We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium Quality at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Premium Quality at an affordable price”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you don't need to stay in the heart of downtown, I highly recommend the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Only a 10 minute ride from Union Station. As soon as you arrive, you are greeted by a welcoming staff. The interior lobby is very clean and appealing. My room was very classy looking and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    637
    268
    80
    60
See reviews for
398
330
124
528
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was a nice hotel at a decent price a bit out of the main tourist areas. We used the #29 bus route to get to where we needed to go, and it was perfect. The rooms were nice and had great ammenites for a multi-day stay. The only complaint I would have is that the hotel is really all by itself, and there are no laundry facilities. Adding this would go a long was to making this a perfect budget option for Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I really regret my decision to stay at this hotel. Although i live in the city of chicago my boyfriend and i enjoy spending our weekends away just for a romantic evening on fridays or saturday nights. The staff was horrible. The general manager seemed clueless about greeting guests in a reasonable manor and the housekeeping staff was completely and utterly ghetto. i hate to use the term but its true. the only person i seem to enjoy was the black girl at the front desk i believe her name is monica or something. she was very nice and smiled at us and made me feel greeted. the bar was okay but ive had better drinks. the rooms= omg horrible motel 6 like seriously 159 for a room that had old sheets/blankets, old paintings, old carpet the only thing that was nice was the televison. i know this hotel wont last 3 more years it just couldnt. its a decent location but they need new staff completely like new housekeeping, front desk managers/general manager, better/ more friendly bartenders as well as a TOTAL upgrade on the rooms. i was so disappointed in my money and time i invested in this place i will never recommend anyone to go here. seriously save ur money or spend it somewhere at least in the downtown loop area you might pay more but i can bet your experience will be worth any money you spend. sorry to say but this place sucks.

Room Tip: Not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would rate this hotel at the bottom of the list of all the hotels that I have stayed for the following reasons, The linen was not particularly white or new it was very worn and obviously used frequently. The decor was outdated. The room that I was assigned was on the side of the building that faced the train, which meant we heard the train passing quite frequently. More over, we were on the third floor which meant that we could hear the karaoke which is the entertainment for the bar on the first floor and that continued until 2:30 AM. This hotel is not located in an area in which outside restaurants shopping or entertainment is near. You must either use public transportation the bus, or transit system, or take a taxi. I travel frequently, and this hotel does not make the cut. However, this hotel does have a somewhat quaint café that opens early enough to assist you in purchasing a decent cup of coffee and a pretty good breakfast sandwich. I've given this hotel to stars, however for the service persons I would lean towards adding one star. I cut my stay at this hotel one day short because of the location. There was a shooting at the public housing which is very near to this hotel. Search out other hotels not this one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Eastside of this hotel are extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsofty48180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our family of 4 sayed here for lots less than the Loop. Loved the free parking. The rooms were large and nice, even had a fridge in addition to coffee maker. We walked to the L station in Chinatown. Staff was friendly and helpful in finding restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the side with the green line L.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

One of the websites decribed this as a boutique hotel, but I think independent budget hotel might be a better description. It wasn't cheap though, probably because I stayed there on a major conference weekend, but relative to the other hotels downtown, the rate at this hotel is more affordable.

Location-wise, as many other reviewers have commented, the area is known to be iffy, although there are ongoing condo developments in the area so maybe it won't be that bad. The hotel staff, taxi drivers advised not to walk alone outside after dark. Reasing the other reviews I imagined a chaotic and noisy neighborhood, but in fact, it was a somewhat quiet and remote street even on a weekend. If you do head downtown, bus route 29 (from south of the river) stops right in front of the hotel so it's not that bad. But make sure you check the bus schedule on the CTA website if you're going out at night. It's a 10-15 min walk to McCormick Place, but not a pedestrian-friendly walk.

I was really surprised to learn from a local that the property is only about 5 years old, because the interior looked very 70s/80s and the room furnishings were not in a good condition. Although I traveled alone they gave me a room with 2 double beds. One of the beds was sagging at the foot edge and when I sat down it felt like I was sliding off. The carpet was also badly stained.

I did not mind that the linens were not of good quality, but on both days I was there, half the towels were stained. The blanket was also very thin, old and grey, as though it had not been washed in ages. Icky! I agree with one of the prior reviewers that the shower had an awkward spray, wide enough that you would either feel too hot in the middle and too cold outside.

After reading the other positive reviews I'm not sure if the poor quality I experienced was because I booked the room on Hotwire. I would only recommend this as a budget option and only if you will need to be at McCormick Place a lot and can't book hotels downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent four nights at the South Loop in February. We did not have a car, but found public transit quite convenient. The hotel is modern, but with a classical exterior look. Inside is a bit bland. The rooms were plain, but comfortable. We found the staff very unhelpful. It was noisy in the hall one night and we called the Front Desk several times, but no one answered. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and the room was clean. On a positive note, we felt safe walking outside at night and it is a short stroll to Chinatown for good eating!

Room Tip: West side rooms away from road and the "L". Beware of noisy convention-goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 189 in Chicago
54 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#129 of 189 in Chicago
1,957 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 189 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Property: Chicago South Loop Hotel
Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616-5093
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing