We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Greatest Hotel Ever"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
College Park, GA
1 review
“"The Greatest Hotel Ever"”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My stay at the hotel was very wonderful. I really enjoyed myself,the staff was terrific. There is nothing bad I can say about the hotel. Look forward to visiting the hotel again.



Thank You! Freddie Cook

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    637
    268
    80
    60
See reviews for
398
330
124
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
smithlak30
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2010

So the girls and I decided at the last minute to book a room at the Chicago South Loop for the Valentine's Weekend. It was great and service was excellent. It is located blocks away from the Mccormick Place and downtown Chicago. The rooms are inviting with a sitting area for two, internet usage and flat screen tv. The best was the relaxing feel of the oversized bathtub. We loved it and will lodge there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithlak30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I was surprised at the fast, friendly service and clean rooms at a great price for the Chicago area. Close to McCormick Place but few nearby restaurants. You will have to drive a little ways for mid-day and evening meals. The small cafe did serve a tasty breakfast with a good selection of items on the menu. I will stay here again when returning to Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We recently needed a hotel near the University of Chicago Hospital. The hospital recommended the South Loop Hotel. It was onlay a 15-minute drive from the hospital. We couldn't have been more satisfied. The rate was very reasonable, and the hotel had clean, roomy, and comfortable rooms plus good food available. I used the fitness center and had a drink in the lounge. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The parking was free, which is very unusual for this area. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalPatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks during the holiday season. On a personal note, we wanted to stay somewhere not far from home as we were having some work done on our apartment, which happened to run into the holiday period. So we wanted to be somewhere whereby we could celebrate the season, but not feel like we were displaced. We shared a little bit of this information with the staff and to our surprise, they went above and beyond our expectations to make us feel right at home. At times, we felt like "celebrities" because of the star treatment. My family and I will never forget this experience and are indebted to the staff for the kindness that they extended to us in making us feel welcomed. I want to especially thank Leo at the front desk for his professionalism, as well as being personable in handling our reservations and seeing to it that we were well taken care and that all of our needs were met, and also Kyle who was always extremely courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our spacious room, which was always very well maintained during our 2 week stay. The location of the hotel was also very convenient, as you can take just one bus downtown (if you prefer not to drive) and get there in 10 minutes. Because of our excellent experience during this stay, we know that we will be back and I'd recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erir pa
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Todd and Kyle were so nice. The room was SO BIG you could have fit 3 queen size beds easy.It was so clean .flat screen tv.TRANSPORTATION IS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTEL.I have already told all my friends.The PRICE CANT BE BEAT. STAY THERE TOM AND ZAK ERIE PA.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

My wife was scheduled for surgery at U of C, so I wanted a hotel close by. For past hospitalizations, I had stayed at a downtown hotel, which was not as convenient, and parking was expensive. South Loop Hotel was a very pleasant surprise and only four miles from the hospital (and you don't need to get on a freeway to get there!). Modern, clean, well appointed. Odd that there was no coffee pot, remote control or Gideon's Bilble in the room, but I was there to sleep! I will stay here again the next time we have to come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 189 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing