We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for a sleep-over...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #97 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for a sleep-over...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a very well located hotel in the south loop of the main Chicago area. There are two bus stations within 50 to 75 meters of the hotel. The bus runs from early in the morning till late at night, making it very convenient to move into downtown or into the train terminals.

The hotel is very well kept, clean and has a sense of security and safety. Clean, with large, comfortable rooms. Excellent for business travel or for a low-budget vacation.

I had a wonderful experience with this hotel.

Room Tip: try to get an upgrade to a larger room; they are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I am very happy that you had such a wonderful experience at the hotel. The CTA system being near the hotel helps to get you wherever you need to go. I am glad to see you found everything convient and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    557
    243
    80
    57
See reviews for
348
300
117
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Tick the box for free parking in Chicago and the list gets very short very quickly. We needed to visit Columbia College and we had a tight budget -- and would rather spend money on meals instead of parking. So this place is great ... clean, big comfortable rooms, nice staff. The reason they can offer free parking is because the area around this hotel is largely abandoned. There is not much there ... there is a bus stop and plenty of cabs on state street so it's easy to get downtown from 26th and State. Coming back home one night we walked from the red line train stop in Chinatown, and it was kinda lonely out there ... but that's the price of free parking I guess.

Room Tip: Our west side room was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am happy that you found the free parking convient and the Chicago CTA an easy way to get around. We hope to welcome you back to the city soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I, as well as another couple stayed at this hotel for one night this past weekend. Luckily we were able to check in early and then use their free parking lot. The room was huge and tidy. The linens were wrinkled and there was a plastic cup that had been used and left in the bathroom, but everything else was good. The bathroom was large and I loved the shower. It had beautiful tile and a huge tub. Our room did face the train that goes by. I read the reviews about how disrupting and noisy it is; however, after exploring the city all day, we were exhausted and sleep came easy for us. The staff was lovely at both check in and check out. Overall, a nice hotel at a great price. The free parking is a huge plus. We took a cab from the hotel to the Water Tower mall and after tipping the driver, it was about $16. Coming back to the hotel cost about the same. Definitely cheaper than parking in the city (which will run about $50 for the day) and worth not having to deal with the hassle of driving in Chicago traffic and trying to park in a garage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am really happy to see you enjoyed your room and the hotel. The free parking is a huge plus in the city of Chicago. We hope to see you again on your next drive into the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a hire car and in Chicago for a week. So booked this for the free parking.
Our room was a decent size and we had 2 queen size beds and a seating area. Good size bath and shower above. Good pressure, lots of hot water.
We had read reviews about noise etc so asked for a quiet room on check in. We were on the west side facing car park. Yes there are trains but didn't disturb us at all.
Transport - The "El" had been out of action for 5 months at Cermak. So we were confined to buses. Lots of huffing and puffing from me but in reality the 29 bus is frequent and runs from outside and stops outside, Chicago is on a grid system, and the 1 and 4 buses run down Michicgan which is a 3 minute walk. So depending on where you are in the City, the 1 or 4 might be more convenient.
Didn't do any food or drink in the hotel. But did go to Yolk for breakfast. Went twice...yummy...you'll only need breakfast and can skip lunch.... and dinner

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathon_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. The CTA system can seem a little confusing at first, but with a little explanation I am happy to hear it worked for you. Yolk for breakfast is indeed recommended and will leave you full for sometime! Glad to hear you had a great trip and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's a nice hotel. I just went there last weekend and well-designed, good bathroom and bed. My girlfriend and I went there and enjoyed there. This hotel is not in a bad area, it is just surrounded by buildings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesselu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience at the hotel. I agree that the hotel is not in a bad area, rather it is an area that is not full of restaurants and shops, so you do not get the desired foot traffic. But I am glad you enjoyed youreself and look forward to greeting you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are huge! The hotel is spacious with super-friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Went out of their way to store our bags while we took a side trip. We had read that the train noise from the Loop might be a problem - didn't bother us.
At first we were concerned that it was a bit out of 'town' - as we weren't driving, but then discovered that the No.29 bus, which runs frequently, arrives and departs right outside the door and connects in 10 minutes to Chicago's (rightly) famous Loop rail system. The Loop is cheap and efficient (with a 3-day pass) and connects to absolutely everything.
Would happily recommend the South Loop to anyone.

Room Tip: Away from Loop train side if possible, but no big deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you. I agree that the #29 bus will take you right downtown, is convenient and comes by the hotel regularly. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#127 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#138 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#121 of 185 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing