We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very convenient to McCormick Place, but you get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #97 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very convenient to McCormick Place, but you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

You get what you pay for at this hotel, however, if your budget allows it and you are attending a convention at McCormick Place, book early and stay at the Hyatt across the street from the convention center.
Pros:
-Very close to McCormick Place, five minutes by Taxi, if you have a problem getting a taxi and don't want to wait too long, you can walk it (however it's not a short walk). I don't recommend it at night.
-Wifi with good signal, throughout the hotel and in room.
-Refrigerator in room
-Comfortable Bed
-Free parking if you have a car with you.
-Good service at front desk.
Cons:
-Discusting stains on carpet, chairs, needs some good cleaning.
-Everything appears to be worn out.
-Towels are very old, they have lost their white color. Had to request more towels to get better ones, still old, but better than previous ones.
-Lights on bed stands on both sides were not working
-My associate who was staying in another room found hair in the bed, so most likely it was not cleaned since the last occupant.
-Very bland rooms with no decor on walls, looks like a cheap motel room. The bed did not even have a bedskirt, the mattress was visible. The drapes were so cheap, you had to be careful not to rip it as you tried closing it.
-It's close to the train, so if you are a light sleeper, you may have an issue with the train passing by every so often.
This hotel was selected by the company I work for, if it was up to me, I would not select this hotel. If this hotel was not near the convention center I don't think it would get that many guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your survey. The Chicago South Loop Hotel is committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match. We apologize if we fell short in any of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    557
    243
    80
    57
See reviews for
348
300
117
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was ok. I went there on a business trip whilst at a congress at McCormick place. Hotel was reasonably located for congress center (10 minutes on shuttle bus so fine if the congress center is running a shuttle). This hotel is not near downtown Chicago though, and there are very few shops and restaurants nearby. A cab to downtown cost around $20.

The room was average- quite large but dated, with poor lighting. My shower tray didn't have sides so water ran all over the bathroom when I used the shower. I think this problem was unique to my room though, as my colleagues said theirs were fine.

Of major concern is that the housekeeping staff left my door open one day, meaning anyone could push it and go in my room! Nothing was stolen, and the front desk staff assured me the issue would be addressed with the housekeeping manager.

On the positive side, this hotel had good free wifi throughout and the front desk staff were friendly. Rooms were large and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to fill out a survey. I would like to apologize for the negative experiences you encountered with the hotel. I am glad it was handled appropriately by the front desk, but apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked using hotwire, so we didn't know the name of the hotel until after we paid. We were from out of town and didn't know much about the area but were really happy that we ended up here. What appealed most to us was the free parking in the HUGE lot, and free wifi. The entire hotel looks really modern and clean. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate, and we were in a room where the only noise we heard was an occasional train coming by. The hotel is very near bus stops and train stops which help a lot. Other than that, there's not really much to see or do in the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown through some shady spots, and lots of abandoned buildings, about a 10 minute bus ride (#29 or #4) for $2.25 to the hot part of State Street and Michigan Ave. Being off the beaten path has its pros and cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnes0ta_Rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your survey. I agree that this hotel has a lot to offer and is not hard to get anywhere using the CTA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

You never know what's your going to get outside the big chains. We were looking for a hotel close to McCormick Place. We were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff was excellent. The beds may have been the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. This is my hotel of choice when I return to Chicago for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you. Great to hear that we are doing things right and will see you on your way back to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Although I have to agree with other reviewers on the noise level, this would be only one of very few complaints. Loved the large rooms with plenty of closet and counter space in bathrooms - especially in such a great location. By great location I mean walking distance to McCormick Place but during the daytime only - gets really seedy really fast. Clean if slightly aging towels, great bed, great staff, and overall a great choice for our group traveling on business. Tips: use the stairs or "service elevator" or you could be waiting a LONG time. This opens into public spaces so not sure why it's labeled "service" at all. Also get a room facing away from the elevated train if you are a light sleeper.
Overall, I didn't have super high expectations for this property but they easily exceeded them and I would be happy to return.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nextravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to welcome you back for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fabulous because it was very close to the convention center and chinatown.

Other than that it was pretty much ghetto from there. Constant police and ambulance sirens and the L train howl at night. To make it worse this hotel thought it would be a good idea to put a seedy night club near the lobby that stays open till 2:00 am. Which is fine expect our room was right above it, so we could hear every last song butchered by the killer karaoke...no joke....loud karaoke blasting through the walls at 1:00 am while on a business trip. Not to worry the staff assured me there was no manager on duty but we could have some ear plugs if we liked!! Awesome!! To put a big fat cherry on top the beds where apparently made of straw and destroyed any chance of sleeping we had at all!!! Could you take the money from the cover charge from your "bar" and buy some decent beds?! Hello circa 1980!

Next time i will pay a little more and avoid this wanna be hotel because its nothing more than a motel with lip stick.

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the club if you value sleep. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lixiaojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping due to the noise and the bedding. I can assure you that I will discuss this survey with the management staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our rooms were large and comfortable, with a huge bathtub and mini-fridge in the suite.
A quiet location yet very close to everything we needed with an extra benefit of free parking which made our lives much easier. Front desk staff was excellent with the manager going above and beyond when we had to deal temporarily with no hot water due to a boiler problem. We were offered a room discount and another room to shower until hot water was returned to our side of the hotel... which happened expeditiously.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for the quieter side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Public Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#125 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#137 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#120 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing