We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Visitor from Ann Arbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #99 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Visitor from Ann Arbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good hotel for a family vacation. Clean, wide rooms, free parking, close to China town and close to the bus stop which can take you directly to downtown on state street. It is not a five star hotel but it is very comfortable, no much noises at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Glad to hear you found everything comfortable and found the location convient. I hope to see you on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    514
    225
    78
    52
See reviews for
321
267
114
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked this hotel on Hotwire at a decent price. We were looking for a hotel close to the city center with free parking- we like to drive up park and roam the city by foot. This hotel made that possible for us. Nice gated parking area, first come first serve, but as we parked and didn't need reentry this was not an issue for us. We were in town for a Bears game and this saved the parking cost at the game plus the crowds on the trains, a bit of a walk for most but fine for us. The hotel itself was a little further from the city center than I would have liked but the train is right there also as an option. Staff was great easy check-in even early. Room and beds were huge, clean, and comfortable. Add in the free wifi, fridge and windows that opened a bit we were really pleased and had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinsgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am really happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experince with us. I am also happy to hear that you found parking easy and convenient. Hope to see you on your next visit to the city. Bear Down!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great time, and very relaxing stay.

A big surprise on Monday after we came back to the room to find a card, chocolates, and a balloon on the table for Amy's birthday etc. Then the bottle of Pepsi Next on the nightstand Thursday evening! Both were very above and beyond acts.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Happy Birthday! I am glad you had a great Birthday expereince and we hope to see you back to the hotel shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I love this hotel. I was almost a little nervous about the cleanliness of this hotel. I was instantly relieved to see that this place was very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff here are polite and very hospitable I will be staying here every time I go to Chicago Definitely!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomilixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much. Can't wait to see you upon your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and must say we were pretty happy with our experience.
On the plus side: the room was massive which was great since we were travelling for three weeks with a toddler. The beds were new and so comfortable so we slept really well. Free parking so close to downtown was a bonus and on arrival we didnt have a problem getting a park however did seem like competition for a park stepped up later in the weekend. It was pretty easy to catch the #29 bus to downtown, otherwise its about a half hour walk to the red line train.
On the negative side: the staff werent exactly friendly but did an okay job. The train goes pretty close to the hotel (no stations though) so we did get some noise but not enough to keep us awake. There was only one option for breakfast and it was pretty poor....relatively expensive, not great quality and served by a very disinterested waitress who hadnt bothered to clear dirty dishes off the vacated tables around us. Also couldnt charge breakfast to the room because even though its located in the hotel building it is not associated with the hotel. There didnt seem to be any other food options nearby. The hotel is also some distance from all the action. Even though its easy to catch the bus, the area around the hotel is a bit of an urban wasteland and I wouldnt consider it safe to walk around at night and there are few amenities.

We would stay here again because of the price, the parking, the size of the room and the comfort of the beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leebee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am happy to hear you had an "okay" experience. Next visit we will ensure an excellent one. Please come see anyone at the desk for some great eating ideas. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I can truly say this has to be the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The entire room was filthy from the huge stains on the carpet to the dirty drapes. I will admit I am very, very picky about where I stay when out of town. I always check reviews, bed bug registry, etc. however I can truly say the reviews were very misleading. I am really not sure how this hotel is ranked more than a 1 for anything. In addition to the filthy room, we were located right by the train and we heard trains all night. Needless to say I've had very little rest. And to top everything off the noise and the filth, someone who stated that they were an employee called the room at 3:30 am stating that we need to come down and make a payment because it was showing that we should have been checked out. Come on now, that didn't sound right at all. Of course we didn't go and I simply told him that whatever it was it would have to wait until the morning. This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, I don't care how inexpensive it is. Remember you get what you pay for. My advice would be if other downtown hotels are too expensive find a nice hotel outside the city. This may require a short drive to the city but at least you can have better accommodations for the price you would be paying for this isolated dump. Please be aware there is nothing in close proximity of the hotels besides industrial buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Docnolan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. Please allow me the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. The Chicago South Loop Hotel is committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match. We apologize if we fell short in any of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Chicago is the place to have a great time and meet great people. People from the C are very kind people. And will always return to shop till I drop. Don't forget the nice restaurant's and the cheese cake factory. that you will be guaranteed to walk off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasserlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time in the city. On behalf of our entire staff here at The Chicago South Loop Hotel, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#123 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#126 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#127 of 185 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing