We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a budget price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #100 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This a great hotel though it is about 6 blocks outside of the south loop area so about a 30 minute walk to the downtown area. At £60 a night it was excellent value - large clean well furnished rooms & very friendly staff plus a great little coffee shop in the lobby.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank KarenL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very Nice - especially when you consider the location and the price. I stayerd for three nights and was very pleased with my stay. $5.00 cab fare to McCormick Center, very short wait for cabs. Bus Fare to downtown $1.00 and the bus stops on the corner. I would have preferred a coffee maker in the room and I was told they are getting them. Stayed three nights and the staff was exceptional, it would be difficult to try to find an area the staff could have improved. Bar was nice, could use some snack options. Coffee shop was very nice and it was affordable (for Chicago). The rooms are huge. There was some trash on the floor of my room when I checked in and the remote was on the floor under the bed, but overall a very good stay at a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank departingcontestant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights while doing a Chicago citytrip. Very nice and clean hotel with large rooms. Perfect location if you don't want to pay two or three times the price for a hotel downtown. The (public) bus stops in front of the door and for 2,50 it brings you downtown in 15 minutes. And free wireless internet... where the 'big' hotels downtown charge you up to 25 dollars a day for internet access.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airportinhabitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Found this through Hotels.com last minute before the Chicago Marathon. My wife, son, and I only wanted a room to sleep in and this hotel exceeded our expectations by far. Price was a steal (under $100/night), free parking, business center with printers, wireless internet in room, big bathroom. If you're looking for nightlife and amenities this place isn't for you, but for a comfortable bed in a clean room you can't beat it. The El was across the street from our 4th floor window and it disturbed my wife, a light sleeper. It didn't bother me, but I could hear it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

overnight stay only. no premium movie channels. Breakfast was good and affordable - small sitting area. convenient to convention center (1 mile away). Overall, for the money, good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakitaisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed for a wedding in the Southside and the hotel was in a perfect location. It kind of appears out of nowhere and we walked through Chinatown to find it the first time. BUT, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel that does straight to State street and Michigan Ave for all of the touristy stuff. And the bus ran all night which is a plus, since not all of the lines do. The concierge was very helpful, but very busy that weekend and service could be slow at times. We had no complaints about the room except that it didn't come with a coffee pot. The snack shop in the hotel had excellent food though the service again was slow. There's a spa/salon, a computer room, a bar/restaurant, etc all in the hotel. Not much of a view but it was definitely a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisCo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had a great stay at this hotel. Rooms were good sized and the hotel seemed to be clean. Service was good at the front desk. We were a little worried about the location but it turned out to be ok...we were going to Soldier Field. All in all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleyd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#129 of 192 in Chicago
82 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 192 in Chicago
2,038 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing