We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking Cinched the Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #101 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We planned a weekend trip to visit the Navy Pier, Field Museum and Museum of Science and Industry. This nice, out of the way hotel was clean, had brand new mattresses : ), lots of morning coffee from the pleasant hotel cleaning staff and fit our family needs perfectly. Our room key admitted us to the gated parking that was FREE, the staff was cheerful, courteous and helpful, and our stay was great. The desk receptionist, noticing we were three adults with a 5 year old in tow, quickly upgraded our room to add a sitting area and provided coloring pages and crayons for the little one's entertainment. She also remembered the 5 yr old and greeted her personally every time we left and returned to the hotel. And best of all, there was a Chicago road crew working in the street outside which provided endless entertainment for the little one watching the big "Scoop" (backhoe). Even with the windows open we could barely hear the "L" train. The lady in the gift shop was kind. This was just a super stay. We will definitely stay here on our next Chicago visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

WOW! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great experience. This is exactly what we are trying to make happen for all our guest. Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I attended a convention at McCormick Center, and didn't want to pay the price of the Hyatt next to McCormick. The Chicago South Loop Hotel proved to be ideal for my needs. First, it has a 24-hour business center and wireless internet in the guest rooms. The rooms themselves are quite clean and roomy (I was in a king bed room), with refrigerator and a coffee machine. And since the hotel is only a 10-minute walk from the McCormick Center and there is Free Parking (!) at this hotel, I could save a lot on parking fees. If you wish to go uptown, the bus stop is right across the street from the hotel.
I thought the area on the southside could be risky, but this part has been gentrified - there are nice residential town houses and a hospital on the way over to McCormick Center, so it has a reasonably safe feel.
I definitely will stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiBrown74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

I appreciate your kind words. Everything you said is true; and free parking is a huge plus in Chicago. I am pleased to hear you had a great experience and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times over the last year. Great south end location- close to freeway and McCormick Place. Not all of the rooms seem to be updated, but at least the beds are and they're very nice and comfortable. Even with a slightly outdated room, it is very clean and the staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Excellent value - at least $75 cheaper than comparable hotels in central city and parking is included. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLC6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter is in school a few blocks away from here and this has been our go to hotel when visiting over the last few years. The great price, nice rooms, nice staff, and free parking can't be beat. If your real adventurous the bus line is on the corner and with a multi day pass you can leave your car parked for the day.

The only consistent issue here is the cafe. The staff is unfriendly with bad expensive coffee and food. It's been this way for awhile. I just walked out this time. I'm hoping one day they will fix this problem since there is no place nearby to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Db1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Glad to hear that you are enjoying the hotel. I do apologize for the negative encounters you had cafe. I can assure you that your comments were not unnoticed and will be addressed. Hope to see you on your return to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and a short walk to the convention center. The price is right and the staff goes out of their way to help you.

Couple of travel tips- from Midway, take the Orange Line to Roosevelt. Great store right there for groceries. From there taxi or take the number 26 bus (South) it stops right

I stayed here for business and I will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and great advise. You are correct that the Orange Line train will lead you close to the hotel and right in front of a large grocery store. Small correcion; it is the #29 bus that will take you to the hotel from Roosevelt stop. Thank you for the helpful tips!

Another small tip is Google Maps has the CTA (Chicago Transit Authority) synced with their map application. So now you can type your destinations in, press the bus button and it will find the easiest way by bus or train to any location in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel at a fair price in a good South side location. It's been renovated to a nice new standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's not in walking distance to very many businesses, bar or restaurants, but there is plenty of free parking, so it's best if you have a car, or are willing to take the buses, which stop out front.

Bar and restaurant areas are very good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyMajorDudewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We can't wait to see you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Chicago South Loop Hotel for a few nights in late February. The hotel is actually situated in an area that is still in the process of gentrification, so there are not a lot of businesses within walking distance; it is not an area that you want to be walking around, especially if you are from out-of-town and don't know the area. As a Chicago native familiar with this neighborhood, I would recommend this hotel to travelers with their own car, and the hotel has 2 parking lots (one gated with hotel key entry) to accommodate such travelers.

The hotel itself is still fairly new and nicely maintained. The hotel staff are friendly, albeit their front desk staff are not the most organized and there was a wait to check-in. The rooms are very clean and pretty standard fare. The beds are comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. There is a bar and restaurant on-site. We were planning on eating breakfast there, but the restaurant was closed and dark, when we tried going there. In the rooms, there is a binder of menus from local restaurants that will deliver to this hotel and there are a few restaurants within a 10 minute drive (like Carmen's Pizza on 24th & Archer).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiKitty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your response. The complimentary parking at the hotel is a great amentity and a rarity around the Chicago area. I am sorry to hear that you never got a chance to experience the restaurant, you will have to give them a try on your return. They do make an amazing mushroom risotto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#126 of 192 in Chicago
81 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 192 in Chicago
2,034 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing