashier at the bakery store were the nicest, most attentive I've ever seen at a hotel. Even the cleaning ladies all said good morning and hello as we walked by. This hotel has an awesome sports bar (hamburgers fries type joint), a really fancy dining place (wine and steak), a breakfast/bakery place (eggs, sausage, pancakes), and a convenience store all located on the first floor.
As for the location (which is very negatively stereotyped), it was fine. It felt safe, and the hotel was especially safe. The parking is gated and a security guard patrols the area at night. Every morning and night we took the city bus for 2 bucks all the way downtown in about 5 mins no problem. Because of that, along with the price of the hotel and free parking, we saved about 100 dollars per night.
Overall this hotel was great. I saw lots of families with kids, couples, and people by themselves stay here. The price was great. The service was great. This hotel is for anyone who is on a budget, but still wants to have a good time near the chicago downtown area. If you want to pay 50 dollars per night for parking plus 10 - 20 for everywhere else during the day, go ahead. I'll be staying here again on our next Chicago trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DangrousDave20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews