We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Jewel in the Rough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #97 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Linden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times over the last year. Great south end location- close to freeway and McCormick Place. Not all of the rooms seem to be updated, but at least the beds are and they're very nice and comfortable. Even with a slightly outdated room, it is very clean and the staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Excellent value - at least $75 cheaper than comparable hotels in central city and parking is included. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLC6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    557
    243
    80
    57
See reviews for
348
300
117
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter is in school a few blocks away from here and this has been our go to hotel when visiting over the last few years. The great price, nice rooms, nice staff, and free parking can't be beat. If your real adventurous the bus line is on the corner and with a multi day pass you can leave your car parked for the day.

The only consistent issue here is the cafe. The staff is unfriendly with bad expensive coffee and food. It's been this way for awhile. I just walked out this time. I'm hoping one day they will fix this problem since there is no place nearby to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Db1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Glad to hear that you are enjoying the hotel. I do apologize for the negative encounters you had cafe. I can assure you that your comments were not unnoticed and will be addressed. Hope to see you on your return to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and a short walk to the convention center. The price is right and the staff goes out of their way to help you.

Couple of travel tips- from Midway, take the Orange Line to Roosevelt. Great store right there for groceries. From there taxi or take the number 26 bus (South) it stops right

I stayed here for business and I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and great advise. You are correct that the Orange Line train will lead you close to the hotel and right in front of a large grocery store. Small correcion; it is the #29 bus that will take you to the hotel from Roosevelt stop. Thank you for the helpful tips!

Another small tip is Google Maps has the CTA (Chicago Transit Authority) synced with their map application. So now you can type your destinations in, press the bus button and it will find the easiest way by bus or train to any location in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel at a fair price in a good South side location. It's been renovated to a nice new standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's not in walking distance to very many businesses, bar or restaurants, but there is plenty of free parking, so it's best if you have a car, or are willing to take the buses, which stop out front.

Bar and restaurant areas are very good as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyMajorDudewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We can't wait to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Chicago South Loop Hotel for a few nights in late February. The hotel is actually situated in an area that is still in the process of gentrification, so there are not a lot of businesses within walking distance; it is not an area that you want to be walking around, especially if you are from out-of-town and don't know the area. As a Chicago native familiar with this neighborhood, I would recommend this hotel to travelers with their own car, and the hotel has 2 parking lots (one gated with hotel key entry) to accommodate such travelers.

The hotel itself is still fairly new and nicely maintained. The hotel staff are friendly, albeit their front desk staff are not the most organized and there was a wait to check-in. The rooms are very clean and pretty standard fare. The beds are comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. There is a bar and restaurant on-site. We were planning on eating breakfast there, but the restaurant was closed and dark, when we tried going there. In the rooms, there is a binder of menus from local restaurants that will deliver to this hotel and there are a few restaurants within a 10 minute drive (like Carmen's Pizza on 24th & Archer).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiKitty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your response. The complimentary parking at the hotel is a great amentity and a rarity around the Chicago area. I am sorry to hear that you never got a chance to experience the restaurant, you will have to give them a try on your return. They do make an amazing mushroom risotto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This boutique hotel appears to be smack in the middle of nowhere, but it is within walking distance of McCormick Place to the east, and Chinatown to the west. Free parking, reasonable rates and proximity to the convention center are the big draw for me. The staff are incredibly accommodating, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match and we are please you enjoyed your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent a four day pleasure trip in Chicago, and found the Chicago South Loop Hotel ideally located - close to Midway Airport and the Hyde Park area, and an easy drive north into downtown. The hotel has been remodeled fairly recently, and the rooms were large and clean. Free wireless internet was included. Housekeeping staff was especially helpful and friendly. Overall, a good value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you. We have heard some great feedback about the upgrades that have been made to both the rooms and the lobby; especially the new beds! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and can’t wait to welcome to the city of Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#127 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#138 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#122 of 185 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing